We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Only True 5-Star in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Only True 5-Star in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'll be writing reviews on the other properties in town: FS, RC, Pen & W-A, but having recently stayed at all of them over the past two months for business, I can honestly say that the Trump is the only one that does it all... right.

From arriving in a cab, the way you're greeted, sincere smiles, they remember your name over the course of several days; the service in Rebar, Sixteen, the Spa, etc. It never failed and it instilled me with hope that such places still exist. The location is a little wonky when compared to the other big boys in town, but the view (if you get a room overlooking the river and out towards the lake) is second to none.

My personal feelings for The Donald aside, this place outdoes all other lodges in the city. It has won my business, and that of my company's, and we will be returning... guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I certainly appreciate and am happy to read of your appraisal of our team's dedication to service and that you were able to enjoy our restaurants and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming your return.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    262
    94
    45
    32
See reviews for
529
716
94
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandestin, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I traveled to Chicago with my family on Christmas Day and was only in town for a very limited time. I wanted the best hotel in Chicago and I am pretty sure I found it. From arrival to departure we felt like valued guests. The first impression was priceless- the architecture was stunning and the size of the building was very impressive. The front desk staff was warm and friendly, they also provided scented hot towels and a Christmas gift for my son. The concierge was helpful and offered a recommendation for the perfect restaurant. We wanted something unique and exotic and she recommended Vermillion, an Indian & Latin fusion restaurant that is only a few minute walk from the hotel. The experience was exactly what we were hoping for and the hostess even snuck us in without a reservation on a decently busy night. Of course, we went to the room prior to heading to dinner. We were given a corner suite on a decently high floor; the highest floors are privately held and not offered for rent. The room was very large and I feel like we received more than our monies worth. Shortly after unpacking there was a knock at our door, the staff provided a mix of snacks and bottle Coke. We also ordered the milk and cookie package when we reserved so we had a nice sugar rush before we went exploring in the city. The complimentary snacks were truly a surprise and were very much appreciated. The in room selection of snacks and high-end bottled water as well as magazine selection was top notch. Overall this is one of the finest hotels I have personally encountered. If I had any recommendations it would be for a hot tub in the pool area, they have hot tubs in the locker room but sometimes you want to relax with your significant other. I am 100% sure going back to the Trump International and you should stay there as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit. The view is somewhat limited but the room size is massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonthlyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago with your family for Christmas. I am happy to read that our Concierge was able to find the perfect restaurant for your holiday dinner and that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your time spent with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful. Room 2404 has the most amazing view of the Chicago river. The River North area of Chicago is the latest hot spot with plenty of restaurants and other activities. The city has begun a major renovation of the river front. Trump hotel is the middle of everything you to experience in this world class city.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turbostang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for posting a review of your experience. I am happy to read you enjoyed your visit; we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange co
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Typical Trump. The spa is fabulous! This is definitely higher class. Love the shampoo and conditioner samples in the shower! Amazing! The services from the spa staff was top notch. Hotel Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful Hotel and great location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kborangeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at the Spa and that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your appraisal.

Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago; we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were absolutely overwhelmed by the amazing service we received during our first stay at a Trump hotel. We traveled to Chicago for business but also brought our 15-mo-old daughter. Traveling with a baby is always stressful, but this hotel made it so easy since the staff anticipated our every need. The staff was warm and welcoming--with every member of reception even greeting our daughter by name throughout our stay. They even delivered Mum Mums to our room upon check-in. They provided a crib, pack'n'play, high chair, diaper pail, baby toiletries, etc. Having a dishwasher in our room was ideal for cleaning bottles and sippy cups during our stay. We have traveled frequently with our baby, but we have never had such a relaxing, comfortable stay anywhere else in the world. Of course, beyond the baby-related service, this hotel was beautiful, the service was exceptional, and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: If you need two beds, be sure they give you a room with two beds rather than one bed and a pullout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4LNS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am so pleased to read that our efforts to ensure you and your little one were comfortable during your stay are so warmly acknowledged and that our team made you feel welcome. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Trump during a recent business trip and felt like I was on vacation(even thought the Chicago weather didn't cooperate). The accommodations were amazing and the service equally as impressive.

. I would like to compliment the door staff in particular. They were informative and took me to various destinations in the Trump limousine. The hotel also made dinner reservations for me a the last minute at a very popular restaurant. We were given a great table in a full dining room and a special dessert ordered by the Trump..........exceptional service beyond expectations

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerCurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am pleased to read that you found the accommodations and service you received to be impressive and turned your business trip into a vacation experience. I also appreciate your appraisal of our teams at the door and the Concierge and am happy to learn that they provided you service beyond your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming your return in the future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The best hotel stay we have experienced in many years of traveling. The terrace and views were great. The staff couldn't do enough. We will return. Would recommend the Trump Hotel for business or pleasure trip and Chicago is a great city to visit and with the Trump's concierge desk it made visiting very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel for business and pleasure and that our Concierge team made your trip to Chicago easy.

We look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,719 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing