We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #27 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
PERTH, Australia
1 review
“BINGO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Picked from trip advisor. Arrived wondering. Left very pleased. Location, service and value very tops. Staff happy to assist us with tours, maps and directions. Happily put up with my whacky Aussie humour(attempt0. Well done Hampton Inn Chicago

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Joan F ,

Thank you so much for your review! All of us here at The Hampton Inn Majestic appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very lucky to have the team that we do. We all strive to go above and beyond our guests expectations and I am happy to read that we are doing that. We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to our lovely city. Have a great week!

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    534
    77
    21
    8
See reviews for
511
530
123
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Hampton Inn is in a great spot in Chicago. The staff is great. It's pretty "no frills", but I understand the hotel is getting a face lift early next year. Room was fine. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of things to eat. The gym was modest with two treadmills and two other machines and some weights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Donald W ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here with us at The Hampton Majestic. I am very excited to say YES we are getting a "face lift" very soon with room renovations. We hope you can visit us in the near future to see the changes we will be making. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Hampton Inn Majestic every month for over two years. The staff is the best you will encounter at any hotel, including other Hampton Inns. I always feel welcome and look forward to my stay. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. Close to many nice restaurants, Willis Tower, Millennium Park, museums and others. The Miracle Mile is just across the river. If staying at this property, I suggest an even number room. The view is of an adjoining rooftop, but away from the street noise (sirens).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Steven P ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experiences here with us at The Hampton Majestic. It is our job to ensure that every guest feels as welcomed as you have mentioned. We are very fortunate to have such a warm and welcoming team here, which makes all the difference. I will be sure to pass along all your kind words to the rest of my team members. See you soon!

Graciously
,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, TN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Hampton Majestic is located jn the heart of Chicago which makes the highlights of this beautiful city readily accessible (within walking distance). There is a large variety of restaurants for all types of food, Michigan Avenue for shopping, and Mellinium Park for Nature in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Roland D,

All of us here at The Hampton Majestic want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time. As you mentioned we are in the "heart" of Chicago. The loop is a great area for many things such as dining, shopping, etc. We hope you get to visit us in the warmer months to come. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Clean, well located and with a better-than-average breakfast buffet. At the reception desk you can pick up an already prepared brown bag carry out if you can't stay for breakfast. Efficient, friendly staff too. Good value for the money and location. Would happily stay there again.

Just a couple of doors west of State Street and diagonally (NW) across the street from the Palmer House, the hotel has views of the former Carson Pirie Scott department store (Louis Sullivan). The 1904 Majestic Building was designed as a mixed use office building and theater. The public spaces of the hotel have been refurbished and guest rooms have been entirely renovated. The theater also has been restored to its former glory.

Note that parking in the Loop is expensive, especially if you use valet service.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook State Street, especially if you're interested in architecture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Rose1920,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at The Hampton Majestic. We are happy to hear that you will be joining us again, maybe even when the weather gets nice. Chicago is just beautiful in the spring/summer months; giving you an opportunity to explore outdoors a little more! Thank you again, look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent a week at the Hampton Majestic with our college-aged kids and found that the Hampton Majestic fit our needs incredibly well. The hotel is right off State Street, near great shopping, the Art Institute, Millennium Park, theaters and handy public transportation. Breakfast was standard Hampton fare--nothing fancy, but edible and a quick way to start the day and get on our way to exploring Chicago. Rooms were comfortable, staff was friendly, and it was nice to grab a cup of hot tea on the way up to the room in the afternoon after a long day out in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Susan M ,

All of us here at The Hampton Majestic appreciate you taking the time to write us a nice review on your recent experience. We are happy to hear that you got the opportunity to explore the city. Our location makes it very convenient to see so much! You also mentioned handy transportation. Yes! This is a plus. With Chicago being as big as it is,"handy" transportation as you mentioned is exactly right! We are located very close to all major bus stops and train lines for local attractions, and even to either Midway airport or Ohare airport. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the near future. Thank you, again!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times and will return, although this time the lobby was even more crowded at breakfast, the breakfast items were not refreshed timely, and the first room we had was next to a noisy birthday group. The staff however is wonderful and addressed any concerns quickly. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martha706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Martha706 ,

All of us here at The Hampton Majestic want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We also want to thank you for your loyality to this particular property. All your kind words will be addressed to the team along with the constructive criticism you mentioned about breakfast. Since your experience in November, we have improved the breakfast menu and made other adjustments. We appreciate all that you mentioned. We look forward to hosting you again!

Graciously,
Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,395 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing