We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most comfortable accommodations, easy access to the Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Saint Louis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“most comfortable accommodations, easy access to the Loop”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

House 5863 is a lovely location, overlooking a 'dog park,' which is a big school, in the Andersonville/Edgewater neighborhood of Chicago. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. The CTA is an easy walk to go into the Loop for fun in the Windy City. The manager on-site is friendly and helpful. We've stayed here a number of times, including a college reunion in 2012, when we rented all five rooms. We've always had a great experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We choose Room 2, the least expensive, which has the bath across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beingthereStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
17
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a nice, quiet stay that was a good value. We only stayed one evening, but found the neighborhood to be good and it was close to the subway stop. There was plenty of food that was available at any time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The pros: clean; nice location in Edgewater; easily accessible; keyless entry; some street parking (although we had to park four blocks away when returning after dinner) and a sleek European look. Paid parking is available, but we didn't think it was necessary.

The cons: blinds broken and drapes not wide enough to cover the large window which overlooks the street; no soap in the bathroom or shower; no one on site to handle questions or help with issues mentioned. A phone number is listed for concerns, but we didn't realize our problems until late at night. We tried stopping by the office twice during 'office hours' of 3:00 - 6:00 PM to meet the owner/manager, but no one answered our knock.

Overall, it offers a comfortable environment away from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeeitAll728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!! We are always on the property and are in and out running errands for the bed and breakfast. The blinds have been repaired numerous times. If blinds are broken we ask that guest let us know so we can have them repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

On a lark, I decided to venture to Chicago in the winter to visit some friends and catch a show. One of my friends said there was a B&B near his house in Edgewater. I checked it out and decided that it would be great to stay in Chicago neighborhood rather than a large downtown hotel. I was quite happy with my choice. House 5863 is a bit different: its contemporary, clean and quiet. Breakfast is not communal. Rather, the proprietor set out a variety of self serve items, from croisants, pastries, bagels, cereal assortment, etc. The kitchen coolers are stocked with water, juices, sodas, and snacks... all available anytime. Our room was quite comfortable: outfitted with a King bed that was probably one of the top three beds I have ever slept in. Room was spacious and above all, quiet. Nice plasma television. There is also a great common sitting area, a deck and a garden, which I didn't have much use for in the winter, although I am sure it is an attraction in the warmer months. Important to me was the fact that the B&B was located in a great Chicago neighborhood close to friends and a block or two from the Red Line "El" to downtown Chicago. I was able to walk to restaurants and to some great Chicago pubs, or could jump on the train and be downtown in minutes. In sum, I would gladly stay again and do recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 which featured a large in-suite steam room which was great to take off the Chicag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here with a friend while visiting another mutual friend who lives in Andersonville. It's a bright, well-kept little place with adequate amenities. I liked the key code entrances to both the inn and rooms - it definitely makes life easier not having to keep track of one more key/card.

The room was clean and cozy, with a very comfortable bed, and a modern and spacious bathroom. The room was a decent size, but unfortunately there is no closet - just a bar with some hangers in the corner - and just a few drawers. This wasn't a big deal for us, since we were only staying for two days. If you plan to stay longer, though, you may be a bit crunched for clothing space.

The kitchen was well-stocked with snacks and breakfast all day. There is a nice shared living room space. I didn't spend a lot of time there, but the friend traveling with me said the couch was cozy and wifi very convenient for getting a little work done.

One last note: They only have rooms with king beds. I was traveling with an old friend and we didn't mind sharing, but otherwise it's really more conducive to couples.

Room Tip: Be sure to check whether the room is en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at House 5863 recently on a short business/vacation trip. Enjoyed ease of access and the quiest neighborhood. Met the owners shortly after my arrival (I arrived late in the evening and was provided with an access code to get into the B&B and nto my room). Asked for dinner recommendations and was very pleased with their choices. I like to read an the weekend that I was there was a beautiful fall day. I sat in the downstairs garden and enjoyed a fire that the owners had build in the garden area. Actually fell asleep for a bit... ha ha. Overall, enjoyed my stay and was glad to find a place close to the city, the trains and the Andersonville neighborhood. Was close to friends, the neighborhood and the trains to down town. Definitely on my menu of places to return to.

Room Tip: Room four is adjacent to the back deck and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Thank you.. Please stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a room at House 5863 two months in advance of our stay, and were told we have to pre-pay for the rooms. After we had paid, we received confirmation along with instruction on how to access the B&B and the room in the event that we arrived outside of normal hours.

Upon arriving at 6:00PM, we discovered the house to be unstaffed, and our room to be occupied. When we phoned the "emergency" number, we couldn't get anyone on the phone, so we left a message. We had flown from London, UK, mind you, and were travel weary and needing to make a 7:30PM show downtown.

After not getting a return call for 20 minutes or so, we tried again and got through to someone. She rather tersely said that she would look into it, and phone us back. After another 20 minutes or so when we hadn't heard back from anyone, we phoned the emergency number again. The woman, who identified herself as one of the proprietors, said she couldn't call back as she didn't have international dialing. She said she was on vacation but that her "roommate was around" and had let other people use the room without checking the online calendar. She asked if we could move the luggage to the waiting area and just take occupancy. These people had upacked, there were used towels around the room, dirty clothes, shoes, etc. I explained this and she said she could have someone there between 9:00pm and 10:00pm to clean the room and remove their belongings. Alternatively she offered a refund.

I pointed out that we had also missed a theatrical event for which we had purchased tickets due to this error, and I thought she should refund the cost of the tickets as well. She said she'd have to look into it, but could only promise a refund if we chose not to wait 2-3 hours for someone to come and sort it out.

As these other occupants now had keys to the room (the house is unstaffed apparently, and you get your room key only after entering the room using a security code), and there was no other accommodation available at House 5863, we were forced to seek other accommodation in Chicago on the Marathon Weekend. We have yet to receive an apology, let alone a refund.

In addition to not having been refunded, we incurred significant cost in a highly inflated room charge, we missed a theatrical even for which we could not obtain a refund or reimbursement for the tickets, not to mention the £3 per minute spent calling the proprietor to try to resolve the matter upon our arrival.

This was by far the worst experience I've had at a Bed & Breakfast, Hotel, Motel or other tourist accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamuelCP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House5863, Owner at House 5863 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
We do apologize for this issue. We ask that guest check out before noon but some guest usually stay beyond their time. We check guest and checkout on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 190 in Chicago
319 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#53 of 190 in Chicago
765 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House 5863 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House 5863 Bed & Breakfast

Property: House 5863 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5863 N Glenwood Ave, Chicago, IL 60660-3449
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House 5863 Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House 5863 is not your typical B&B. We are different. Here you will find no Victorian decor or rockers on a scenic porch. Rather, we are an urban, hip place to stay in the heart of Chicago's north side. Our style is contemporary comfort. Our rooms are clean, cool and most of all restive Our approach is more hands off than hands on. We focus on providing for all of your needs behind the scenes without disrupting your stay. Common areas are designed for casual living. The fully-equipped kitchen offers continental style breakfast with all the basics to allow you to serve yourself on your own schedule and at your own pace. Our garden and deck areas offer a quiet respite for relaxed joy. We offer five private guest rooms, each with its own private bath. Each room features a king-sized bed. All rooms are equipped with a flat panel television and free cable television and high-speed wireless internet access.All rooms sleep two guests. Room number 4 can accommodate an additional guest on a pull-out sofa for an additional guest charge. If you are traveling with children under the age of 7, please contact us before booking your reservation. All rooms and all private areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your House 5863 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing