We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining guide left me wanting more”
Review of Untouchable Tours

Untouchable Tours
Ranked #46 of 208 Tours in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience Chicago as it was during the 1920's and 30's. See the old gangster hot spots and hit spots! Hear historically accurate accounts of the exploits of Capone, Moran, Dillinger and the rest of the boys! Feel the excitement of jazz-age Chicago during the era of prohibition. Enjoy . . . a journey into the past as we cruise the city in search of the old hoodlum haunts, brothels, gambling dens and sites of the gangland shootouts!
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Took the tour with Biggie Blue Eyes. He was excellent. He played the part very well and was entertaining while he was informative. He gave us a great mix of information and humor. The day we took the tour we were with a new driver and I suspect a different bus than normal so maybe things were a little different than normal. But everything still flowed very smoothly. My only reason for not giving the tour 5 stars was there were long distances between points of interest that was filled with period music. That was understandable but I would have preferred more information from our guide. He was so entertaining in his delivery I would preferred to listen to some more details about the period in general or about the gangsters specifically. I would have even enjoyed a stop or 2 along the route at the Biograph Theater or the church with the bullet holes. Highly recommend the tour, just wish there was more information and a little less music

Thank remilew2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trixie S, Guest Relations Manager at Untouchable Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for the review, remilew2017! We will definitely share your input with management and, and we appreciate the info!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gangster history"
in 42 reviews
"prohibition era"
in 40 reviews
"al capone"
in 38 reviews
"johnny rocco"
in 18 reviews
"great tour"
in 60 reviews
"blue eyes"
in 12 reviews
"great fun"
in 49 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 9 reviews
"corny jokes"
in 10 reviews
"sound effects"
in 10 reviews
"john dillinger"
in 12 reviews
"entertaining tour"
in 10 reviews
"tour bus"
in 17 reviews
"tour takes"
in 13 reviews
"these guys"
in 18 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 12 reviews
"two hours"
in 26 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 827 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Took my teenage boys on this and it was very informative. They were very intrigued by the stories and had a great time. The spots where things happened were mostly gone but you had a sense of geography and how the gangsters lived by the places that were still around. An added benefit was traveling through the different areas of the city such as Chinatown and little Greece. I look forward to taking the rest of my family on this for our next visit.

Thank DavidM12096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trixie S, Guest Relations Manager at Untouchable Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for the review, David! We are glad you & the boys enjoyed and got to experience a different side of the Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

What a great evening! Our tour guides were Johnny and Johnny. They worked very well together and made for an entertaining adventure around the city. The tour gave us the opportunity to see some of the city that was not near the normal tourist sites. Some people complain in their reviews that so.e of the tour was just looking at an empty lot. This is true, however a perfect image is created of what was there and what happened there. This is a part of the cities history that they may not exactly want to hold on to, so it makes sense that some buildings were not preserved. A pamphlet is provided with pictures and descriptions to help know who everyone is and locations that may no longer be standing. Thank you for the fun evening. This was a perfect way to spend a few hours in the city.

Thank Jo73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trixie S, Guest Relations Manager at Untouchable Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for the amazing review, Jo73_13! We are glad the Johnnies brought Prohibition to life for you and that you enjoyed the adventure! We so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We took the tour last Friday. After researching all the gangster tours, I'm so glad I decided to go with this one. The bus ride was comfortable with plenty of seat room and good air conditioning. Tip: Don't sit in a seat next to the speakers. My husband and I did at first and luckily switched before the actual tour started. (We could tell by the music that those seats would be really loud and they were.) The tour guides "Johnny Rocko" and "Johnny Three Knives" were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Although we've watched quite a few crime documentaries like Lucky Luciano, we learned quite a few new things on the tour. We appreciated that they drove to several parts of the city and talked about the North Side gang, South Side gang, West Side gang, and their interactions with each other. As a bonus they also talked about John Dillinger and his story, which we didn't know at all. Parts of the gangster stories were believed to be a certain way but not verified, and they were up front about that, too. Sign up for this one, and you'll have a great time and learn much!

Thank MN_Travel_Bug_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trixie S, Guest Relations Manager at Untouchable Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you for the great review, MN_Travel_Bug_1! We are so glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

the hosts were great. great jokes, information, and fun. air conditioning was awful in the bus. i'm a mafia guru, so i knew the stories. the tough part of these kinds of tours is that the sites and buildings are now gone. so the mystique disappears. thats just the norm for this type of history. if there were actual stops to get out and do something would be more enjoyable too. but overall it was fun to see and feel an area that something was of importance.

Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trixie S, Guest Relations Manager at Untouchable Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank for taking the time to write a review, Joe! We will definitely send along your input to management and we are glad you enjoyed the guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Untouchable Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing