We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks in a very casual restaurant!”
Review of Primehouse

Primehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Primehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Ontario Street
Transit: Red Line- State and Grand
Description: Primehouse in The James Hotel features a modern steakhouse menu with hand-picked meats that are dry-aged for 28 to 75 days in a Himalayan salt-tiled aging room on premise. An intimate destination for special gatherings, the Private Dining Room is a noteworthy addition to the steakhouse. Conceived as a modern interpretation of the classic "chef's table" meant for private dining, it serves to complement the progressive fare. #1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine, Best Burger in the U.S. by Food & Wine, Best Steakhouses in the U.S. by USA Today.
Delray Beach
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great steaks in a very casual restaurant!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The steaks were fantastic, very flavorful and tender. I was very disappointed that it was so casual. Service was pretty good, but not the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    203
    126
    82
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food heaven”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband ordered the prime rib and couldn't believe how fantastic it was. The desserts were just divine. We had also dined at the NY location so we had high expectations - these were exceeded!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joelenegoesonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room service.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was a guest of The James when I got dinner from David Burke's Primehouse, and it was pretty good, I suspect that it would have been better if I had just gone downstairs to eat, as the food was a little overcooked from having had to wait for someone to be available to deliver it to my room.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"My 1st or Last Stop Everytime I Visit Chicago"”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Depending on the time I arrive in Chicago, I always stop to have lunch at David Burke's the staff is unbelievable and the food is awesome. If you're there during lunch try their special, this time I had Salad, Steak, Mushrooms & Onions and Fried Green Beans (added but well worth it) and Dessert was the Baked Alaska which was amazing. Oh let's not forget the Martini that comes with the meal and if you want additional it's $5 per drink which is a great price in Chicago. I can't remember the Hostess name but she remembers me each and everytime I arrive, I don't know what I would do if she ever leaves David Prime's it wouldn't be the same. If my memory is correct by Server was Jose' and he was great as well. I met the Manager (Very Tall Guy) he definitely worked the floor which I love to see and more Managers need to do. This is a 5 Star Restaurant and I will definitely be back in March for my every 3 - 4 month visit to Chicago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APRILJ716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My daughter and I ate here for breakfast one morning while staying at the adjacent James hotel. I had an omelet and a diet coke and my daughter had blueberry pancakes and orange juice - price before tip $36. Service and food was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Primehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing