We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent staff and location!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First, I would like say that it was so easy to take a train from the airport to 1/2 block from the hotel. As soon as we arrived, the staff were so friendly and helpful! There were delicious cookies and fruits waiting for us. Complimentary breakfast was great! It is so easy to walk anywhere in the city if you enjoy doing that from the hotel. You can also jump on a bus or subway within a 1/2 block of hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure! The rooms were cleaning and the beds were so comfortable to sleep on. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
ATripAdvisorMember,
Thank you for your kind review on the Hampton Inn Majestic. We are so pleased to hear that you had a terrific experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our property. We are so proud of the staff we have here as each staff memeber makes a personal impact with our guests. We strive to exceed every guest's expercations and seeing your review assures us that we are all accomplishing just that. Please feel free to contact me directly when your travels bring you back to the Chicagoland area so we can meet.

Graciously,
Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    549
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
536
547
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this boutique-like hotel! Its location is perfect for sight-seeing, and the hotel staff and rooms were top-notch. True to the Hampton reputation, breakfast was always good--nice variety and hot items included daily. We went to the Majestic Theater, and what a surprise it was to simply walk from the hotel's ground floor into the theater's lobby! Close to museums, Willis Tower, and superb restaurants. There is no restaurant, but there were dozens of affordable, high-quality options within walking distance. There is no swimming pool, but we didn't spend much time at the hotel due to all the sight-seeing opportunities.

Room Tip: Because this hotel is in a downtown building, there is no traditional lobby. It's almost like an...
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciated the fact that we could re-use our towels and save energy on laundry. We also asked that our sheets only be laundered upon our check-out, and that request was honored.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
DeniseS,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for being a loyal member of Hampton and we certainly appreciate your kind words about the Hampton Inn Majestic. I am happy to hear that you were able to visit the attractions we are conveniently located to. For next time so you are aware we don't have a restaurant as you mentioned but we do have room service provided by the Italian Village which is just half a block west of the property. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to the Chicagoland area. Please contact me directly so I can introduce myself to you on your next visit. I look foward to meeting you.

Sincerely,

Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was wonderful, and the staff excellent. Pleased with the room and location. Good dinning options within walking distance. Shopping is close on State Street and Michigan Ave. Nice area for breakfest and perfect hotel if going to Book of Morman.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
JohnB,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hampton Inn Majestic. As you stated we are conveniently located next door to the Bank Of America Theatre and within walking distance to several places to dine along with shop. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to the Chicagoland area.

Best reguards,

Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights after reading great reviews.
Good: location-attached to Book of Mormon theatre and 1/2 block to state street. free breakfast-oatmeal was great. maids was very friendly.
Bad: very small-rooms are average size, but the hotel itself is small. an old narrow office building. a bit rundown-hole is shower curtain of adjoining room.
Weirdest thing about this hotel is all the signs posted saying that they change sheets and duvets. Well, I hope so.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okaynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
okaynay ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us here at The Hampton Majestic. We appreciate all your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are excited to say that we are in the middle of room renovation which will give the rooms a larger feel to them as they will be brighter. We hope you get the chance to stop in soon to see the changes we have made. Enjoy your weekend.

Sincerely,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Majestic four nights in August 2013. The location is excellent, right next door to the Bank of American Theater (formerly the Shubert/Majestic Theater) in the Chicago Loop half a block from State Street on Monroe. All the downtown theaters are within walking distance as is the lake front and the train stations. The building is old but has been renovated. The rooms all look brand new and they are comfy. The room rates come with the usual free breakfast that I expect from Hampton Inns. The people at the front desk are very helpful, they know how to get to just about any of the tourist spots via the CTA.

While we were there I lost my cell phone in a cab. The cabbie returned it to the hotel and one of the hotel managers called and personally arranged for me to get it back.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
WilliamT,
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at the Hampton Inn Majestic. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how nice everything was for you. We are happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come back down to the city.

Best reguards,

Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the Hampton Majestic Chicago for a conference in Palmer House. Since we booked late, Palmer House only had smoking rooms available – which is a “no no”. Central Reservation recommended Hampton Majestic which is just one block across from Palmer House. Staff at the Hampton Majestic was extremely friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade to the largest room on the 20th floor. Breakfast is free and includes my favourite waffle maker. Internet is free too and reasonable fast. VPN access is not a problem.
We were very happy to stay at the Hampton Majestic because at the conference, we saw many people who actually booked early and got rooms at Palmer House (which is also part of the Hilton group) that were very disappointed with Palmer House for a number of reasons:
Firstly, Palmer House had no coffee maker in their rooms – very unusual for American Hotels. Hampton Majestic has coffee machines in the rooms.
Secondly, they had to pay for internet access. This is free at Hampton Majestic
Thirdly, some of the rooms in Palmer House were very noisy because the Chicago loop train runs almost next to their windows. Again, this is not a problem at Hampton Majestic, which is very quiet (of course, there is no way to no hear the fire engines when they are out on the street.
So, all in all, we had a very pleasant experience at Hampton Majestic and were happy that Palmer House was already fully booked. And another good thing about Hampton Majestic: it’s right next to the Bank of America Theatre (connected through a glass door), and we actually managed to get tickets for the (nearly) sold out Book for Mormon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
bpo-spam,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Hampton Inn Majestic, Chicago Theatre District. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you with all that we have to offer at our property. Glad you got to take advantage of the Bank Of America Theatre to take in a show as well. We look forward to servicing you again the next time your travels bring you to the Chicagoland area.

Sincerely,

Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was my wife and my second stay at the Majestic; and we enjoyed both. The rooms we stayed in were very comfortable, and the staff was helpful and attentive. Complimentary coffee/tea is available all day. A hot breakfast is included in the room charge. It was fine but a bit "vanilla". The hotel is located inside the "Loop" and is convenient to the subway, museums, restaurants, Millennium Park, and some shopping (the "Magnificent Mile" is a 20+ minute walk or a 5-10 minute cab ride). The only downside was parking - (to us) it was a bit $$, though comparable to a couple of other hotels we had considered. Also it's valet parking - we could get our car whenever you wanted, but were asked to let the attendants know we needed it 15-20 minutes in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psjdk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
psjdk77,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn Majestic. We are pleased you chose our hotel for the second time while visiting the Chicagoland area. Your kind words is much appreciated. Based upon availiability and occupancy we do have a stay and park package that is offered. It would bring the valet slightly down. Pleaes contact me directly the next time your travels bring you to the area so I can assit you. Thank you, again.

Sincerely,

Samantha Rice
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,610 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing