We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger Rated Among the Best in Chicago”
Review of Primehouse

Primehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Primehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Ontario Street
Transit: Red Line- State and Grand
Description: Primehouse in The James Hotel features a modern steakhouse menu with hand-picked meats that are dry-aged for 28 to 75 days in a Himalayan salt-tiled aging room on premise. An intimate destination for special gatherings, the Private Dining Room is a noteworthy addition to the steakhouse. Conceived as a modern interpretation of the classic "chef's table" meant for private dining, it serves to complement the progressive fare. #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Best Burger in the U.S. by Food & Wine, Best Steakhouses in the U.S. by USA Today.
Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Burger Rated Among the Best in Chicago”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went here for lunch to try the burger I hear so much about. Service was slow and they took a while to get to us. Not overly interested in serving us and it wasn't very busy. Had a nice bottle of wine. Also ordered truffle fries, mac n cheese and asparagus. Mac n cheese with chorizo was my favorite. The burger was cooked to the perfect mid-rare temperature but this is a dense burger -- yes, a steakburger, but meatloaf-like in its denseness. I like a more juicy burger.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbmWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    203
    126
    82
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Where's the beef??”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

#502 should have been a tip-off, but this was a group dinner hosted by some close friends so I was in. We had a private room with wait people which were efficient and knowledgeable, Stared with vodka martinis and a seafood tower of crab, shrimp, oyster,etc which could have been a meal. The starters were great by all reports although the crab cake was an "interesting" shape. The "wedge" with blue cheese is difficult to screw-up and it was fine. There is a great selection of beef which was described in detail. I opted for the aged, bone-in rib-eye and that's where things went pear-shaped. Although grilled properly to the requested level of "done", it was tough and lacked flavor. I have purchased/prepared far superior from Costco as another reviewer has mentioned. The evening was somewhat salvaged by the red velvet cake dessert was a unique presentation, delicious and more than ample in portion. The cake tin allowed those wishing a snack later a fashionable means of spiriting away the leftovers. I can honestly say that everything but the meat was very good. But a restaurant which has been suggested in a review as the top Chicago steakhouse, should be able to provide a decent steak. So, where's the beef??

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 815PaulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good beef, prices higher than average.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

David Burke's Primehouse is located inside the James Hotel on Ontario.

This is a famous steakhouse in Chicago, often named in the top 10 by magazines and websites.

We were staying at the James last week and one day I was a bit sick and cold, so we decided to eat inside.

We dined at their bar and had an attentive and knowledgeable service. While you wait for your main dish, they serve some poppers, they taste like asiago cheese and with butter they are delicious. Nice idea.

Wife and I decided to split the 16 oz. 40-day Ribeye steak. It's one of their famous steak and indeed it was very good and tasty. The creamy spinach were just great whilst the basil whipped potatoes were okay, a touch bland.

They have a good Sangiovese red wine.

Prices are on the high side here, so while the food is good to very good and so was the service, if we look at "overall value" it loses a star, and I might add, a few days later we got an even tastier piece of the meat at the underrated Kinzie Chophouse.

In a city like Chicago with all the food offerings, I wouldn't take a cab just to come here, but if sleeping at the James, try it once.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of valet service here”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My sister and I dined here on Friday night. We pulled up in our BMW X5 and gave our keys to the valet guys as we ate dinner for about two hours. We left David Burkes only to realize that multiple items were stolen out of the back of the SUV. We filed a police report with the Chicago Police as when we went to speak with the mgr. of the valet service he made the mistake of saying they have had problems with stealing lately. One would think an establishment like this would let their patrons know of the issues and not park their vehicles in that garage which by the way is the Grand Plaza garage at 530 N. Grand. (Do not park here) We actually followed a valet driver to see where they parked the cars and it is very clear there is a stealing scam going on here. The irony that your valet ticket is conveniently stamped they are not responsible for any items in your car taken.... $250 dollar dinner only to have even more than that stolen out of the car and the restaurant mgr to say he will call us and try and look at security tapes. Poor service at its best and it is connected to the St. James hotel using the same service. Whatever you do....don't use the valet service as they are clearly having problems and not addressing them. They even tried to tell us it's easy to pop an X5 trunk.....Really? Most 60g cars come equipped with fancy alarm systems. At David Burke's valet those guys simply take your keys and whatever else they can swipe out of your car while you conveniently spend exorbitant amount of money on dinner at what is supposed to be a top steakhouse. I highly suggest go to Benny's....safer and better!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Thanksgiving stay in Chicago. We read all the previous years reviews for the best thanksgiving dinner in the city and selected David Burke's Steahouse which was always in the Top 10 places. We were not disappointed!!!

All the traditional Turkey dinner trimmings with a contempory twist, very nice. The kids loved the sweat potatoe mac and cheese side dish. Also asked for the traditional Mashed Potatoe side....can't beat them on Thanksgiving!!

Finished with pumpkin cheesecake and coffee creme brûlée. Nice touch was the restaurant gave turkey sandwiches to-go to each table. We gave the bag to the hotel doormen on our return to the hotel....much appreciated on a very cold night shift!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Britinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Primehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing