We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Liberated without the $$$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #45 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Exceptional location. Excellent facilities and rooms. Courteous staff. Highly recommended. (I admit that my agent got me a deal but I would have paid more too...) This is a downtown hotel with the feeling of a boutique experience. The in-room amenities and service was superb. I felt that if I had stayed a week they would have made me feel like family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Ken H,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our location and especially for your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers. I am honored that you felt at home while staying with us, as it is our goal to provide a luxurious experience liberated from tradition. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 3,354 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Everything was great during our stay. Room was spacious, so was the bathroom. Pretty impressed by its decoration, very chic and stylish. We only stayed one night, so we didn't really know about their room service and their spa & pool. But we did experience nice service from their stuff. People working there were very friendly and helpful. Also, I liked its location very very. Walking distance to good restaurants and interesting spots. We will for sure coming back to stay in this hotel whenever visit in chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mengtian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mengtian Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of our convenient location and spacious rooms, but most of all, I am glad that it was our staff that made your experience a great one. I am truly delighted that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was in Chicago for a convention and I chose the James due to its location right off mag mile. Overall it was a great stay. Hotel staff were extremely helpful. I was allowed to check-in much earlier than I wanted to and I was upgraded to a deluxe room for free which is always a plus. The hotel is very pleasant on the inside. Nice bar area, sitting area, restaurants on facility premise. Bed was super comfortable and the room overall made you feel good that you were staying in semi-luxury. Bathroom was great as well, nice basic features with an upscale look. Overall I would def. recommend this hotel to others if you find a good rate ~$125 and the area fits your needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Kevin K,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you had a great visit, thanks to our convenient location, upgraded room, and most of all, our helpful staff. We appreciate your recommendation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was at a conference in downtown Chicago and this was the hotel that I booked last minute. It made for a fantastic stay. It was close to everything; Michigan Ave, great restaurants, and fun shops. There was a Trader Joes across the street so I was able to grab some snacks. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant had a very nice shrimp cocktail and breakfast menu. I am coming back next year and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadCluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear ChadCliff,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you are happy with your decision to visit us and that you enjoyed your experience. Most of all, we are glad that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the James Hotel in Chicago. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and cherished as a visitor. Scott greeted us as we pulled up. He had a wonderful sense of humor and was helpful in all ways (with parking information, restaurant thoughts, directions, help with luggage). We then checked in with James…yes, James works at the James Hotel…who was efficient and friendly. The concierge gave us many wonderful food recommendations (the Purple Pig and Sunda, both seriously delicious and fun). There was hot apple cider when we arrived, a fantastic gym, a spa, coffee in the morning, a happening restaurant in the lobby. AND, did I mention that this hotel is walking distance to a lot of the Chicago destinations? Shopping on North Michigan, eating yourself silly, drinking at local bars and clubs, etc. etc. Our room was a queen suite which allowed us to hang out very comfortably, watch movies together, get ready without stepping all over one another. I even did yoga in the room totally comfortably! Oh, and the black-out blinds allowed for a lovely night sleep. Overall, a really high-class, high-comfort hotel without any pretense. High recommend.

Room Tip: The queen suite was really comfortable for two adults traveling together (not lovers…). The couch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Lisa O,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your wonderful compliments of our amenities and am truly delighted to hear about the outstanding service provided by our team, and how their efforts made your stay a great one. I am humbled by your recommendation of us to fellow travelers and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Location of this hotel is superb. The atmosphere and decoration were real good and modern. The staff were very very helpful and friendly. It was a fantastic stay from the beginning till the end. We really had a wonderful holiday in Chicago and at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our convenient location and especially of our friendly, helpful staff. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday with us and hope that we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel was great except for a few minor issues. Toilet ran constantly. View was like a prison cell (interior wall). I had to look up 20 floors to see a patch of sky to find out if it was day or night. Cool, affordable, but not the most romantic. Also vinyl slip covered tables and booths in restaurant kind of lame.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Daniel O,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room but glad that this did not detract from an overall positive experience. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 192 in Chicago
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $161 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing