We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel in a central setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
315 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a central setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great, central and scenic setting on the canal close to the lake. The rooms are great, especially the lake facing ones! City view not that great. We had a few minor service failures, all resolved very quickly and satisfactorily. All round a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. While I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and that the service lapse you encountered were resolved quickly and to your satisfaction, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. I can appreciate what a nuisance this was.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future.


Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    281
    105
    51
    47
See reviews for
602
776
103
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was really impressed with all aspects of this hotel in my four-day stay. The room was spacious quiet and conformable. The housekeepers did a first rate job and even left a note card with the weather report on the nightstand each day.

The entire lobby staff doormen and bellmen were very incredibly helpful and polite. Everyone called me by my surname and seemed truly grateful for whatever I tipped them which may or may not be the standard amount in that city. I have no idea as this was my first visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: I had a city view and liked the eastern sunrise and buildings outside the tall windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your four-day stay and found it to be quiet and comfortable. I am also happy to read that our team was gracious and helpful.

Thank you again for your kind review; I certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

When in Chicago I will never stay anywhere but here. The staff is outstanding, and will help you with any small thing at just about any time. The good was excellent, my room quiet and had a great sound dock. Having an incredible kitchen made my trip so much better as I don't like to eat out all the time, and my view from my room was excellent, especially at night looking down over the river, or out the beautiful window view. Great interior design, and very comfortable furnishings that are thoughtfully laid out. I was able to walk to most of my destinations, or hop a cab easily from the front door. Gorgeous formal dining deck to entertain clients in.
I got stuck at the airport and had to stay overnight another night; they accomodated me, so I decided to stay 2 more since it was the weekend! Great spa that serves you martinis while you get a pedicure for tired traveler feet. Love this place!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found your room and accommodations to be excellent and comfortable, especially with the misfortune of getting stuck at the airport. It is also wonderful to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy the Spa.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a girls' trip away for the weekend. The rooms are large, well equipped, and very nice. We had lunch on the 16th floor and it was fabulous! The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. We were within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehornady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you and your friends for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago for your girls' trip away and for posting a review of your experience. I am very delighted to read that the service provided to you was excellent and that you enjoyed dinner at Sixteen. I am also happy to learn that your party was pleased with your accommodations and that you were able to enjoy surrounding entertainment in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for business and didn't have much expectation but this hotel caught me by surprise. The staff pays attention to the small details and everyone is absolutely friendly and very eager to help you make your stay comfortable. Not to mention the room provides nepresso machine, boss sound dock, and small kitchen. The location is excellent as well, most attractions are walking distance. I must agree with the other reviewer who states Trump might beat Ritz. Lastly, free wifi connection is very fast, unlike most other hotel wifi. The only thing that would make this complete may be the spa. My friend had a service at the spa and said the spa didn't have sauna. Not sure if she didn't know about it or not, but nonetheless she was very satisfied with her facial treatment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dran832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. I appreciate your appraisal of our team as we make every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves while remaining welcoming and personable to our guests. I am also happy to read you enjoyed amenities of the the room and hotel facilities. I do apologize for the inconvenience your friend experienced in trying to locate the sauna, as we do occupy one, but am pleased she was satisfied with her treatment.

I do hope you and your friend have the opportunity to enjoy the sauna upon your next visit; I look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to the bar which is situated on the 16th floor, hoping to have a drink and take in the view. The bar wasn't very big and on arriving there was not a table big enough for our party (we were only 5).

The waiters and servers completely ignored us and walked straight past whilst we stood there helplessly not really sure if we could start rearranging the bar to create a table big enough for us. After five minutes of being ignored we decided to leave and go to another bar. The customer service here is terrible, would definitely not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to our bar. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. It is of course with great concern that I have learned your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way.
I would like to invite you to visit Rebar and offer your party a complimentary round of drinks. Please contact Christopher Roberts, Director of Food and Beverage, at 312-588-8100 or croberts@trumphotels.com when you would like to arrange your visit.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We consider ourselves fortunate to have experienced some of the world's most highly acclaimed resorts and hotels.

Our experiences at the Trump Chicago are always delightful. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and well appointed and the staff couldn't be more professional. We always take an evening to dine at Sixteen and choose the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymbrulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago and for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your experiences.
I truly appreciate your kind appraisal of the rooms in which you have stayed and of our team and their professionalism. I am also pleased to read that you have enjoyed your experiences at Sixteen.

I certainly look forward to welcoming your next visit.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#16 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing