We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #22 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

When I book a hotel I am looking for a cenvenient location and a nice, clean room. The Hampton Inn Majestic met or exceeded my expectations. The room was modern, nice and clean. The location was excellent, right near shops and dining options. The service was wonderful. We arrived about three hours before check in and planned on shopping until the room was ready. Our daughter (2) was in need of a nap but we figured it would not be possible. The staff had a room ready and we were able to check in and get that nap in. I was thrilled and surprised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Jennifer B,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. I am so glad to hear that early check in was available for you and your family! It sounds like your overall experience was wonderful and that is what we strive for!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    493
    69
    15
    8
See reviews for
431
484
121
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Hampton Majestic Chicago Theater District is a great hotel. It is centrally located (especially if you are attending an event at the much higher priced, smaller-room, not-so-good service Palmer House which is a half-block away) and provides a great room, serviced and very reasonable price. The hotel is small, but rooms are large and comfortable. A bit different with burnt orange walls in the rooms, the hotel has a cozy feel to it. Our room on the 6th floor was quiet, despite being on Monroe Street. Breakfast in the morning has a nice selection of hot and cold food and drinks, but the seating area for breakfast is a bit small in the lobby. All in all, the Hampton Majestic Theater District is the place to stay for comfort, easy of getting around and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
tewks,

I just wanted to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the product and service we give our guests. It sounds like you had a great experience with us and truly enjoyed your trip!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff, location, value, comfort - this property has it all. Excellent concierge staff for suggestions and friendly doormen as you go by.

Easy walking distance (200 yards) to both the Blue and Red line subway stations. This means you can travel in from O'Hare for $4.50 (two time s2.25) or $40 in a cab and watch the sites.

Breakfast is fair fare and other spots just out the door, no shortage of course for full dining.Don't miss the deliscious (complimentary) cookies available as late afternoon snack with tea or coffee. Easy log-in to free WiFi. Great bed, comfortable sized seating and desk, well lit.

Room Tip: Find out if high school or college kids are around - ones we saw were very polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeValera15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
DeValera15,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. We love to hear the word Excellent! It sounds like you had an amazing experience with us and we can't wait to welcome you back!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiancé and I recently stayed in this hotel for our first trip to Chicago. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. We stayed on a top floor and got a decent enough view (tall building next door blocks almost everything but we still had a pretty view) I loved the dark decor - the wall color and lighting were perfect - not dark to a dungeon feel but romantic and if I needed more light (for doing my makeup ect) I used the bathroom. Great high Ceilings. Everything was spotless! I'm pretty picky about feeling clean in a hotel and our room was as comfortable as my bedroom at home ! My fiancé and both agreed even with a pillowtop mattress at home it was the most comfortable bed we ever slept in !

The staff was always very polite - ecspecially the door men. They would grab us cabs, ask us about our day, and recommended us to an amazingly fun piano bar called Howl at the Moon where we had a blast! Although it was a lot of walking - we made it to the Navy Pier, the Tower and to the aquarium - so it's do-able!

My only very small complaint was we checked in very late and the front desk didnt give us much info before we got out keys - like they had a gym which we would have liked to have taken advantage of.

When traveling to and from the airport use the blue line train - it's only $2.50 and saved us a lot of money ! I do wish we would have had a better map of the trains stops and locations because we did take a cab every night to and from dinner.

Overall we had no worries and no problems the place was great and clean and has a variety of breakfast food :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murph0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Murph0904,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. "No worries" & "no problems* are what we strive for! I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been staying at the Hampton Inn Majestic every month for the past 18 months due to my employment. The quality of service, rooms, and breakfast items are consistantly excellent. The entire staff always makes me feel welcome and go out of their way to ensure my stays are comfortable and enjoyable. The location is fantastic - just a block or two from Berghoff's, Miller's Pub and other outstanding restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22WindyCityWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
22WindyCityWarrior,

We love hearing from our Windy City Warrior! Thanks for stopping back in on Trip Advisor to write another Great Review! We love having you with us and always look forward to welcoming you home each time! See you soon!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful place. The king suite with microwave and fridge is excellent. I got alot of work done and also had plenty of room to relax with a desk and a full couch. Staff is so friendly and remembers everything you discuss with them--like staying with friends. Each floor has only a few rooms so little noise from folks coming and going. Can't imagine a better place to stay downtown. Only thing that could be improved is the windows which don't block much sound.

Room Tip: King suite if you need extra room or like to keep snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosied8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
rosied8181,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words. Wonderful, Excellent and Great are words we love to hear! We can't wait to welcome you back for another Chicago Adventure!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location, breakfast included, VERY accommodating staff. I chose a bigger than normal room which was good, since we stayed for four days. It had a fold out couch. We didn't need the fold-out but the extra room and the couch were nice. The lobby is not on the ground floor which is a bit odd, sorta European. But the bellmen on the ground floor were always there as we came and went and were pleasant and helpful. The staff stored our luggage after check-out with no problem and we were sorry to leave. The price was right, too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side which we seldom do, because of noise. We didn't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
TxStar

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us and that we were the perfect choice!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#18 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing