We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location and accommodating staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #45 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a great trip, thanks to the staff at The James. They were all so nice, patient and accommodating. I traveled with a very difficult, high maintenance group of 3 adults and 3 girls. The staff handled every request (and there were lots) with a smile.

The location is great only being a block from great shopping and walking distance to lots of historic spots and the L. The best part was being across the street from Trader Joe's.

Also, if you like a good workout the Gym is quite large and has quality equipment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Terri H,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and our excellent gym. The best compliment I can receive is to hear that it was our team that made your visit a memorable one, thanks to their superior customer service. Thank you again for writing and I look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,335)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 3,335 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here for a week. Day in and day out, staff were so friendly, welcoming, and always acknowledged us, gave us good tips for must-do's in Chicago, and seriously aimed to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I highly recommend it for the location as well - we walked everywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pascal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Pascal E,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to the wonderful service consistently provided by our entire team. I am glad that their recommendations of places to visit in the city helped make your stay a memorable one. I hope that your first visit will no be your last and hope to welcome you back to The James soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was an excellent location and the comfort of the beds was outstanding. The staff was very accommodating and there was a concierge that was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay very close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ritza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Ritza L,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location, comfortable beds, and especially our excellent concierge team. It is truly humbling to receive your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Excellent choice for a hotel. Stayed three nights for quick get away holiday with my husband. Location perfect; centrally located, room very modern and comfortable. Concierge service went out of their way to help us with our trip planning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Carol Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is an honor to receive your generous recommendation, and that our location and concierge team assisted in making your visit a memorable one. Thank you for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome both you and your husband back again soon!

Warm Regards,

StephenBlackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I love Chicago and will go back in the New York minute and this will be my hotel of choice. I don't know who and how trained the staff but the service there is just impeccable! You FEEL genuine care and the room wasn't bad either. Walking distance to major city attractions and restaurants. Hotel for the win.

Room Tip: the higher the floor is the better
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Serge B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored to hear that you had such a great visit, thanks to our convenient location, but most of all, the service provided by our team. The best compliment I receive is that it was our team that made your visit memorable and I am thankful for your generous compliments of them. On behalf of everyone here at The James, thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is my second time at the James. I really like the contemporary decor and the fresh, enthusiastic staff. My room was not noise-free, but in the urban landscape, not that many places are (my room ends with the number "18"). The bathroom was a bit small, and though clean, showed some wear in the fixtures (for instance, nicks in the tub). I liked that the bath amenities were offered in pump bottles attached to the wall - very eco-friendly. My bed was very comfortable (and several different types of pillows are offered - much appreciated when one has particular pillow preferences). And the air-con worked great (90+ degree day the first day of my visit. This is important stuff!!) Finally, the hotel is very well-located, in River North, and is within walking distance of all the main downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear parismuse,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted that you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first, thanks to our eco-friendly bath products and especially our enthusiastic team. I am honored by your continued loyalty to us and look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were here in May of 2013 for our honeymoon. This was by far the most expensive thing we paid for in terms of the wedding/honeymoon for a single item, but really wanted just a really good experience for our honeymoon. We reserved our room at the time where you additionally got a $50 credit for appetizers downstairs, which we planned on using the first night since we wouldn't have stopped for dinner. We came straight from Fort Wayne to Chicago following the wedding, which took about 3.5 hours. The staff were very professional, but we did not receive the credit that was promised. It's not a huge deal as we walked across the street to Trader Joes and just bought some snacks instead.

The overall experience was very good except for some looks we received from mostly other people staying at the hotel (and a select few staff members). It seemed as though wearing jeans and a T-Shirt isn't very acceptable at this hotel. As this was our honeymoon and we were there to relax and explore the city, we only dressed up for dinner, but a number of times we received comments about our apparel or overheard (quite blantantly) comments on what we wore. If you are supposed to dress in your Sunday finest at all times I would expect it to be noted somewhere. Sadly, I don't think I would feel comfortable going back and would just opt for a cheaper hotel with nicer people.

The rooms were very nice, always cleaned on time, and the other staff members who didn't voice such opinions as above were really great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Brenna M,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. When we started The James, our goal was to provide an upscale hotel that provided luxury liberated from the tradition of other similar scale hotels. We aim to provide a comfortable atmosphere for our guests to wear whatever they choose, while maintaining outstanding service. I apologize if you felt out of place as we want all of our guests to feel as if they are at their second home, and I am sorry that this was not your experience. I sincerely hope you will try us again and deliver The James experience that you deserve.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $176 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing