We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great Lollapalooza location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Ranked #24 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great Lollapalooza location”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, both for Lollapalooza. It is a great location for the festival. My first experience was better than the second, although this visit was still great. My only complaint this time were that there was only one working elevator Friday night after the festival, and there was a very long wait with no access to floors by stairs. The breakfast area could use some more seating. The beds (and all Hampton beds) are very comfortable and the clean duvet covers are a huge bonus. The room size was great for a big city. We had four people with lots of luggage and it was enough room for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellar424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Stellar424,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am so glad to hear that you have chosen our hotel twice for your trips to Chicago! I know that we are in a great spot for the Lolla concerts but you do have multiple hotels to chose from and we are proud to have been that choice two years in a row! I am so sorry that there was an inconvenience in regards to the wait time for the elevators.

On a positive note, The Hampton Cloud Nine bedding is awesome! I am so glad you enjoyed the fresh duvet and size of the room! We pride ourselves on offering a clean, spacious room in a Downtown market.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you next year!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    549
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
536
547
124
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's true what most reviewers are saying: the location is fantastic. We walked to the Willis Tower (aka Sears Tower), Navy Pier, Millennium Park, etc., all from the hotel. You can't beat the spot. And the staff were wonderful. Always smiling and willing to help. However, the atmosphere seemed disorderly and fairly chaotic at times. Towels and sheets piled in a corner of our hotel floor elevator area. Breakfast was always insane, every morning. There weren't enough chairs for everyone eating (and many guests were rude about remaining in their seats when other folks needed a place to sit to eat). I perched several times on windowsills while trying to balance my food and drink. I was amazed how the staff were so cordial, when they seemed extremely busy, and frankly, under-staffed. Overall, a great location at a great price. Just don't expect any serenity during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyslicklizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Busyslicklizzy,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am glad to hear that you found our location to be ideal for your trip and also that our team was friendly and accommodating!

I am sorry that the breakfast area was crowded on the weekend that you visited us. Our historic Majestic Building was built in 1905 & has some gorgeous architecture. Because the building is over 100 years old, large floor layouts were not possible with building technologies of the early 1900s. We would love to have our breakfast area larger, but our breakfast area takes up the entirety of our 4th floor. While it can get crowded on busy weekends, we do try to keep the line moving at the highest efficiency as possible.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice for my family, including grand children. Access to our automobiles was important because we needed wheels for sight-seeing since our group included a stroller and three other kids under 6. Valet was prompt and helpful. Desk personnel were friendly and courteous. A minor issue with the TV (while watching the olympics) was fixed promptly. The rooms were clean and neat. Housekeepping staff was accommodating with the extra towels, etc. that we needed for our group.
Delicious breakfast was included, but McD's just down the block, coffee shop just across the street, Target right around the corner; what else do you need? Steak house? Grill Room (Steakhouse) across the street. Fantastic.
This hotel will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Rick S,

Not 1 "Great" but 3! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your experience at the hotel and in our wonderful city. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

One of the best hotels that I have stayed at. Excellent service and great downtown location. I would stay there again and again and again. It is in the Theatre District, close to Millenium Park and a lots of activities for couples and families to enjoy. All the staff was extremely friendly and greeted you with a smile. The front desk team made changes to my reservations at no charge as we had missed our flight even though they could have charged me for a night.The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Shah49,

Wow, thank you for this shining review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it! We love hearing the words; awesome, excellent, and extremely friendly! Our team could not ask for anything more as we all strive to make every guests experience as wonderful as yours! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great hotel-great location-great service-great amenities. We were there at a busy time and they managed to serve a great breakfast, respond to our requests quickly and always with a smile. They were very helpful with questions about transit and attractions. The fresh fruit at their breakfast was above par compared to other Hampton Inn locations and they were never out of coffee. The room we had (21st floor) was large with tall ceilings and in very good condition. There were plenty of towels when we arrived...didn't even have to ask for extras. Inside "the Loop", the location is close to trains to the airport and the beautiful waterfront as well as many historic sites and close to the Miracle Mile. With 3 elevators we didn't wait long to go up/down.

Room Tip: Ice on every other floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
LoveToTravelwith5,

Wow! We could not ask for a better review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I have passed your review along to my entire team and they were so thankful for your kind words.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This room sleeps and looks great, but its the stuff thst you don't normally think about as the average person that was annoying. 1) the room was dark, and by dark I mean gothic almost. Deep red finishes, black furniture, and dark red curtains made the room feel very small. Just not my thing.
2) the desk was almost 3" too high for me and I couldnt adjust the weird non-ergonomic chair any higher. It was maxed out. Taller than normal desk, but if you have a long torso you might like that. The chair, while stylish, was not comfortable.
3) no full sized ironing board. This may be because I had a wheelchair accessible room, but if not they need to fix that. There was really no good place to put the tiny ironing board to use it.

Everything else was great- nice clean hotel, modern furnishings, friendly staff, and decent water pressure in the shower. If it were less expensive I would stay here again, but its not worth the $230ish rate. Probably more like a $160-180 a night place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Threefourteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Threefourteen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of our property. However, I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you!

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and found the location perfect for us. Walking distance to Art Institute and a bit of a farther trek to Sears tower and Navy Pier which we didn't mind:) The breakfast was very good with fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels,etc. and we found the staff very friendly. Room was very nice with the high ceilings and found them very clean and the beds comfy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eLisabeth92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighann L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
eLisabeth92,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your trip and we are so glad to hear it! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfy! I will make sure to pass along your kind words to our Housekeeping team.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn Majestic, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the Best,

Leighann LaVelle
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,610 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District

Property: Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Address: 22 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel located in the heart of the Chicago Theatre District, our 135 well-appointed guest rooms offer travelers the Hampton experience that is known throughout the hospitality industry for giving guest a fantastic experience with Hamptonality. Our boutique style hotel offers a sophisticated blend of historic Chicago & cosmopolitan flair. While the Majestic Building’s original 1906-style architecture still embodies elements of its rich history, the hotel’s amenities are tailored for the 21st-century traveler. All our rooms are nonsmoking & feature complimentary internet access & our signature “Clean & Fresh” bed. Start your day with our complimentary “Hampton on the House” hot breakfast. Offered daily, our delicious, self-serve hot breakfast features a rotating hot item including all of your morning favorites from eggs, bacon or sausage. Each day you can enjoy make-your-own fresh waffles, cereals & pastries, seasonal fruit, juice & freshly brewed coffee.Our helpful staff looks forward to making your experience in Chicago a great one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Majestic Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing