We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #27 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Love that they remember you from one visit to the next and the room size and amenities are great. The location makes it easy to get to everything. The extras for our child make it just a little more special. Best way to surprise and delight.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased to learn that our location makes your visits more convenient and that your child feels special during your stays. We certainly look forward to welcoming your family's next stay in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

I will write me review in terms of pros and cons:
Pros-great concierge who can help with itinerary before arrival
-beautiful hotel and great walking distance to almost anywhere you want to go
-lovely room
Cons-we called ahead with a request for an early check in but ended up with a several hour late room availability with no explanation for delay. (They did send chocolates to apologize.)
-bed turn down service arrived at 9:40 the first night and 10:20 the next night, well after we had gone to bed (we were travelling with kids so no crazy nightlife for us). It woke us up both nights.
-we were given an extra hour grace period to check out, yet when we returned to our rooms, the housekeeper had already cleaned them and told us they weren't available anymore. (Our bags were already being held for us at the desk but no one told the poor housekeeper.)
-soap was never replenished in either room
So, overall it was just a decent experience. I just wish service had been better in the areas mentioned.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive experience with our Concierge team at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and I am happy to read you enjoyed the hotel itself. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. While we cannot always guarantee early check in, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your room's availability being delayed, as well as the service lapses you encountered with housekeeping. We have shared your feedback and have taken this information onboard as an opportunity for improvement, however I also welcome you to please contact our Director of Rooms, Nienke Oosting, directly so that we may fully investigate your experience. You may reach her at noosting@trumphotels.com.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome your return as I trust you will find an improvement in regards to the areas you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back and restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

First class from the moment you step in. They treated our kids like royalty and when they came home the first night to personalized giant cookies and a glass of cold milk they were over the moon! Mr. Trump and his family believe in everything first class and while they are likely very demanding on their staff, it results in unsurpassed levels of service and quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your children's experience on Trip Advisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming your next stay in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The Trump goes above and beyond to help you and anyone with you feel welcomed. We stayed with our two kids and felt very welcomed. We also upgraded to a suite and it was perfect. We will be staying here again with the kids. When staying ask about complimentary parking, it's included in most of the packages.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank KellyImagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you recommend our hotel as family-friendly. We are always happy to welcome children and we certainly appreciate your recognition in this regard.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours in the very near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Trump does not disappoint...I have stayed in a regular room and was more recently upgraded to a suite and the hotel is 5 star! I love that the rooms have mini kitchens and the suites have full kitchens. The breakfast in the upstairs restaurant was delicious with a great ambiance. If you want to be treated like a king (or Donald Trump), check out this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelNYCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am very pleased to read your feedback and am happy to learn you have enjoyed your experiences. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What you would expect at a Trump Hotel. Service from all employees from the front desk, to the restaurant to the doorman was all top notch. Location is good right in the center of town. Hotel has an excellent Gym. Also loved the TV in the bathroom mirror.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellc275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read you regard your experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago as "top notch". Thank you for sharing your feedback of not only the hotel and facilities, but also of our service team and their efforts to provide you with great service.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Overall, the Trump International Hotel in Chicago is a beautiful property but unfortunately, it failed to live up to its reputation during our four-day stay. Long story short, the decor of the rooms was more like a "construction-grade" model apartment (boring colors, bland art, etc), the service was lackluster (no robes, absent turn-down service, mediocre house-keeping), and mechanical deficiencies (bathroom door did not close completely, there were NO locks on any doors, very low water pressure (the shower pressure was very low so hair washing took a while), and filthy windows. The highlights included extraordinary food at and service at Sixteen, attentative front desk staff, and an awesome kitchen with high-end appliances (full size) in the suite. In the end, it was a nice experience but there are far better properties that offer greater luxury in Chicago.

Room Tip: Be prepared for parking - it is $71 a day for valet and $54 a day for self-parking. Garage is very e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay. While I am very happy to read your kind appraisal of Sixteen and our Front Desk team, I would like to extend my apologies that you were left to feel disappointed. I assure you we pay close attention to feedback such as yours so that we may constantly find ways to improve our facilities and services for our guests. I invite you to please contact our Executive Office Manager, Julie Bridgeman at jbridgeman@trumphotels.com, so that we may further investigate your experience.
I hope we will have the opportunity to look further into your stay and that you will allow us the occasion to welcome your return and restore your confidence in Trump Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,612 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,586 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#12 of 191 in Chicago
2,455 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#23 of 191 in Chicago
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $272 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing