We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic location & excellent staff”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantasic location & excellent staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel welcome. Check in was efficient and friendly and within 30 mins of arriving a bottle of wine and chocolates arrived for our anniversary.

The location is excellent, two minutes from the Magnificent Mile and an easy walking distance to Navy Pier and theatres.

The concierge desk was most helpful with directions and and some great restaurant recommendations.

The doormen were also extremely courteous and friendly.

Breakfast was also taken at the hotel with plenty of choice from granola through to full breakfast. Again friendly helpful staff.

Rooms are comfy lovely lights on dimmer switches , huge comfy beds and a well equiped bathroom with plenty of towels.

Rooms also have huge tv, safe, hairdryer and iron.

Free use of wifi and hotel computers to print boarding passes.

Pre check in requests can be made via the hotel website on arrival day. We asked for high floor quiet room and got a room on top floor away from the elevator.

All in all a great place to stay in the city - highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jackie B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can hear about the hotel is how our amazing team made your visit a memorable one from start to finish, thanks to their attention to service. It was truly an honor that you chose to spend such a special occasion as your anniversary with us, and I am delighted that you had a great experience. Thank you again for your generous recommendation on Trip Advisor and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    843
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
468
1,248
181
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the James Hotel Chicago. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms and gym are always very clean. It is in the perfect location of the downtown area. It walking distance of lots of stuff. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kiley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Kiley G,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, thanks to our convenient location and clean rooms. I am especially proud of the outstanding service provided by our team and that they made your visit noteworthy. Thank you again for writing and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

When we booked here, we weren't sure, but after staying here I can tell you the James is one great hotel. Great location, just one block from the heart of Magnificent Mile. Nicely appointed rooms. Plus, we even saw a celebrity in the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kato-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Glenn Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad that you had a delightful first visit with us, thanks to our convenient location and comfortable rooms. I sincerely appreciate your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers on Trip Advisor and I hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed the excellent amenities, including use of the "house car", turndown service, and bottle of water delivered daily. The rooms were average size and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location is great for accessing Michigan Avenue and was an easy walk to the El. The only down side was the noise from the street, even on the 10th floor. Blaring horns and sirens all night. But, I think that is more about the city itself than the hotel. Perhaps the folk who are in charge should consider an passing an ordinance similar to NYC, where cab drivers are fined for using their horn.
Bring you earplugs and enjoy your stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher up will hopefully reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumby531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Gumby531,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, thanks to our complimentary house car service and turndown. As you mentioned, our downtown location does subject us to some street noise, but I relieved that this did not negatively impact your stay. The best compliment I can receive is to hear about the excellent service provided by our team, and I am especially proud that everyone you came in contact with was helpful. Thank you again for your generous recommendation and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I were given a stay at the James as a gift from my sister and Brother In-Law around the holidays to celebrate our wedding. They picked the perfect location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a smile. When we asked directions to various locations (since this was both of our first times in Chicago), the made sure they gave us step-by-step directions so we would not get lost. Our room upgrade to a King Studio was amazing! The room was the perfect size and was extremely clean and well kept. I had worked with Laurelin, one of the nicest people from concierge, and she assisted me in planning a rose petal turn down service in the best way possible.

Whenever I called the front desk or concierge, I was greeted by name and I could tell that the person on the end of the line was smiling. We had Spa treatments at the hotel as well and they left my wife and I in a state of complete and utter relaxation. This was a fantastic hotel and I look for to staying there again in the future!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room that will be big enough to your liking. The King Studio was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Rich B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your visit with us, thanks to Asha spa and especially the outstanding service provided by our team. It was an honor to have you with us while celebrating such a special occasion, and on behalf of the entire team, I would like to congratulate you on your recent marriage! Thank you again for taking the time to write and I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room was very nice and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. Unfortunately we were woken up by very loud guests 2 out of 3 nights, so I would suggest requesting a room far away from the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanigan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Lanigan2000,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and that the service provided by our team made your visit a great one. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding noise from other guests but glad that it not detract much from an overall pleasant experience. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We lucked into this hotel via Hotwire for 5 days in April. The rooms are decent size and fairly modern looking. The lobby, restaurant and bar are warm and welcoming. The staff was friendly -- Lucas in particular seems like he works 18 hour days for as often as helped us. We would definitely stay there again at the Hotwire price but probably not at the published rate.
Only complaints would be the beds were not very comfortable as we both felt the mattresses were too soft. Also, there are no ice machines, you have to call for ice. The hotel guide indicated there was a nightly turndown service that provided ice but we never had that so we often had to call for it. I didn't bother calling about the refrigerators but there were two in the room and neither was working. One was stocked with drinks for the cash bar and the other was empty. Again, we didn't plan on using them so it wasn't an issue for us. I'm sure if we would have called it wouldn't have been dealt with.
The location is perfect, just a block away from Michigan ave, and a few blocks north of the river. Plenty of things to do nearby, plus buses and a train station a short walk away.
The rooms have a radio with an ipod connection and can play some "white noise" like rain, wind, ocean, etc.

Room Tip: It didn't appear there were rooms right by the elevator. The rooms all appear to have street vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Steven B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding our turndown service; we offer this complimentary to all of our guests via request, so I am sorry for the miscommunication. I am honored that the outstanding service provided by our team, particularly Lucas, made your visit a memorable one and that you would consider returning. We have excellent rates and specials offered on our website, jameshotels.com, that may want to look at in advance of your next trip. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing