We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!”
Review of Wateriders

Wateriders
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Navy Pier Fireworks Chicago Kayak Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Chicago River Kayak Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Chicago River Ghosts and Gangsters Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The pioneers of kayaking on the Chicago River, Wateriders has been hosting kayak tours for 20 years. Guests get an unbeatable view of the city's beautiful interior skyline as they paddle through the architectural canyon that is downtown Chicago. Located on the riverwalk behind the East Bank Club in the River North neighborhood, Wateriders is ideally situated for making the most out of one's adventure and is easily accessible by all means of transportation. Both guided tours and open rentals are available.
minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've been to Chicago a few times and absolutely love the Chicago river. If you like the architecture of downtown you should definable kayak it. We signed up for a classic 2.5 hr river kayaking tour. Our guide Joel is one of the better guides you will find on any type of excursion/tour you do. Its hard to find a more passionate guy who clearly clearly loves what he does. When he tells stories about Chicago's history you forget about everything else and just want more. He even quotes different authors on Chicago's history. The kayaking part is really fun too, it is a bit of a workout especially if its your first time. Half way through you really get the strokes down and then its a lot more efficient. You probably will get little wet from the paddle splashes (mostly shorts) so dress accordingly. All of the staff members are very pleasant. Safety is very important to these guys which was important to us as my wife was a bit apprehensive about the whole tour. Depending on the business of the river it can get somewhat choppy closer to the lake Michigan section, but not scary. Just pay attention and you will be just fine. They also provide zip locks, sunscreens, water, even sunglasses (spare ones left by other guests i am sure:-)) at no charge. Kayaks were in good shape too. Definitely try it. you won't regret it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rostov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    23
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wednesday fireworks with kids”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The trip was very organized and the staff was very efficient. We had a large group, close to 50, and everyone got the type of kayak they wanted (1 vs. 2 seats). I had three 14-year olds and an 11-year old with me. The 14-year olds each had a single kayak and were able to do the entire 5 mile trip. My 11 year-old was thankful that he had me in the kayak with me. All the kids were tired by the end (me, too) but loved seeing the city by water at night. Fun to go under the bridges. It does get quite dark on the river at night and the group was very split up on the water, so the kids were a little nervous when they didn't have a guide or other people close by. A fun trip to see the city in a different way. Had a TravelZoo voucher that cut the price in half, which was great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sindi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laid back and sincere”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The people that we encountered at Waterriders were so nice and laid back and easy going, they were so happy we came and gave us hats and pens and told us about getting a 20% discount at the Motel Bar after we kayaked. It was a wonderful experience for the whole family! They seem to take pride and enjoy their jobs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bovinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Classic Chicago Tour”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved this! We never kayak'd before. They gave us instructions, and then we were off! There are single & double kayaks. We would kayak a bit, then go to the side & listen to the interesting stories that were told about Chicago & the river. It was so much fun! Highly recommend this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank peaceandchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A new perspective on the city + great service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our kayak trip on the Chicago River was great fun. Seeing the city from low on the water gives you a entirely new perspective on not only the architecture, but also the history of Chicago. The views were beautiful.

The stable, open kayaks were easy to navigate, which is important, given the water taxi and cruise boat traffic that shares the river. We have kayaked before and knew how to deal with the slight chop, but a rank novice might get a bit wet.

This business wants to please the customer: water was free, a selection of sunblocks was on hand so that customers could reapply (a good idea since the water reflects the rays), and they even had ziplock bags to protect cellphones and small cameras. There are no lockers, so women should leave their purses at home. Next time I would bring a "dry bag" or my own zip lock bags just in case they run out.

I highly recommend Wateriders.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wateriders also viewed

 

Been to Wateriders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing