We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Customer ”
Review of Eleven City Diner

Eleven City Diner
Order Online
Ranked #40 of 11,259 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Old School Diner, Delicatessen serving Breakfast ALL DAY. Full Bar, home brew Root Beer and Local Beers on Tap, Antique Soda fountian serving up all the ice cream malts and milkshake creations. Serious Bloody Marys and Mimosas . Cakes & Desserts to-die-for. Stacked Corned Beef & Pastrami delicatessen sandwiches, LOX & Bagels, Matzo Ball soup is insanley amazing , Steak Burgers/REAL Turkey Burgers... Get in here !!!!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’d go so far as to say, a must do in Chicago, at least for breakfast. Fantastic, varied menu, much of which is traditional in the delicatessen style. Large portions and all made fresh to order. That includes drinks and desserts too.

The decor is an endless array of knick knacks to occupy our eyes while you await your meal. It really brings charm to the place, as most of the decor is old or classic. There’s a small store at the front too selling vintage candy, souvenirs, and even a deli counter featuring some of the wares made onsite.

It’s a very well run establishment with efficient staff taking orders, delivering food, and clearing tables quickly for the next guests. We arrived shortly after opening on a Sunday and it was already hopping. By the time we left, there were dozens waiting outside for their tables.

Truly a unique experience and worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Canada27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

YEA CANADA !!! thank you for the very very kind words. I hope you felt the Chicago hospitality during your visit !!!! thank you sincerely ...... Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place, friendly environment. Good food in large enough plates, that you could share...after 10am they started serving drinks, mimosas and bloodmaries. There is a waiting time that could reach 30-40min after 10am, but they try the best to find a place to you quickly.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank rauldomingues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for patiently waiting . We know its brutal sometimes . We wish we had more seats !!!! Hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food, extensive menu, reasonable prices, located near Michigan Avenue and museums. We shall return.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BillM551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Yea !!! Thank you !!! See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First let me say the the staff were exceptional. I had lunch and breakfast the next day here and the only nit picky thing I can say is that the scrambled eggs were evidently done in a blender. That whips air into them leaving limitless flavor but the rest of the breakfast was delicious. Now to the lunch. I ordered a pastrami sandwich - which looked like a regular old pastrami sandwich but oh the flavor! I intend to try to get back to this place one more time before I leave Chicago. Oh - did I mention that the root beer is to die for? Don’t miss this place.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank gvillegatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Right on . Thank you for the very kind words.......we must admit the root beer is an obsession of ours ... thank you thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an early dinner w/a six year old. It was a fun menu w/lots of variety. Very reasonable. Our grandson had “breakfast for dinner” with a Mickey pancake. It was great!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dgkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you thank you !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eleven City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing