We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #669 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Between Balbo Ave & Harrison St
Transit: Harrison (Red Line) Harold Washington Library (Brown Line, Orange Line, Pink Line, Purple Line) Jackson-Red (Red Line)
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We wanted Asian food near the Palmer House and found this on line. Looked like good reviews and took a chance. Service was good and the food was terrific. Had sushi, sashimi and the moo shu. All were well prepared and delicious. The bonus is that the restaurant is not noisy and you can have a conversation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyfulfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    77
    38
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Clean Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is a little bit off the beaten path in the south loop area near Columbia College, but it is definitely worth the extra walk. The food here is very good, and they did a very nice job preparing the meal and for our lunch the food was delivered to our table quickly. The wait staff at the restaurant all seemed the same; they were welcoming when we entered the restaurant, and our server and the other servers were very polite and appropriately attentive. Our water glasses never were empty and our drinks refilled without having to ask for a refill.

The restaurant decor is OK but comfortable, and the management seems to take pride in keeping the restaurant very clean. Plenty of choices on the menu, from sushi to other typical Asian dishes that are done well. Prices are very reasonable as well - most dishes are in the $8-$13 range. If you are in the downtown Chicago area and looking for a good place to eat, give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisleFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Asian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had the fried lobster, something I had never seen on a menu and it was very tasty and fun to eat. The service was attentive and all the food we had was great! Easy to get to from the Hilton.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty average but a bright spot where not a lot of choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything here was good but pretty average. Sushi was the bright spot. Wait staff is attentive as would be expected. Price is very reasonable so good value. Not much else in immediate walking to some of the hotels so I go here when I'm in Chicago. More choices if you want to walk 4-5 more blocks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank larry2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. The menu covers Japan, China, India, Thailand, and Mongolia. There is a small sushi bar in the back, an actual Mongolian grill, and a lovely sit down area. We walked right in, and were seated immediately. I had the best crab Rangoon I've ever eaten, and an amazing shrimp dumpling Thai soup. The dishes were plated beautifully, and the service was impeccable. It is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing