We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome To Chicago”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #43 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome To Chicago”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The James Hotel was a great Welcome to Chicago! My wife and I arrived late in the night after a delay in NY and it was most pleasing walking into The James. The bar had closed but they saw the look on our faces and did not hesitate to poor us a drink before we went upstairs to our room. The room was massive. Felt like an apartment rather than a hotel room. The following morning we explored the city and could not believe how close we were to everything. A real gem in Chicago!
The staff were amazing and very accommodating to all our needs. It was a real pleasure staying here on our first trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Diego T,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our spacious rooms and especially our accommodating staff. I am honored that you chose to spend you first trip to Chicago with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    857
    218
    88
    51
See reviews for
477
1,268
181
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
342 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed here several times and each one has been a good experience. Staff is very good, rooms are about average for Chicago, location is excellent and it has a great restaurant. Bar is small, but O.K.
One word of caution: during our last two stays we have not been able to control the temperature in our room. Perhaps corner rooms are subject to heat/cooling problems or thermostats do not work in the rooms. Management was made aware of this complaint on both occasions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear jacy2,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you are a returning guest, thanks to our location and excellent staff; we very much appreciate you continued loyalty to us. I am sorry to hear about the persistent heating/cooling issues you experienced while with us. We usually send up our engineering staff if you are having trouble regulating the temperature to ensure that both the HVAC system and baseboard heaters are all working correctly in the room and repair if needed. This is not the experience we expect our guests to have and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline to obtain more information on where you stayed to make sure this is properly addressed. I thank you for your understanding and look forward to speaking with you soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent location near Michigan Avenue and CTA. The hotel is very comfortable and clean with simple, modern design. The staff were very friendly. Room service breakfast was very good. Hot cider in the lobby was a nice touch in the winter!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Apphia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Apphia P,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of our convenient location, comfortable rooms and even the complimentary cider served in the lobby. Most of all, I am delighted that our staff's friendliness attributed to making your visit a great one and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you return to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I spent a couple of days at The James Chicago in December. I was there for work and hotel fulfilled all of my needs, and those of the colleagues that I was travelling with. It was comfortable, clean, had great amenities and the service was impeccable — in particular the concierge, Laurelin Hefter, was extremely diligent and helpful. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear JKH2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed your visit with us and that it was a comfortable stay while on business. I am proud that our concierge team provided such remarkable service, which is the best compliment I can hear. Thank you for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the James for one night the first week of December. I thought that the service was good. Upon check in and check out the front desk staff was all very nice. There is a car service the hotel provides if you are traveling within close proximity to the hotel; it is first come first serve so we ended up Ubering a car.

Location of the hotel is excellent if you are from out of town and want to be close to great restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were ok, a very modern boutiquish feel to them. They are large for Chicago standards. My only complaint was on Sat. I got in the shower and there was just luke warm water. Kind of put a damper on my overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Kristin R,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you found our location convenient to the places your visited while in town, and especially that our front desk team was very friendly. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to your shower; this is certainly not the impression we wish to leave you with and I hope that we will be able to re-coup your confidence in us if and when you visit again. Thank you for writing, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had planned to vacation in San Diego, but due to some unforseen challenges, we ended up in Chicago with no hotel late on a Saturday night. We have stayed at The James Chicago several times before so the decision on where to stay was not a difficult one. At 10:30pm we walked in to The James and were greeted warmly by the staff. They were able to book us a room for five nights, including New Year's Eve, and we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Kevin T,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored that you thought of us when you found yourself in the city at the last minute. We appreciate your continued loyalty to us and that our helpful staff made your visit a great one to welcome the new year. Thank you again for sharing, and I look forward to seeing you the next time you visit!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked The James through jetsetter.com and got a great deal for the three nights in December we stayed there. Everything was very comfortable and we would definitely return. The only suggestion I would have is to warm up the lobby a bit, not temperature wise but atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 30thbdayplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 30thbdayplans,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit thanks to our comfortable rooms and convenient location. I appreciate your candid feedback regarding our lobby; we are always looking for improving the experience for our guests and thank you for your suggestion. I am delighted that would stay with us again and hope that we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing