We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The doorman was always openning up my wifes door and to the back of the car making sure traffic went around us while we were taking our kid in and out of his car seat. The brought cookies to the room every night which my son loved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Matthew T,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am proud of the helpful service provided by our doormen, and that your son enjoyed the cookies at turndown each night. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,330)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stay at The James Chicago once a year for a weekend to catch a BEARS game. The service is always exceptional. The staff are friendly and professional...a few are Packers fans, but it's easily overlooked! I've stayed in both the king apt, loft, and deluxe king. All are great. Very clean and modern, very comfortable beds, and the room is cleaned anytime you leave. The location is perfect and within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, & bars. The hotel bar is a great place to have drinks before heading out; nice cocktail menu. David Burke's Primehouse is AMAZING! There are so many good restaurants to choose from in Chicago, but this is one of my favorites!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Rebecca W,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of David Burke's Primehouse and improved lobby bar, but especially the exceptional service provided by our entire team. Most of all, we truly appreciate your continued loyalty to us when you visit the city. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next football season!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent one night at The James as part of our annual anniversary night out in Chicago. We always choose one of Chicago's luxury hotels but were very disappointed in The James. First, the door to our room required a combination of calistenics to open (pull handle turn left then right, the retry the key). We told a housekeeper in the hall about it and she said she would notify someone but it was never fixed. We discovered late at night the TV in the bedroom did not work (too late to bother calling for repair). It took 45 minutes to get ice and 30 minutes for the $60 valet to get us our car. This is not the service we have received at other luxury hotels in Chicago costing similar to The James.

Also, if you stay there, do not try to sit on the sofa. It is the most uncomfortable piece of furniture in the existence of room furnishings. There is a hard metal bar that is right in your back. You have to move every pillow in the room to make it even remotely comfortable, which we had to do to watch TV since the only TV in our room that worked was the one in the living area, since the bedroom one was broken.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear jrgray,

I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with us at The James. The experience you described with the door and subsequent lack of response is disappointing to hear, as it is clear we did not meet your expectations or our own. I am very sorry that this occurred and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you personally offline at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I hope that we can re-coup your confidence in us and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Loved this hotel in so many ways. Fabulous service. quaint. attention to detail was surprising and appreciated!
Loved the room and the convenience. Room service was amazing. I will go back and stay at this hotel again.


  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Robinn M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our room service and focus on service. Most of all, I am honored that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There are lots of great places to stay in Chicago, but not many where you can get an amazing meal, sit at a really great bar and/or grab a quick bite that's really unique. The James Hotel offers all of the above, and exceptional products in the rooms to boot!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Sheila B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted by your compliments of our hotel, and glad that our unique dining options at David Burke's Primehouse and Burke's Bacon Bar, as well as our lobby bar and new cocktail lounge Jimmy. I appreciate your generous recommendation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were staying there for a few weeks in the month of September during which hotel was very busy. We loved our stay in The James Hotel as it has a great location, amazing ambience and atmosphere. The staff is the James always was friendly and very pleasant since the moment we arrive at the hotel to the last minute of our stay. They was always happy to assist, was smiling and also was welcoming us back everyone we came back to hotel from the city.

The rooms are great, especially a studio suite which we stayed has a very comfortable bed and we like the living room area as we'll.

The restaurant David Burke Primehouse was another Greta memory about our stay, where we tried one of the best steaks ever in our life.

Room Tip: If you would like a room for 2 person of if you traveling as a couple ask for a Studio Suite which i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Artur A,

Thank your for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I am truly honored by your compliments of our amazing team and David Burke's Primehouse, and that it was a great experience for your entire family. Thank you again for writing, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

From the moment the reservation was made through check-in and check-out to using the complimentary car to take us to the rr station, one couldn't ask for anything more.Service and customer satisfaction seem to be the hallmarks of The James. Escellent location especially if you have no car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear you had a great experience with us, particularly from enjoying our complimentary house car service. I am truly honored by your compliments of our service, as it our aim to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. Thank you again for writing and I look forward to welcoming you back to The James soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,657 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $176 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing