We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family gathering”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hansen House Mansion Guest House
Ranked #18 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for family gathering”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and booked several places to fill with adult family members. There were nine of us in the Hansen House. It turned out to be a great place to stay. The Old Town neighborhood is lots of fun and the runners in our group loved the quick access to Lincoln Park. Transportation is easy using the brown or red lines, and cabs are easy to get. We had a terrific time. After we left, Fran sent us a box full of stuff we left behind in drawers. She was very accommodating.

Room Tip: There are three elegant rooms with queens (very comfortable). Another room has two singles. We also...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojourner43018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
18
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hansen House while we did the One of a Kind show downtown. It was wonderful for location and relaxation at then end of a busy day of selling. Fran was so great to work with and had so many choices of where to go and eat local. The brown line was just a few blocks away to walk to, parking on the street right outside the door was also a big bonus and not pay the outrageous fees of downtown. It was clean and comfortable as well as spacious! I wish that we could have spent more time as visitors with out having the show to do every day so that we could have enjoyed the house and it's location more. I would stay again next time we are in Chicago without a problem, we saved money and loved it more than a downtown hotel. The shopping near by is a plus along with the wonderful restaurants. Plus if you hop on the brown line you can shop the loop by getting off at Chicago, hop a bus to Michigan Ave.
We can't thank Fran enough for working with us and all our problems.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the top of the stairs on the second floor and the bath is wonderful and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kredhead51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at Hansen House for two nights in late September and would definitely go back!

*ROOMS:
Spatious with lovely doors, decor, & furniture. Nice communal spaces, too!

*PEOPLE:
Fran is a fantastic host, with an INCREDIBLE ability to tell you where everything is. She even drew us little maps :D Thanks Fran!

*NEIGHBORHOOD:
The house is on the southern tip of Lincoln Park, just a few stops north of downtown loop area and a couple stops from near north. Nice restaurants around, a quiet neighborhood at night. We caught the Wednesday farmer's market which was an added bonus~
Definitely stood out against the downtown Chicago hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eggberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife, daughter and I recently did a road trip to Chicago. We ended up making reservations at the Hansen House. Smartest decision we made. Aside from the great location and price (1/3 of what you'd pay for a hotel in the area), our host, Fran, was very welcoming and helpful. She provided us with ample information regarding great restaurants in the area, grocery store location and recommended attractions in the city. Free street parking, right in front of the guesthouse, was a bonus as well. You can't go wrong staying in this hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hansen House late July. We really enjoyed our stay. It is only blocks away from North ave. Beach and Lincoln Park is only across the street. We stayed at the architect’s quarters which were very nice and harkened back to a time when Chicago was in its prime. Fran is very helpful when it comes to location of various activities going on in Chicago. The only negative I have is not a big one and that concerns the temperature in the house. I personally get hot very easily and am miserable when the temp. is not where I like it. When I asked about the thermostat I was told that it was for the whole house and that the night got to 60 degrees at night and to open the window. At the end of the stay Fran informed me that I could have asked for her to turn up the A/C. She didn’t mention this at the start of the visit. So I thought for the comfort of all guests that the thermostat wasn’t negotiable. I really wished that I had asked her to turn u the A/C instead of suffering though it thinking that it wasn’t allowed. I only bring this up so that if anybody else is staying here to ask Fran to adjust the temp to what you like. The Hanson house looks great and is very homey. The beds are very comfortable and all the little amenities that you won’t have at a hotel makes this a memorable experience. All in all a great place and I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonFis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

- in july 2012 we stayed five nights in the parlour suite on the third floor
- the lincoln park area is fabulous - close to parks, shops of all choices, and a train station
- would stay again in the lincoln park neighbourhood
- the hansen house is as described, an architectural treasure - a wonderful old building furnished with wonderful of things
- the bedrooms and bathroom on the second floor have some renovating improvements, are spacious and well appointed
- the parlour suite needs some work and attention
- the "kitchen area" consists of a converted closet, the width to accommodate a bar size fridge, an apartment size microwave, with china mugs, a couple plates, bowls and plastic cutlery on the shelf above
- the eating area is actually a large hallway that the two bedrooms and the bathroom open onto with a small cafe table and four chairs sitting in the middle that have to be navigated around
- when we visited in july, the weather was very warm - the air conditioning system does not have enough umph to get the cooler air up to the third level, and ..... the host pops over to the suite while we were exploring chicago to turn off the ceiling fans
- roof top patio has a backyard style umbrella table and chairs - there were no adirondack style chairs, or any relaxing chairs - something that would have made the space move useable
- the roof top patio was ok but had no wow factor in any way the renovating / construction debris needed to be removed
- but of concern most of all, was the parlour suite, when we rented, had mot been cleaned for some time - dirty floors, dust bunnies everywhere and i should not have had to clean the coffee pot before i used it
- parking is advertised as free and it is, the host will give you a pass to display - but the area is all street parking - you are competing with homeowners, guests, restaurant patrons, shoppers, and second city is only two blocks away - lots of cars at show time - on several occasions we found parking five to six blocks for the house
- great neighbourhood, nice house, very personable host, the parlour suite not so great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merv p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My son and I stayed here while visiting DePaul University. Fran was a great host (even gave us a CD of Chicago tunes for the road when we left!). She oriented us to the Lincoln Park area, and we spent both days of our visit in the area, walked everywhere, and felt very much at home. The room was great--comfortable even in hot weather--and it was like being part of a wonderful neighborhood. Proximity to the park was a huge bonus. We will definitely try to stay here again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JMooreColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 189 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansen House Mansion Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansen House Mansion Guest House

Property: Hansen House Mansion Guest House
Address: 164 W Eugenie St, Chicago, IL 60614-5809
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hansen House Mansion Guest House Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing