We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow, what a fabulous meal”

Devon Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Devon Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #187 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Wabash
Transit: Red Line "L" (Chicago/State)
Description: With an indulgent menu focused on superior quality seafood, Devon Seafood Grill crafts its dishes with exacting standards & pampers its guests in a comfortable atmosphere. Featuring a generous cellar selection, an oyster bar & creative cuisine, Devon delivers culinary excellence at a surprising value.
Glasgow, Montana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wow, what a fabulous meal”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We asked a local to recommend a seafood restaraunt. Wow did he do us a good deed. Hubby had oysters for starter and Barrimundi that was to die for as his main course. I had the crab cakes with asparagus and whipped potatoes. Oh and the drink special was an x-rated martini. YUMMY

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    164
    54
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy elegance”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Each year we meet friends for a reunion lunch in a private room at Devon's due to its excellent location on the north side near Michigan Avenue. This location is easily accessible by Red Line train or Michigan Avenue buses. It never disappoints. I had the lobster bisque, scallops with asparagus and potatoes, and mixed berries for dessert (huge amount of fresh fruit with a hint of creamy dressing). Presentation and taste were excellent. Wine selection is good. Wait staff was attentive and accommodating since we had fewer persons than normal and asked to have the table arrangement altered to allow us a good conversation. Don't hesitate-check it out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
2,847 reviews
1,547 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 829 helpful votes
“I like the high life”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

It's downtown in location and style. The Devon makes you feel like your entering the "high life" ready for a great meal. I had seabass w/vegtables, and a house salad. I ordered unsweet tea, which I had to return (it was weak & sweet).The service, as well as the meal were very good. This was not my first visit, and my plan is to return. Pricing was Chicago, as expected.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Chicago seafood”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I went with an old friend, for dinner. It was early in the week, at around 8 pm and we were seated right away; no wait. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful.
Good martinis, great seafood (scallops and asparagus risotto) and a good, not overpowering dessert. Tasteful decor, not noisy and good street location in downtown Chicago. Pricey, but would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzymichael62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but bring your charge card!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was recommended by one of Chicago's PD officers on the street. When asked if they were pricey, his comment was, he eats there...he must make a lot more than I do lol!! However I guess in the land of Chicago, the price of a more upscale restaurant it was right on target. Food tasted great and was presented beautifully and our server was very attentive and informative.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devon Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing