We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected....”

Guaranteed Rate Field
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Chicago Sports Tour
More Info
$151.30*
and up
Chicago Helicopter Tour Nighttime Experience
Ranked #47 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than I expected....”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On approaching US Cellular field, I wasn't too excited about going in, however this field is far better on the inside than it appears on the outside. It was just a shame at the lack of support from White Sox fans. I've never been to a Baseball field where the home fans were so quiet and also for there to be SOOOO many empty seats.

Concessions around the field are great, lots of choice and reasonable prices. Unfortunately the wait for some of the concessions is ridiculous meaning you miss a whole innings just trying to get a coffee!!

Easy access to this field from the CTA or ample parking facilities and very well designed stadium, definitely worth a visit to catch a game in Chicago

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMcSprent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    292
    120
    37
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a game”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very friendly ushers at this ball park. I really thought it was a great venue for a baseball game. It did not appear that there were any seats with obstructed views and it was a very modern facility. Easy transportation by CTA that takes you right to the park from downtown.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank REDSOXROCK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Iconic”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

OK dependent of which part of Chicago you live in, depends on you opinion on which team you support. However its an impressive stadium and if you can get tickets to see the White sox play its even better. But if you're not going to see a game and want to visit a stadium then head to the other end of town and visit Wriggly field. Sorry guy's but its true!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TMC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic stadium in a bad neighborhood”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I went to a White Sox game at US Cellular simply to see the stadium in my quest to see all MLB stadiums. It is a fairly basic stadium, and it's nothing that is going to wow you. Take the subway from downtown, and get off at the stadium stop. Walk to the stadium. Walk back to the subway. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Do not walk anywhere else haha. The neighborhood is not really safe, but if you're going to the game and back, you'll be fine. The train ride home gets crowded though. I could take or leave this stadium! Only go if it's your only chance to see your favorite team, which I hope is not the White Sox.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
“Some weak reception at US Celluar Field....”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The lack of atmosphere at US Celluar definitely hurts the overall experience. The empty feeling is only exacerbated by the general lack of effort put out by the White Sox. I will say the food choices are excellent. There is something for just about anyone. The area around US Celluar is a bit sketchy and I went to a day game! I'd been a lot more nervous if it had been at night. The lack of signage at the exits makes it difficult to know where to go to get back to the L train. I was directed by staff to go down "that path", which is behind a building. Just sketchy. I also found the historical displays were not as strong as other parks I have attended. I just wish the confines were a little more friendly at US Celluar, maybe it would encourage more people to come out on a more regular basis.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guaranteed Rate Field also viewed

 

Been to Guaranteed Rate Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing