We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with AMAZING service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I could not be happier with how the staff at this hotel treated me and my 80 guests. The look is classy and contemporary, clean lines, wonderful amenities, a gym and spa and an award winning restaurant! I will be back, many, many times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Nikki S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of our amazing team and delighted that you chose to host all of your guests with us. I am humbled that you plan on returning, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The James in Chicago. My friend had her wedding reception here. The reception hall was so beautiful and quaint... Perfect for a smaller, intimate wedding. The food and service were amazing as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Jenni C,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us for your friend's wedding, and you had a great experience, thanks to our food and amazing team. We are honored to have been a part of such a special occasion and hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

David Burke's Primehouse is the best steak in the city but if you dont have time to sit down grab Burke's Bacon Bar to go or to bring to the room. Shopping/Starbucks/many other restaurants on the block!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Lindsay B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad that in addition to the hotel, you had the chance to experience some of the delicious restaurants we have available, especially with our latest offering Burke's Bacon Bar. We are proud of David Burke's Primehouse being named the best steakhouse in the city and glad that you agree. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope you will visit again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Truly amazing from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out. The doormen even remember you and have the door open and ready to assist. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and rooms don't make you feel like you are in a sardine can. Great location, very centralized, you are within walking distance to just about everything. Great place, great people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your kind comments of our comfortable rooms and convenient location. The best compliment we can recieve is that it was the efforts of our team that made your experience a great one; I sincerely hope we will all have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location in the middle of town, this comfortable hotel was a perfect base. Two blocks from the magnificent mile and surrounded by top shops and restaurants. all the staff were attentive and friendly in a low key way. The rooms are weel appointed with great smelling products in the bathroom and comfortable bedding. everything was very clean, and the gym was well stocked with equipment etc.

Room Tip: Go higher!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Edwid,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I appreciate your compliments of our friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and gym. I am glad that our location was convenient to the places you visited while in town and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Chicago is definitly a lush city and our stay there was splendid in large part due to our unerring choice of The James Hotel, which in addition of having modern and excellent facilities also houses the David's Burke's Primehouse, the best steakehouse in town where we dined twice along the four nights we spent around. The hotels's staff is highly qualified, a clear example was the extremely friendly and accurate concierge service provided by Laurelin Hefter who indicated and got to us reservations for 2 very exclusive bars and required tickets for 2 plays, being one of them in... New York!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degascosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear degascosta,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that one of the highlights of your trip to the city was staying with us and visiting David Burke's Primehouse. Most off all, I am delighted that the exemplary service by our concierge team helped in making your stay memorable and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a great stay, very accomodating staff, the concierge; Laureline was particularly helpful as were the bar staff. Excellent location, good food, very comfortable room. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear MattW1990,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to the outstanding service provided by our concierge and bar. I am humbled by your recommendation of us to fellow travelers and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,658 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $181 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing