We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$444
$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$292
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$319
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
$340
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,561)
Filter reviews
3,561 results
Traveler rating
2,206
950
249
99
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,206
950
249
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader joe's across the streetmedia roomloft suitegreat locationfiltered waterboutique hotelturn down servicebath productswet barmini barmichigan avenuestreet noisemagnificent milebed was very comfortableriver norththe windy citymag mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,169 - 2,174 of 3,561 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

In town for a friend's wedding. The James was the host hotel and we were glad it was... chic without the attitude and a great location. Very friendly staff who welcomed us upon arrival and each time we walked in the doors. Front desk was very efficient and friendly. Very friendly bartenders who make delicious drinks - try the signature James martini!!
The room was very inviting with a big fluffy white bed. We loved the nightly turn down and sweet treats. Comfortable chair and ottoman was great for reading. The bathroom was a bit small as a whole, although the shower was perfect. Didn't like the sink... not nearly enough counter space and the faucet needs to be higher up so when you wash your hands you aren't touching the bottom of the sink at the same time!! The biggest disappointment was that our windows were very dirty so we were unable to enjoy the view. Despite that, we really enjoyed our time here and would definitely consider staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank The-Lap-of-Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear The-Lap-of-Luxury,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored by your generous compliments of your stay and proud that our staff assisted in making your experience a great one. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with the sink and window, I appreciate you honest feedback and glad that it did not detract from an overall positive experience. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great way to end our road trip with a luxury hotel, highly recommended.
The hotel and room was very modern and stylish while also being extremely comfortable. Turn down service is a very nice touch and typical of the level of care experienced. Restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal highly recommended. Very impressive "mini" bar in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear David J,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am delighted to hear that our turndown service and large mini bar selection made your room and stay very comfortable. Additionally, I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the delicious menu at David Burke's Primehouse for both breakfast and dinner. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

excellent gym facilities. Coffee in reception on tap. Wife left a skirt in the cupboard. Hotel retrieved the skirt and we were able to have someone bring it to us...close to lake for those summer swim sessions

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Ashley B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are appreciative of your wonderful compliments of our gym and complimentary coffee service in the lobby in the mornings, and also glad that the skirt made it back to you. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times before and think this will be the last.

The location is superb. Can't be beat but it is totally hit or miss with rooms.

This time had a very small king room. Was supposed to be upgraded as tablet member and was told hotel was totally sold out. Not true as a friend was upgraded.

Room was not in great shape to say the least. The wardrobe leaned backwards into the wall. The shelf below the tv. (Tv was wall mounted) so it looked like TV was not straight. Terrible feng shui. Told person at desk he seemed a little amused.

Problem with plumbing pressure. Maintenance had to attend twice.

Housekeeping was a disaster. One night they left a laundry hamper in the middle of the hall. One day returned to rest at 4:00pm and room not cleaned.

Hotel is in a great location and very reasonably priced but quite frankly there are a ton of hotels in the area. They need to really upgrade the rooms and the staff.

However, the door staff are superb. Totally attentive with suggestions and great energy. Those behind the desk could learn a few things.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear jonnyrosen,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us and the room you received. It is clear we did not exceed your expectations or our own. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to your further offline in hopes to re-coup your confidence in us; you can reach me at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. I apologize again for the inconveniences you encountered and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. The staff, service and conditions just perfect. The location to the mag. mile and shopping was very convenient. The room (king) was large and bright. Perfect for 2 people. The people made the stay a memorable one. Will go back again. More than I can say for some in the area. The price was reasonable, and well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 17th floor, and couldn't hear any street noise, which was nice for sleeping.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Billie B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that your experience was a memorable one thanks to our amazing staff; it is truly the best compliment that we can receive. Most of all, I am delighted that your first stay with us will not be your last and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews