We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room For Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Big Room For Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed my stay. On check in I received a list of 45 recommended restaurants in order of blocks from the hotel then the clerk highlighted 12 of them that she especially liked without being asked. The rooms start 5 stories up and you need your key to get to them so they are more secure and quieter than ones lower down. The hotel is just off the red subway line inside the loop.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
e10750law ,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at The Hampton Majestic. I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I know exactly which girl that was.We are very fortunate to have the team that we do! I am glad to hear that we were able to make your experience a memorable one. Hopefully we get the opportunity to host you again in the future. Have a nice weekend!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    561
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
569
563
128
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. Close to most everything. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. Only complaint is the breakfast room could be a little bigger. But I don't think they could make it any bigger if they wanted to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnklea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am sorry that the breakfast area small. Our historic Majestic Building was built in 1905 & has some gorgeous architecture. Because the building is over 105 years old, large floor layouts were not possible with building technologies of the early 1900s. We would love to have our breakfast area larger, but our breakfast area takes up the entirety of our 4th floor. While it can get crowded, we do try our staff keep the line moving at the highest efficiency as possible during these busy times. For those looking to avoid the crowds, we suggest to enjoy breakfast before 8:30am. We also provide trays so that ours guests may enjoy breakfast in the comfort of their room.

Thank you for your feedback & we look forward to hosting you at the Hampton Majestic the next time you are in Chicago.


Ross Guthrie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Chicago for a family wedding. It happened to be the same weekend as Taste of Chicago, so many hotels had already booked full. Through Hilton Honors we were connected with this charming hotel. It is connected to the Bank of America Theatre (we took in a matinee of "The Last Ship") and within walking distance of Amtrak, great restaurants, the parks, the Art Institute, shopping and more! Our room was clean, the service staff were friendly and professional. Everyone worked to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed on an upper floor and the view of the skyscrapers was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrTrish49068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
DrTrish49068 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Hampton Majestic! I am happy to hear that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Chicago for a family wedding. Finding our hotel to be "charming" is a great compliment, thank you so much. We strive each and every day to go above guest expectations and make each individual feel at home while with us. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to The Hampton Majestic in the future. Enjoy your weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Perfect location in Chicago's Theatre District, close to all the sites. The staff was amazingly helpful. I called to tell them that our Amtrak train was 6 hours late, and the girl offered to put together a bag of snacks and waters for our arrival. Another staff person offered to help me to my room with my breakfast tray. All of the staff we talked to were knowledgable of restaurants and the area and able to give detailed information. Fantastic restaurants within a couple of blocks. We were also amazed at how quiet our room was for being in the middle of downtown Chicago. The price is a little steep in high season (summer), but we thought it was worth it. We are staying here again in December. Our only complaint is that there was no refrigerator/microwave in the room, which, for the price, we felt there should have been.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Annette H ,

All of us here at The Hampton Majestic appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience. We are happy to see that our location was prime for you. Also, even though it didn't surprise me its great to hear such lovely comments in regards to our team here at the hotel. Each and every individual I feel truly enjoys being here. This is what makes our team so unique and special, we are like a family and we like to treat each guest as if they are at our own home. Glad you got the chance to experience some new restaurants in the area as well. Chicago is a wonderful city and we look forward to hosting you again in December. Have a great weekend!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I, along with our four kids, recently spent a few days at the Hampton Inn Majestic. We were on a cross-country road trip and stayed in over ten other hotels during the trip. This hotel ranked as the family's favorite of them all. Here's why: 1) Location - you can walk to Millennium Park, the Natural History Museum, the Art Institute and Willis Tour, for starters. Note: we like to walk, so you might think these places are far from the hotel. We have four kids under the age of eight, so if we/they can do it, so can you! 2) Rooms: High ceilings, large windows, clean, quiet... what else can you ask for. 3) Breakfast: A better than standard comp breakfast, with more than enough to satisfy our picky kids. 4) Service: Without question the best front-desk service I have ever had. I travel very frequently for business and have experienced the good and bad of service. The staff at the Hampton went above and beyond to accommodate the kids. We setup shop in the eating area to eat some deep-dish pizza and watch a movie. The staff offered the kids popcorn, drinks, etc... The kids felt so special to be able to watch Frozen in the hotel. I can't thank the staff enough. Here are two potential negatives about the property, but you need to be creative to see that they are not. 1) No pool... no problem. If you are traveling with kids walk down to Millennium Park and have them play in the fountain. 2) Valet parking is $55. Okay. So don't valet your car. Go to one of the half dozen lots within a few blocks of the property and save some coin. If you've read any of my previous reviews you will know that I ranked the Palmer House as my favorite downtown Chicago property. Not no more! I will be a loyal patron of the Hampton until they give me reason not to be. In fact, I will be spending the next few nights there on business travel. I'm looking forward to it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeepyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Jeepyg ,

I remember you and your lovely family! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! We appreciate all your compliments and are happy to hear we gained you as a returning guest for your future trips to Chicago. I have a very adorable picture of the girls with Maggie (The Majestic Mut) watching Disney's Frozen in the lobby. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you are interested in a copy of the picture. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! You all enjoy your weekend ahead!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
312.395.9225
srice@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was a great value and we would definitely stay there again. The room was always clean, there was no noise from the other guests or street noise. We were looking for a room that held 5 guests that was somewhat centrally located and not expensive, this hotel fit the bill. We walked to Shedd, Navy Pier, etc and while it was quite a hike when spending all day walking around museums, it was definitely doable. We weren't eager to use a cab so we lugged our suitcases to and from Union Station with no issues. The breakfast was good with lots of choices. The staff was nice, very friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Sara S ,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. Im happy to hear that you were able to see the museums and Navy Pier as they are close to our hotel. We strive each day to provide our guests with exceptional service andit's nice to hear that our staff continues to do this. We look forward to the day we get to welcome you back ! Have a wonderful weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here not knowing a thing about Chicago. The hotel is historic yet the rooms are modern and fun. Room was clean and spacious. Free breakfast was excellent. Front desk, concierge and housekeeping were kind and helpful in many ways. Close to all things and great restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
varneykr,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while visiting our beautiful city. The history behind our property is which makes our Hampton Inn unique and very different from the rest, not to mention the prime location! I am happy to hear that the staff, cleanliness of the hotel and breakfast were above your expectations. We do our very best to ensure guests feel completely at home while joining us. We appreciate you passing the kind words along to others and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Enjoy the weekend!

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing