We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #44 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Will definitely come back”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We arrived a little early but we got one of our rooms right away and the other less than 2 hours later (still before normal check in time), and I believe the wait was only because we asked for two rooms in close proximity to eachother (got 1414 & 1416 - I prefer 1414, it felt slightly more spacious). Everything was just great, from the car service they use to the bath room products. And for a very reasonable price too.
We had to take our son to the ER while we were there and the guys at the door really made an effort getting us a cab quickly and making sure the driver knew where to take us.

Two minor hick-ups:
1. We asked for a crib, but never got one, but since the room had two large beds we never reminded them - our son would probably have ended up sleeping in our beds anyway.
2. I Got a call from front desk at 4.40 in the morning on the day of our departure, because apparently somone on the floor above (room 1515 irc) thought we were making too much noise. We weren't (we were sound asleep), and neither was anyone else in that section of the 14th floor. If they'd checked that first they wouldn't have had to call me and I would have gotten a much needed good night's rest before the flight home.

Nice interior, full wet bar (and a minibar), very good housekeeping. I actually liked not having a desk in the room - but then again I was on vacation.
WiFi included, might seem like a small thing, but I really cant stand it when hotels charge extra for an internet connection.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Primehouse) and enjoyed it - it is however a bit pricey. But, if you're travelling on a budget there's a Trader Joe's right across the street, a Whole Foods a few blocks northwest and another grocery store a few blocks southwest. There's even a McDonalds quite close.

Check out time was 2 pm, which meant we could keep our rooms until we left for the airport. Normally we have to ask for a late checkout or storage room for the bags at least, it was nice not to have to do that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Danielsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    868
    220
    89
    51
See reviews for
495
1,281
182
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newbridge
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

just back from Chicago and stayed 3 nights in the james. the hotel is truly excellent with a superb location whic is so central to everything. The check in was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quiet spacious for a city hotel room. I visited the spa and had an excellent massage which was just what I needed after a long days shopping. The bar in the James was always very busy but one could always get a drink, the bar staff are very attentive.
Overall I had a very enjoyable experience staying at te James and will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewbridgeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I stayed in a Deluxe King Suite. No desk to work at or to sit at to eat room service meals. The only table was coffee table height and the couch was some strange futon that was lower than the coffee table (!) and canted forward. Incredibly uncomfortable to sit at and ridiculous for room service meals or to work at computer. Since my room was configured like all the other Deluxe King Suites depicted in on line photos, I have to assume this design flaw with the couch/futon runs throughout the property. Bed was fine and bath was fine but I can't imagine why business travelers would rate this property well. The couch/futon seating is the worst I've encountered in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mczen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
mczen-

Thank you for your feedback regarding your room. I'm terribly sorry that this particular room configuration was not conducive to your needs. Sounds like you were in a Studio suite which is the only room type without a "dining niche" that is practical for both working and dining.

I will send you my contact information. If you would consider giving us another chance, I'd be happy to block you into a room that I'm confident will make your stay more productive.

Best.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, On
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel had it all, great location, fantastic staff and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The James makes you feel very pampered, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belletracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
belletracy-

Thank you! Can't wait to welcome you back!

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My first trip ever to Chicago ended with me staying here for 5 nights.

Great location right in the heart of everything, really comfy rooms that feel a little like home and great service.

I would whole heartidly recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
PaddiO-

Thank you for the kind words. We're glad you were comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back "home" soon!

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I travelled to Chicago for my 30th birthday girlfriends getaway. I booked The James through hotwire.com for a great rate of $124/night. The location was perfect...all the shopping and eating we did were within walking distance. We only drove to clubs. Speaking of driving, the parking rate was expensive which is to be expected in downtown Chicago. The service was impeccable from valet, to the front desk, to concierge. Housekeeping did leave the dirty towels we left of the bathroom floor to be removed when our room was cleaned. The beds were extremely comfortable as we found it easy to take naps and difficult to arise from them. We stayed in a standard double room with no view which wasn't a big deal. I don't know how i feel about the flat square sink but it was in sync with the style. The in room bar was very tempting as they provided martini glasses and a shaker. The flat screen was cool as well as the channel selections. We loved the seating nook in the room and found it easy to adjust the room temperature to our liking. I could tell that the walls were thin but we didn't have issues with noise. I definitely recommend staying if you can get the a great rate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAlwaysInWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
TripAlwaysinWork-

Happy Birthday! We glad that you spent it with us and thrilled that you had a comfortable stay! Thank you for all the kinds words. I am sorry about the towels and hope that this oversight was the only flaw in your celebration.

While some consider 30 a landmark birthday, we think all of them are special and hope that you celebrate 31, 32, 33 and more with us in Chicago!

Best

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Located a block off Michigan Avenue and few blocks from the CTA'a Red Line. Upscale rooms, beautifully decorated, high end bathroom products, housekeeping twice a day and can't miss the lobster bisque at the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjunquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
cjunquera,

Thank you for the kind review of the James. I am thrilled that you had a positive experience with us and while I'm biased, I couldn't agree more on the Lobster Bisque (also available through Room Service!)

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor nation.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,599 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Property: The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing