We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #48 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the James Hotel in Chicago. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and cherished as a visitor. Scott greeted us as we pulled up. He had a wonderful sense of humor and was helpful in all ways (with parking information, restaurant thoughts, directions, help with luggage). We then checked in with James…yes, James works at the James Hotel…who was efficient and friendly. The concierge gave us many wonderful food recommendations (the Purple Pig and Sunda, both seriously delicious and fun). There was hot apple cider when we arrived, a fantastic gym, a spa, coffee in the morning, a happening restaurant in the lobby. AND, did I mention that this hotel is walking distance to a lot of the Chicago destinations? Shopping on North Michigan, eating yourself silly, drinking at local bars and clubs, etc. etc. Our room was a queen suite which allowed us to hang out very comfortably, watch movies together, get ready without stepping all over one another. I even did yoga in the room totally comfortably! Oh, and the black-out blinds allowed for a lovely night sleep. Overall, a really high-class, high-comfort hotel without any pretense. High recommend.

Room Tip: The queen suite was really comfortable for two adults traveling together (not lovers…). The couch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Lisa O,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your wonderful compliments of our amenities and am truly delighted to hear about the outstanding service provided by our team, and how their efforts made your stay a great one. I am humbled by your recommendation of us to fellow travelers and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Location of this hotel is superb. The atmosphere and decoration were real good and modern. The staff were very very helpful and friendly. It was a fantastic stay from the beginning till the end. We really had a wonderful holiday in Chicago and at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our convenient location and especially of our friendly, helpful staff. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday with us and hope that we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel was great except for a few minor issues. Toilet ran constantly. View was like a prison cell (interior wall). I had to look up 20 floors to see a patch of sky to find out if it was day or night. Cool, affordable, but not the most romantic. Also vinyl slip covered tables and booths in restaurant kind of lame.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Daniel O,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room but glad that this did not detract from an overall positive experience. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've stayed here a few times - from the early days, when it was fresh and hip; to this weekend, when it ... wasn't. It's just slowly sliding towards mediocrity, which is a shame for a property that used to be pretty special.

Basically, the rooms are starting to look dated, with odd design choices and unappealing furnishings. The service seemed tired, starting when we checked in and were asked if we wanted a king room rather than two queen beds - and told that would be an extra $30 per night.

Overall, The James has just become ... well, ordinary. And for an allegedly four-star hotel (3.5 seems more accurate) charging upwards of $200 a night at a slow time of the year, that spells trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ablcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear ablcfamily,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. You are very valuable to us as a returning guest, and I am truly sorry that you did not feel this stay was on the same level as other visits. Although we have been open for several years, we are constantly striving to improve and to never provide a mediocre experience, as we work to exceed expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline, I can be reached at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with upscale features that are not stuffy in any way. Check-in went exceptionally smoothly. The staff were friendly and extremely competent.

Our room was just cool (and I am not talking temperature here), comfortable and very clean. There was a stocked minibar with everything you might need (if you want to pay for it), light fixtures that easily dim and a huge mirror that leaned against the wall (in a trendy way).

At night someone from the staff came to our room, brought us ice, turned down the bed, gave us a brownie and emptied the trash. Very cool.

The hotel is located just a block from Michigan Ave. which makes it a perfect distance to the "Magnificent Mile" as well as several different food options.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

With that said if I would have been travelling with small children (which I do most of the time), I might have asked for them to clear out the minibar as it might have been too tempting for small fingers to snag a $4 bag of m&m's. My girls would also have been disappointed as their is no pool. I - though - would feel my kids would have been very welcome at this location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsdentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Amsdentraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your compliments of our mini bar selection, complimentary turndown service, and especially our friendly staff. If you do travel with your children next time, you may be interested in our Lil' James program which will make their stay more special; you can see more information about this by visiting jameshotels.com. Also to note, although we do not have a pool, we do have an arrangement with a facility across the street. Thank you again for writing and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at the James for two nights for a recent city break in Chicago. We got upgraded to a studio room with a living area off the room due to our Tablet Plus membership. The room was excellent and check-in a breeze. It also has one of the best steak houses in town so we enjoyed the room service (try the truffle fries!).

If you like peace and quite perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor as the noise from the street can bother some folks. It certainly was no issue for us as we live in Manhattan so we're used to the noise. In fact I cant sleep unless there are sirens blazing in the background.

We loved the modern rooms and the clean decor of the rooms. Certainly a plus if youre into design and contemporary looks. Will definitely be back on our next trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friskygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear friskygeek,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear your compliments of our delicious room service, and that our stay was excellent in our studio suite. Most of all, I am honored that you will stay with us again; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked by calling hotel's own reservation line - and received a confirmation e-mail. When we arrived; however, the hotel did not have the reservation. We were able to get a room, but not quite the one we expected. Also scheduled massages at the spa, again receiving confirmation e-mail. Guess what? Spa had no reservation either.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay in locating your reservation, which is an issue we rarely encounter especially when you book directly with us. I am glad that the staff rectified this for you, but am sorry to hear that your room was not what you expected; our front desk is always willing to assist in finding a more comfortable space for you as want all of our guests to have an excellent experience with us. We take low scores very seriously and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,593 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 192 in Chicago
3,947 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 192 in Chicago
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $128 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse and the Primehouse Bar - a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing