We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A nice place to visit, but I would not want to live here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit, but I would not want to live here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

OK, Chicago in the winter time. What were we thinking? I needed to go there for work, so it sounded like a fun trip for my lady friend to join me. The hotel is beautiful, the concierge service was terrific, and all else was great. BUT, in total, I thought it was a bit over priced and a bit over done. For us the "feel" was just not as nice as we hoped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJinmyPJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel.

I am of course very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    272
    101
    45
    37
See reviews for
567
745
99
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip and this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my life! Service, clean, high end yet freindly staff, etc etc. Terrace bar is amazing, A++++ Hotel and a must visit if in Chicago area! Location, style, truly a modern masterpiece!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpHotel, Vice President, Managing Director at Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard your stay to be one of the best experiences you have had.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trump International Hotel and Tower Chicago in the near future.

Sincerely,

T. Colm O'Callaghan
Vice President, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had such a great stay at this hotel last December that we decided to select it again for a four night stay shortly before Christmas. As before, we booked through the Amex Plat Fine Hotels & Resorts program and received the usual extras. However, we received an even better upgrade than expected - to a really beautiful one bedroom suite! It was incredibly roomy and worked out wonderfully for our family. Loved the fireplace and two bathrooms! View was not as good as last year, but getting the suite was well worth a lesser view this time around.

We enjoyed sushi at the bar, worked out at the health club, took a dip in the pool, had a nice massage, and otherwise had a relaxing time. The use of the courtesy Audi was a real plus. We used our breakfast credit each morning and even recognized the same excellent staff from the previous year!

Throughout our stay, the staff were always pleasant and helpful. Even got us a hard to get restaurant reservation. Strangely, we had the same minor issue with getting the right pillows, but it was eventually straightened out. Truly this isn't a fair complaint since this would not be a problem in most hotels as they don't even offer such a pillow menu! We ended up with lots of memory foam pillows just like at home. Our king bed was quite comfortable. We did order an extra mattress pad for the sofa bed for our son and they brought in the most luxe down comforter for him. The kitchen had a new Nespresso machine. We received a nice turn down service each night complete with bottles of Fiji water and slippers. It is all good.

We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lextravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my second stay in a Trump Hotel. Once is not enough. We chose Trump Chicago to ring in the new year. Coming from Toronto, our concierge made suggestions for dinner on NYE, prior to our arrival and facilitated our reservation at L20. The Tower itself is breathtaking! Inside and Out. Everyone from the valet, bell boys, reception and housekeeping were passionate about making our stay special. We used the concierge team on several occasions for lunch and dinner suggestions. Their recommendations were spot on with our requests. The Spa here was an oasis of refuge. Check out the steam room, sauna and power shower. The gym facilities were extensive too. Regret not booking a spa service!

We had breakfast at SIxteen and really enjoyed it.. despite a long wait to speak with our waiter after having been seated. Wifi was also challenging in some areas.

Looking forward to checking out Trump Honolulu at some point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just returned from the trump towers this weekend. What a beautiful place! Everything was first class, the beds were comfortable and the decore beautiful. I agree with MelicitaB, the bathroom was lovely with the exception of the gap on the door. I would also have been nice if the door wasn't glass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mykidsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission hills
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference (which is about the only reason I would be staying here--the organization got a great group rate). The hotel is beautiful; the staff incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The hotel room was among the nicest I have stayed in. Loved the mini-kitchenette--double burner, microwave, limited dishes were wonderful. I could not figure out how to work the coffee maker--which is ok because I don't drink coffee-but usually use the coffee maker to heat water for tea. Fortunately, I could use the microwave to warm up the water (and a great selection of tea bags was present). Also loved the oversize bath sheets and the great (and warm) bathrobe.

My only complaint was the ice maker was incredibly loud. I could not figure out what the loud crashing noise was that kept waking me multiple times during the night--it was not until the morning i left when i walked past the ice maker as it was delivering ice that i figured out the source of the noise--or I would have called to see if it could have been disconnected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kstraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at Trump Chicago recently for work and enjoyed every moment of it! From the moment you arrive you feel very welcome. Staff are all lovely and every single one of them greeted me every time I saw them. The over look of the entrance is smart and modern but welcoming, in the evening they light seated candles in the entrance which is a lovely touch. Lifts are card activated so you can be sure of no random people on room floors. On first being shown to my room, classical music was playing and a small gift was left for me. Very from the view was lovely over the city. Large very comfy bed, I am very fussy about beds but this one was lovely! Room also had a huge HD tv, buttons for the curtains and separate buttons for different light functions- day, night, evening so on. Small kitchen contained all I needed, small fridge that didn't have sensors in it like some hotels so you can put your own water or anything in. Coffee maker and pods are supplied every day. More kitchen was supplied than I needed really. Very large bathroom with tv in mirror, never used it myself but nice touch. Bath and shower was behind another glass wall/door apart from the bathroom which is nice if you shower and someone wants to shave and not have a steamed up mirror! Turn down service is lovely, bed is ready for you, robe and slippers layer out, lights turned down and fish tank put up on the tv, very nice to come back to. Hotel is nice, bars are nice, view from the high up bar is nice but to be honest I wasn't overwhelmed by the bars... That's the only downfall really. Hotel is well placed I walked everywhere and you can easily get to shops, coffee shops. Cafe and across the river.
Overall 10 out of 10 from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairweatherBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,516 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,941 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Address: 401 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised along the Chicago River at the juncture of the Loop and North Michigan Avenue, Trump International Hotel & Tower® Chicago is downtown’s most enviable address. The Chicago boutique hotel joins a list of landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Millennium Park. Soaring 92 stories, the structure of polished stainless steel and iridescent-tinted glass is a showcase of bold style and engaging design. Inside this luxurious hotel, impeccable style and spectacular four star services define the experience. Guests will enjoy a higher level of luxury with unrivalled hospitality and detail-oriented amenities, including personal attaché service. 339 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites await, with custom designed furnishings, floor-to-ceiling windows and fully equipped kitchens. Our signature, Michelin rated restaurant, Sixteen, features elegant, modern-American cuisine, complemented by sweeping lake, river, and city views. For an important occasion, the sophisticated surroundings of the Grand Ballroom or Conference Rooms will offer the perfect venue to make a lasting impression. The 23,000 sq. ft. Spa at Trump features an array of four star services with treatment rooms and spa hotel suites overlooking the Chicago skyline. All within walking distance to the best of downtown Chicago, from the exclusive shops on Michigan Avenue to the historic sites along the Riverwalk. An icon of definitive luxurious style, the Trump Chicago Hotel® brings sophistication and elegance to the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel And Tower Chicago
Trump International Hotel Chicago
Trump International Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing