We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay! Period.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! Period.”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My review of the Hampton Inn will be a little dated, but it definitely deserves high praise. My girlfried and I stayed here in August 2008 for 8 nights. This was both our first time visiting Chicago. We couldn't have been happier with our selection. We picked this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor.com. Thanks to all for their honest reviews!

If you're looking for a place with a great location, this is it! It was very easy to navigate throughout the city from this loaction. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy as well. One train stop will get you block or two away from the front door!

Don't expect a grand entrance, because there is none. What you get in terms of value is the location, service, and room quality. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast every morning and the free wireless internet inside our room. If you don't have time to sit for breakfast, they offer free travel snack bags. Chicago in the middle of summer was quite hot, but our air conditioner was excellent. The bed was amazingly comfortable. We were well rested day in and day out.

As for location, you can't beat it. It is so close to public transportation and is walkable to many major tourists sites. It is also very close to many great restaurants and shopping.


Next time we go to Chicago, we will be staying here!

Great job Majestic Inn!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    559
    83
    23
    8
See reviews for
562
563
127
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I am a college professor and travelled to Chicago with eight students. We received excellent service, and all of us recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profSBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

A small group of us stayed here for the duration of 4 nights. The hotel is located within walking distance from public transport and almost everything in Chicago (if you like walking). The area it is located can appear desolate and quiet late at night, aside from the odd poor homeless cretin asking for loose change and the like. The rooms are spacious and cosy. Very good value compared to similar premises in the Chicago area. The front desk staff are informal and relaxed but efficient. Checking in and out was a breeze. Breakfast offers a wide range of hot and cold choices and is resupplied regularly. Will stay here again when I visit next. The fitness centre is small, with only a few machines; water and towels are provided and it is immaculately clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert_Cumberdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Hampton Majestic. We arrived at the hotel around 9:45 a.m. and we actually checked in to our room. It was clean and ready for us. We got a room with a king bed, sofa and foot stool. It also had a mini frig and microwave. Nice to have for drinks and any food left overs after dinners out. We didn't have a view of th city, just an office building, but that was fine. Wandered down the street a block and ended up having breakfast at The Corner Bakery. It was yummy. Similar to a Panera type of restaurant. Although they bring your food to the table after you order.

Hotel is near the Art Institute which was free to visit in Feb. Quite a bonus. We also walked to Millenium Park and to several stores close by to shop.

Clean, well decorated and the staff we enountered were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend to anyone visiting Chicago who wants to stay in the loop.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deannabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The lobby is on the 4th floor and it is unpretentious, but don't let that discourage you. Once you start down the hall and go into your room, you will be glad you stayed here. This is a very nice hotel. It is clean, up-to-date, and well-decorated. It is nicer than, say, the average Holiday Inn Express, yet it was only $89 per night (in February) and it is on the Loop in the Theater District. We stayed on the 15th floor and had a nice view of the city. The fitness room is small but very nice. The machines are high quality. There are two treadmills, each with a TV screen (bring your own headphones). There is an elliptical strider, a bike, a weight machine, a water cooler, towels, and two floor mats. You can control the temperature with a thermostat on the wall. It was peaceful and quiet in there because there is no central TV. Our room was very nicely decorated--it seemed to be newly remodeled. The bathroom had new fixtures. Felt more like a nice Hilton. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a free breakfast. The breakfast is similar to a Holiday Inn Express breakfast, but a little better with more variety. I do wish the omelets had been vegetarian (they contained ham) and I do wish they would use paper plates instead of Styrofoam. This hotel was a great find for us--an affordable but quality place to stay right downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larus-glaucescens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My wife and I took a long weekend trip to Chicago. We arrived via Amtrak at Union Station. The Hampton Inn Majestic Theater was about a 15 minute walk from Union Station. The main attraction that we wanted to see was the Art Institute of Chicago. The Art Institute was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The Chicago Auto Show was also going on while we were there, so we caught a free shuttle to the auto show from one of the downtown parking garages which was about 10 minutes from the hotel. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The valet staff would open the door for you and help you with your bags onto the elevator. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were quiet and beds were soft. There are only 9 rooms per floor, so it was almost like having a whole floor to yourself. The breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles and assorted cereals, fruit and muffins.

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for someone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of some of the larger hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

...Arrived later than expected, the valet attendant was extremely helpful in telling a great place to eat, considering it was 11p, check-in was smooth...The room was beautiful & romantic, very tastefully done...Loved that you needed your room key to access "your" floor and it only could access that floor, ice machine was one floor down (I was on the 19th fl)..My only complaint(s): 1.valet moves a little slow but we found out, that if call ahead 10-15 mins, your car is ready, 2. the breakfast area is a little small but you can always take your back to the room...Overall, I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I wanted to say thanks for sharing your experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing