We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy beds + beautiful atmosphere”
Review of Ruby Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruby Room
Ranked #146 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“comfy beds + beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My partner and I actually chose the Ruby Room as our wedding venue after having taken classes at Yogaview and fallen in love with their shared garden space.

We rented out the whole inn (for our immediate families to be able to stay on-site), and used the garden for both our ceremony and reception. Our contact, Lindsay, was very sweet, professional, and responsive throughout the entire year leading up to the event from the time of our booking, and was also there for us day-of to make sure everything ran smoothly. We had absolutely no problems, and found the staff to be very flexible and accommodating (letting our guests check in early, for example, and agreeing to store supplies and decorations for us that we'd brought over a day in advance).

Everyone in our party loved their rooms, and raved about how comfortable the beds were. The Ruby Room is a close walk from the train and on two bus lines, and that stretch of Division (as well as the larger neighborhood) is really fun and happening.

Thank you, Lindsay, and thanks to your entire staff for helping make our day picture-perfect!

Room Tip: We took the 3rd floor room next to the kitchen--set off a bit more privately :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
31
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a romantic weekend and loved the ambiance, rooms & the location. It's not downtown but instead in Wicker Park which is a really fun neighborhood to shop, eat, & drink in. You can walk everything you need, including the train downtown. We also were able to find a deal & book for around $100/night.
The only downside is that we had been under the impression it was a B&B of sorts. They did not offer breakfast - only coffee & tea.
Everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erp1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Be aware the rooms are a four story walk up on a narrow staircase. The garden room we occupied was bereft of furniture; no place to put anything. Miniscule bedside tables, a tiny chest of drawers, and one chair made up the furnishings. For some reason the owners had decided to spend lots of money on elaborate panelling but not on furniture!! Beds and the bathroom are not cleaned for the next day. BUT THE ABSOLUTE WORST ASPECT WAS: NO HOT WATER ON SATURDAY MORNING AT 8:30 AM!!!!!! Totally inexcusable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubyroom, Owner at Ruby Room, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Mark,

Your right, no hot water is inexcusable. We installed hot water on demand systems in all our rooms for this exact reason. It appears, yours was not working properly during your stay and I would like to extend a refund for your inconvenience. The room you stayed in is also our smallest and with a king bed, there is not much room for additional furniture. Based on your feedback, I have decided to change to single beds to allow for more furniture. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We don't always get it right, but we are committed to our guests. You can reach me anytime at john@rubyroom.com. Many thanks, John Leydon, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve because we had plans within a mile or so of this hotel. And it was the only hotel that wasn't a hostel. We found the room to be spacious, comfortable and clean. Also, we were on the third floor right next to the coffee kitchen and it was great to have some coffee and tea for free in the morning. The stairs are narrow and you do need to bring your suitcases up that way, but we knew that in advance and it was no problem. Thanks for exactly what we needed. No problems checking in late and finding the packet in the mailbox as instructed and our keys inside.

Room Tip: 3B was right next to the coffee kitchen. Very spacious. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTaveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ruby Room is really cool in its charm, little touches, and connection to what seems to be an awesome spa. My stay was brief but I was generally pleased. The room reminded me of my apartment back home - hardwood floors and little rugs. Unfortunately, hearing my neighbors upstairs walk around and the neighbors next door have a conversation made it also seem like home rather than an escape/getaway. That's my only complaint and why it gets 3, not 4 stars (or should I say circles?)

The bed and pillows were so comfy. The books in the room were fun to look at. The chair in the room was comfortable. The a/c was just right. The shower was delightful. I loved the large mirror! The robes, hair dryer, and toiletries were great too. Didn't use the community kitchen but love the idea of it and that there is coffee there!

I would recommend this for people who like city life and just want a comfortable and authentic place, rather than some chain restaurant. I would bring ear plugs though or something to block out any noise at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c00coo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

the rooms are wonderful at this well-located small hotel in the Wicker Park area of Chicago. The area is great. Many fine restaurants, creative stores, a lot to see just by walking. Well located on the Blue line of the subway--you can ride here in 35 minutes from the airport. Then you can take the same line to the Loop--downtown Chicago. And many other Chicago sections are not far by subway.
The rooms were beautiful--peaceful, large, quiet. Sort of minimalist--not the usual hotel room with lousy pictures or the feeling that many people have passed through this place. I could live there a long time except for the need to eat out.
The only thing of concern is that you need to walk up a rather steep and long stairway to get to your room, making the 2nd floor (the lowest one), a good choice.
Try the Ruby Room, you'll like it.

Room Tip: Just the second floor if climbing is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This review is for the hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Ruby Room for the weekend and loved the unique experience. I didn't have an issue with no elevator or the limited reception hours. The staff makes everything easy even if they're not around. There was a chalkboard in the hall where you could write requests. We needed more toilet paper, wrote it on the board, and in the morning it was waiting for us outside our room.

Liked:
- large, comfortable bed
- steam shower
- quiet and relaxing environment
- great service
- perfect location (great restaurants and shops within walking distance)

Disliked:
- parking was a little hard to find.
- no black out curtains so the room was very bright early in the morning.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyjay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#61 of 190 in Chicago
240 reviews
West Town
Wicker Park Inn
Wicker Park Inn
#6 of 22 in Chicago
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
The Hollander
The Hollander
#8 of 58 in Chicago
58 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#2 of 58 in Chicago
1,031 reviews
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Room

Property: Ruby Room
Address: 1743 W Division St # 45, Chicago, IL 60622-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#98 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruby Room 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best in the City" - Chicago Magazine.Ruby Room Hotel & Spa is one of Chicago's most unique overnight destinations. Just 8 minutes from downtown, in the heart of historic Wicker Park's restaurant, shopping and nightlife scene.Modeled in the European tradition, Ruby Room is neither a hotel nor a traditional B&B. Our concept is that of relaxation. By design, we do not offer telephones or televisions. We do not offer 24 hour reception or bellman services. We make a practice of not entering your room during your stay, unless requested. Ruby Room is a historic property and does not offer an elevator. Please keep this in mind, if you or any of your guests have a challenge with mobility. What we do offer are outrageously comfortable pillow top mattresses with 500 thread count linens, large marble and glass showers, 4 of which are equipped with commercial steam units along with complimentary AVEDA products. Crown molding and fine woodworking throughout. Modern furniture peppered with antiques, new community kitchen, gorgeous garden with waterfall and all a part of a day spa, hair salon, yoga studio, two retail boutiques, 5,000 square foot health club and a serene healing sanctuary. If you're looking for something super clean and relaxing, we offer a restful room attached to a unique spa in a super cool neighborhood. Your peace is our passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ruby Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Room Chicago
Ruby Room Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing