We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #43 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Stayed there three nights for a large annual conference in Chicago. A lot of people flock the city for this one. Happy to have tried it, will look for something else next time.

Good things: courteous staff; nice, clean well kept room (a suite); plenty of fine amenities; good wireless in rooms, steakhouse restaurant is worth the money

Bad things: breakfast service in restaurant was bad, took very long to get my order; my room at the end of the inner "courtyard" was dark, they were out of adaptors although this must be an annual issue with so many europeans visiting at once (Walgreens had a stock!) there is a smoking section in the hotel i had to walk through to get to my room, room were not noise proof, could hear other guests, wireless in the lobby did not work.

Personally: little too trendy, too little heart to be great.
Advice: if you do stay there, get a room on the outside, check if breakfast service is running normally, otherwise have either room service or go to another place for breakfast, DO check out the steakhouse, good service good food.

  • Liked — Some funky art, cleanliness
  • Disliked — dark room, breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cprm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 9, 2008
Dear cprm-

Thank you for your comments about the James. I appreciate the positive feedback as well as the constructive comments.

I apologize for the service issues at breakfast. During this convention, we experienced a high concentration of breakfast diners at the same time each day and have noted for next year's show.

Please feel free to contact me directly at phatton@jameshotels.com if you would like to discuss further. Rest asssured that your comments are heard and addressed.

Best.
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
The James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    869
    220
    89
    51
See reviews for
495
1,283
182
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Spent 7 nights in Chicago, 3 of those at James, was disappointed overall, probably as we spent first 4 nights at Sofitel. There was no comparisson, for starters it cost us considerably more for 3 nights at James compared to 4 nights in an amazing room at Sofitel Water Tower. Room at James was basic to say least, decor was dull, drap and boring throughout hotel. a few attempts to funk it up failed, there just was no theme or taste. Our biggest gripe is that we could not enjoy a hot shower during our stay, the water was tepid at best, staff said it was because they were at full capacity, just not good enough. We were to front of hotel where it was quite noisy. We were charged 8 dollar per bottle water left out each evening, perhaps a note should be left to advise this, very misleading and very expensive. On the plus, the door man was fantastic, helpful and friendly and turn down service was lovely, however considering all will not return, Sofitel Water Tower is miles ahead in every department.

  • Liked — Door man, turn down service
  • Disliked — Not being able to have a hot shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GalwaySpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed here for a bachelorette party and it was great. The rooms are big enough to hang out in - plus I love the bench seat that was in the room. They have Kiehl's products (reason why we chose the hotel). The location is awesome as it's only a block away from the Magnificent Mile and while we were there - a famous R&B singer was also staying there. If it's good enough for a celebrity... :) The el stop is about 2-3 blocks away - it's not a bad walk (Red Line - Grand stop)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreenStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I booked this hotel because of it's location and also because we wanted to bring our 70lb. bulldog with us. I found this hotel using dogfriendly.com, and they didn't disappoint! As soon as we pulled up the doorman had a dog biscuit ready for our pup. There was also food/water dishes already in the room.

The hotel was very nice and pleasant. My only complaints are very minor. There was no fridge in our room, not enough wastebaskets, and there was no bedside lamp.

Otherwise, the doormen and concierge were extremely helpful and very warm and friendly.

We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — lack of refridgerator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shiny-shiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Stayed on business. Was upgraded to a loft suite. Hotel was beautifully appointed, superbly located and dead sexy. Room was completely over the top with second "media bed" (large projection screen tv, dvd player, surround sound...bow chicka bow wow), great bath amenities, wet bar, etc etc. Also loved the lobby bar scene & food and service @ check in.

  • Liked — Style, Location, Suite
  • Disliked — Going back to my house in the suburbs!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CorporateHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

I believe I can not describe how amazing was our stay at The James. Service was impecable, from the door man to the front desk. Location could not be better. Yes, you can hear the ambulances in the street from the 14th floor, but, come on, you are downtown, what do you expect....Overall noise was not in a level to bother us.
The only minor incident was a cleaner that tried to open our room to clean at 9 pm...PM not AM? Go figure...

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Disliked — Crazy cleaner
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank minimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Great beds, great baths, great service overall, great location. Avoid top floor rooms because of noise from the air conditioning units. Regulating room temperature can get a little challenging. Spa is mediocre and overpriced. Concierge was wrong on lyric opera times, so we were 1/2 hour late. Parking is expensive.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Timoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,599 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Property: The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing