We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks”
Review of Old Chicago Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Chicago Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed at various bed and breakfast, a lot of times it is gamble as to what you will find. I have been impressed and pleased several times, but not in this case. I
Since I was traveling without my husband, visiting mr daughter, I was uncomfortable spending the night there by myself. I ended up staying with my daughter. They would no refund my money. . . So goodbye $360.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 112 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a nice room, very small but clean. The location was near public transport, they provide a neighborhood parking pass and you do have to search for a parking spot. Easy walk to Wrigley Field. The staff was very welcoming and got up early to provide food for us ahead of normal breakfast time due to our early departure. We had a bit of trouble accessing the wireless internet from our 3rd floor room with the door closed but it was fine just outside in the common area where a small fridge was provided.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Old Chicago Inn. Unfortunately, the inn was not anything like most of the reviews I previewed before booking the place. I commend the photographer who provided the pictures for their advertisement. But in this case, the pictures are not worth the thousand words. The room was dirty (2 inch dust balls behind the furniture), dust on the curtain blinds, and there was mildew on the back of the shower curtains. The main section had a scent of body odor, the breakfast was an unknown serving in a cassarole plate,the coffe was lukewarm, and I couldn't find a freshness date on the breakfast bars and boxes of cereal. One other thing, the inn is one block from the L train. Unless you are accustomed to the sounds, you probably won't sleep well. About the only person I would recommend this to is someone returning from a Cubs game (within walking distance) who might have over embibed, and doesn't care where they sleep. I am sorry for the unkind words, but sometimes the truth is needed for changes to occur. The building has great potential, but I believe has bad management at this time....

Room Tip: Try Villa De Citta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtgijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Room 2E the first night. Really bad room with holes in the floor underneath the beds (I was scared to see a rat come out of it). Paint is missing on walls. TV was broken. Old mattress but clean sheets. I don't recommend this room. Cigarette smell. I had to open all windows to get some air.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K33155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'd recommend this place if you'd like to stay in a 'neighbourhood' (ie out of the downtown area). It's in a great part of town, very well located for the train, food and entertainment. The Inn has a lovely feel about it, and the staff are friendly, organised and welcoming. The room I had (1c) was small, but very comfortable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank cphiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Parked the car for free and great access to the train system. Safe and lively area with charm. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are small, but great value for the price. If you are in Chicago to enjoy Chicago, this is a great place to lay your head when the day is through. Nothing flashy, but perfect if you are not looking for all the worthless amenities.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn is a family owned European style Bed and Breakfast with an emphasis on hospitality from the staff. The rooms are small and the facilities old, but it's comfortable, clean, and safe. The bed included a snuggly warm down duvet to ward off the cold rainy night! The plush robes for guests really were, the free wi-fi fast, a complementary membership to a nearby gym (which I didn't use) was included, and breakfast was served until 11 a.m. with coffee, juice, milk, cereal, and delicious fresh baked pastries. Trader Todd's is a popular bar next door that also has food. Room 13, the Inn's own basement speakeasy, is open Friday and Saturday evenings offering a quieter, more relaxing atmosphere featuring unique early 20th Century cocktails (I recommend "The Clover Club"), and often live jazz. Bartenders and waitresses in both were friendly and gave great service. The inn is located in a busy and safe neighborhood within a two minute walk from the Belmont Red/Brown/Purple Line CTA "L" Station. It is convient to both fine and popular restaurants and other shopping conveniences. For baseball fans, it's an easy walk or one stop train ride to Wrigley Field. This is a very old, but clean property with first class hospitality, I'll be back.

Room Tip: With three train lines nearby it's less than 15 minutes from the Loop and easy to get anywhere w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiniGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 192 in Chicago
523 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#58 of 192 in Chicago
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#79 of 192 in Chicago
953 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Chicago Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chicago Inn

Address: 3222 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-2211
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Chicago Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Old Chicago Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing