We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Value in Chicago's Theatre District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #22 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value in Chicago's Theatre District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We selected this hotel for its location 1/2 block from our event, and for its convenience features such as microwave and refrigerator in the room and free breakfast. We were torn between staying here or at the Palmer House which was where our event was located. The Hampton Inn was perfect! The desk staff was great, the room was lovely and clean, the doormen were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good, and we had everything we needed. I highly recommend this hotel! The Palmer House is fabulous and everyone there was friendly and helpful but you will pay extra for every little thing. Still, at either hotel, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: The special King room with sofa bed is very spacious, well appointed, and has a microwave and mini r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Twintravelers,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. It sounds like you truly had a great experience all the way around and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    493
    69
    16
    8
See reviews for
431
484
121
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The main reason I chose the Hampton Majestic is because of it's location - I was traveling solo and was going to see The Book of Mormon at the Bank of America Theatre next door. The theatre and the hotel are connected - you don't have to go outside to enter the theatre.

I arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am. The lady at the front desk, Brandi (?), was very friendly and helpful. I was able to check in immediately. The room was renovated and clean. I had also requested feather free bedding and the hotel had honored that request.

The hotel is situated downtown in the theatre district. There are many dining options within a block or two. I walked to Michigan Avenue to the Art Institute which took no more than 10 minutes. There are numerous drug stores and department stores (Macy's, Target, Nordstrom) within a few short blocks. I didn't need to ride the subway but noticed the red line and blue line were close by.

Guests of the hotel receive free wifi in their room. In addition, the hotel serves a complimentary hot breakfast from 6 am to 10 am.

Overall, a very good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Hampton Majestic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaPhxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
BhamBound,

Thank you for such a great review! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your experience at our hotel and also in our lovely city. We love being right here in the loop/Theatre District. Everything is so easy to get too and there is so much to do! Brandi was so pleased to read your kind words. We are very lucky to have her on our team.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about my stay here. The staff was kind, courteous, and very helpful. The location was more than convenient.

A couple of highlights:
The valet parking is fast and courteous.
The young lady who was at the desk when we checked in was very nice and extremely helpful as we planned how we would get around the city.
The continental breakfast is nice and the facilities are clean.
The hotel is within walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions, including the Art Institute, and there is a bus stop right around the corner.
The room was clean. The elevator was clean. The bathroom was clean.

I would definitely stay here again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The higher the better (to avoid street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Satwhy,

We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. Thank you for the recomendations and we can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here 4 years ago and rebooked for a last minute business trip. I think the hotel has improved quite a bit. Checkin/out was a breeze especially considering they were doing some work in lobby--seemed to be a quick upgrade or repair. It just steps to the blue line so you can take the train from O'Hare and save yourself $50-60 bucks. I personally am not a fan of the Hampton Inn breakfast as compared to its sister chain Homewood Suites but it is certainly serviceable. And there is coffee, tea and cocoa available all day...fruit too. It is close to shopping and a few good places to eat. Room service comes from a restaurant, just so you know. The only caveat is Iwas given a restaurant list upon checkin from the nice guy at the front desk who said, "They are all really good!" That wasn't my experience. One place was great and one was really not great. So maybe do your own research about where to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromNYto?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
FromNYto?,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I will certainly take a second look at our Restaurant Guide to ensure we are only passing along the best of the best for our guests when it comes to food options. We love hearing about our guests experiences in our beautiful city and use all of them to help guide future guests towards the best places to experience while visiting.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very convenient, clean, close to theatre, shopping etc. The staff- Brandi et al were awesome and helped with arranging airport shuttle service and answering all my questions about the area. Best of all we were a door away from Book of Mormon. (You can even sneak up to the lobby and use the restroom there instead of having to wait at the theatre's long lines at intermission!). rooms are clean, chic and valet is helpful and friendly with taxis and storing luggage after we checked out and waiting for our shuttle. def will come back! alley right next door is where actors from Mormon come out- have your sharpee ready!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
bellcats,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I took a pleasure trip to Chicago to see blues great Buddy Guy and a Second City show, and the Hampton Inn Majestic was once again a wonderful experience (we had been there the previous July to see a taping of the NPR radio show Wait Wait Don't Tell Me at the nearby Chase Auditorium). The location is perfect, convenient to all sorts of downtown activities. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, and the rooms (while not huge) are stylish and very well maintained. This is our #1 Chicago hotel destination because of its great location, outstanding value and laid-back atmosphere. It has a wonderfully relaxed and welcoming feel that's unusual for a downtown hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Kent B,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business
and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good location next to a theater and a block away from two different "L" lines. nice size rooms for a downtown hotel, very good rate for when I stayed. Lobby was under construction but did not impeded to breakfast. Security was good and helpful. I would stay there again

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NormDonRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
NormDonRick,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#18 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing