We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #44 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Love this hotel! I love the modern/mid-century decor that suits Chicago so well! The room was a Deluxe King which wasn't huge, but plenty big for a long weekend. The bathroom wasn't huge either, but again, it was just fine! It was spotless and comfortable and welcomey, which was most important. And turn down service came with a different treat each evening. The two best features of the hotel is its location and its staff! Other than a train ride to Wicker Park (ps I Cream Cafe and Big Star for tacos are a must!) and a taxi ride to Second City, there was no need for a car! Everything was right out your door! Walked along the lake every morning. And the staff was incredible! I usually lean on google and yelp for any travel questions I have, but the Concierge at the James was invaluable! Loads of great recommendations! The business center was great, the gym wasn't huge but had everything I needed, the spa was tiny but got a fantastic massage! I didn't try the restaurant, but had a cocktail at the bar one rainy afternoon while I wrote postcards and it was delicious and the service was delightful. Oh and they let you borrow bikes!! As much as I love hotels and rarely go back to the same one twice, I would definitely go back to the James.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packacards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear udque,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that your visit was a memorable one, thanks to our convenient location and especially our friendly team. Thank you for your compliments of our turndown service and our concierge; I am proud that they assisted in making the most of your visit to the city with their excellent recommendations. Thank you again for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming your back for a return visit the next time you are in Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,909
    817
    206
    82
    50
See reviews for
447
1,216
176
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location. The staff couldn't be more accommodating. The food at The James was above and beyond what I had expected. The bar area is a very fun and relaxing setting. If I happen to be in the city I would go to the bar area for drinks and dessert.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Nancy A,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that your stay was above and beyond your expectations, thanks to the accomodating service provided by our team and our convenient location. Additionally, I'm glad you enjoyed our bar and especially that you plan to return the next time you visit. Thank you again for writing and on behalf of everyone here at The James, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here a few days over Valentines weekend. The location is probably the best you could have for anything you are going to do in the city! There is a Trader Joe's across the street, starbucks on the corner, cafe directly across the street, shopping all around, and the best new shopping slash restaurant store I have ever been too...new in Chicago and it's called EATILY. It was just a block away! We had superb customer service throughout the hotel. The cleaning staff, the bartenders, the bell hop guys, everyone.....they go out of there way to smile at you and ask if you need anything! We have stayed at the Felix, Hyatt, and Westin...we will not go back. The James is the best by far. You won't be sorry. Oh, and 1 more thing...THE BEDS..AWESOME.

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shtzngigglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear shtzngigglez,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored to hear that after staying at several hotels in Chicago, we are your new favorite. Additionally, I appreciate your compliments of our comfortable beds, convenient location, and especially our friendly team. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at The James. It was brief, but very much worth it. A short weekend trip, but very relaxing and a wonderful atmosphere. The smallest of details leaves the largest of impression. I very much look forward to any future chances I may get to stay at The James.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is humbling to hear that we are your favorite hotel in Chicago after your visit with us. Although it was a short weekend with us, I'm glad that it was relaxing and left an overall great impression. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had a great time at the James. The saff was so nice and helpful. Bill Marcelli the concierge especially was excellent and helped us out with everything from entertainment to shopping locations. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Pete M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service provided by our concierge team. I am glad that they were able to assist in making your experience a great one and especially that you will recommend us to others. Thank you again for writing and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

the James Chicago is my go to Hotel when in Chicago. The staff are extremly attentive to my every need. I will continue to stay at the James when ever I am in Chicago. I really enjoyed the room and bathroom. The bed and pillows are super comfortable.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Anthony E,

Thank you for taking the time to share about yor recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are honored by your continued loyalty to us and glad that our wonderful team continues to impress during each visit. Most of all, I am humbled that you will continue to stay with us when your travel plans return you to Chicago. Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice place. Friendly and attentive staff. Overall we were pleased with our stay. They understand how to execute great guest service. Smiling, eye contact, small talk, and seemed to be pleased to assist us with the little things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Quinn C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. The best compliment I can recieve is that it was the amazing service provided by our entire team that made your experience a memorable one. Most of all, I am delighed that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing