We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping place!”
Review of Eleven City Diner

Eleven City Diner
Order Online
Ranked #17 of 11,031 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Old School Diner, Delicatessen serving Breakfast ALL DAY. Full Bar, home brew Root Beer and Local Beers on Tap, Antique Soda fountian serving up all the ice cream malts and milkshake creations. Serious Bloody Marys and Mimosas . Cakes & Desserts to-die-for. Stacked Corned Beef & Pastrami delicatessen sandwiches, LOX & Bagels, Matzo Ball soup is insanley amazing , Steak Burgers/REAL Turkey Burgers... Get in here !!!!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The south loop is growing fast,but this diner grounds it with classic diner/deli food. We were there for breakfast, and I tried classic eggs over medium. Perfectly cooked. Wife got lox and bagels, also very good. Busy place but well worth wait!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank H1096UYjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

Our group has 5 adults 2 kids (3 and 6 y/o) was looking for something informal yet good value. We are from Brooklyn and from Connecticut, we wanted to give Eleven City Diner a try. From the reviews, we wanted to experience this unique, and highly praised dinner. After trying the take out at night time, we went back the next day. Everything is delicious, the sandwiches are large and the kids love the pancake/eggs/sausage breakfast.You have to try this place, it makes me who comes from Brooklyn, and love a cornbeef sandwich so happy and proud.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank goplace42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I love it you came back a second time !!! seriously an honor with so many choices here in the city !!!! Thank you !!! Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

My wife and I were enjoying our vacation in Chicago, but decided that a light dinner might be a good idea because of the way we had been over eating. We headed for Eleven City to have sandwiches for dinner. Our light dinner consisted of the two largest and best Reuben sandwiches we have ever had. Served as an open faced sandwich because of the absurd quantities of high quality corned beef and pastrami. The server was great, the food was exceptional, and the shakes are not to be missed. So much for a light dinner. Not cheap and worth every penny.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This is a classic jewish diner. If you're used to oversized sandwiches with quality meats and good service, this place will be familiar.

Great pastrami, corned beef, matzoh ball soup, huge slabs of cake for dessert.

I need to lie down...

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Read the reviews and decided to check it out for Sunday brunch. Was very busy and had to wait 20mins for a table. Once seated service was very quick, food was great and the portion size was huge. Service was friendly, quick and everyone was smiling.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank sallydT3027AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abefrohmanChicago, Owner at Eleven City Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

thank you thank you thank you !!!!!! from all of us here at Eleven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eleven City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing