We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”
Review of The SoupBox

The SoupBox
Ranked #3,192 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fresh, flavorful, satisfying soups and bread. Love Soup Box. I would eat here every day if I could! The Lobster Bisque is my all time favorite.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best. Soup. Ever.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Love, love, LOVE the SoupBox! Totally delicious, savory, hearty soups to warm you right up. Their creamy chicken with rice is so great, as is the homemade bread they'll serve with it. This is really a better place to grab some carryout as seating is really limited and not very atmospheric (though there are 2 or 3 tables outside), but the guys behind the counter are super friendly and helpful (hint: they'll let you sample the soups if you're unsure). I hear they're starting to deliver in the Lakeview area as well - sounds like lots of Winter days in with SoupBox soup on the way are in my future!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the soup here!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently ordered soup to go from this restaurant. We had a Groupon that was expiring that day, and didn't have time to eat it there. Previously, we have been to The Soupbox closer to Michigan Avenue. The soup at both locations is excellent! They have probably about 12 different soups each day and offer samples. I always order the brocolli cheese soup which blows Panera's out of the water. The soup is served with your choice of sourdough or multigrain bread and they also have oyster crakers if you choose. This location had grilled cheese sandwiches on the menu, but we didn't try those. The other location had wonderful build your own salads with many fresh ingredients to choose from. There isn't much seating at all in these restuarants, but it has never been a problem for us. This location also has an "Icebox" which serves Italian Ice. We didn't order any, but they were very nice and let the kids sample some. They said it was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Idea and Great Execution”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Soup places are too far and few between - glad my friends and I found this one. 12 fresh cauldrons a day of yummy, delicious soups. They allow you to taste the soups before you order as well which is a nice touch. Grilled cheeses available of course though the soup could fill you up on its own. Friendly staff and they carry IBC cream soda and root beer which is also a plus. Reasonable prices and free crackers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrippr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Soup in downtown!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I love this place! Specially during winter is the best place to warm up and have one of the best soups in town. Before you choose your soup you can sample them and they always change their menu but with great recipes. Also, the bread that you get is AMAZING.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicolasWittmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The SoupBox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing