We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely experience”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #45 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The James for three nights in August with our two young kids. Firstly, the location is superb. It's just tucked away from the Magnificent Mile so shops, restaurants and sights are right on the doorstep. What set The James apart for me was the level of service we received. They dealt with all of my queries and requests in a fast, friendly and efficient way. If we are lucky enough to visit Chicago again then The James will be at the top of my list when choosing a hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our level of service, and glad that it was our staff who assisted in making your family's experience a great one. Most of all, I am honored that you would stay with us again if your plans return you to Chicago, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    843
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
468
1,248
181
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at The James Chicago for 6 days beginning Aug 18 and I have nothing bad to say. Staff was friendly, some issues one day with the internet, but then it was fine after. Steakhouse was pricey but enjoyed the cocktails in the lounge after a long day of touring this beautiful city. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valerie23_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am sorry again for the issues regarding the internet, but glad that it was not too inconvenient and handled well by our staff. I am truly honored by your generous recommendation of us to fellow travelers and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent experience in every way, from front desk to housekeeping, from restauant to doorman. There wasn't anything asked for that wasn't provided with a smile, quiet room, toothpaste, late check out. The food was also excellent and e bar

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Ira S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our restaurant. Most of all, it is great to hear about the outstanding service you received throughout your entire experience. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our stay at the james was perfection! We try to stay there every time we visit Chicago. We recently stayed in another"boutique hotel" close by because they were booked and it didn't compare ! The rooms are clean and in great shape. The staff was very friendly and accommodating in every way possible! The bar/lounge is hip and fun and they play great lounge music throughout the hotel at all times giving it a great modern, urban ambience! I would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Flower1977,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. I am honored to hear that you have stayed with us multiple times, and truly humbled by your generous compliments of our modern rooms and friendly staff. We all appreciate your recommendation of us to fellow travelers and thank you for sharing about your experiences with us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and really liked the atmosphere when I walked in. Customer service overall was outstanding, something that I wouldn't have gotten anywhere else at $200/night. It was nice that there was a bar and restaurant on site and ample seating in the lobby areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear akassandra,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our newly expanded lobby bar and David Burke's Primehouse. Most of all, I am delighted to hear about the wonderful customer service you experienced throughout your conference and visit. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Staff was unfriendly, hotel carpets was old and dirty and there were chunks out of wall, not even real coffee in rooms, I tried extending my stay to stay at a conference longer and staff told me it was sold out-I went online to make a reservation and there was plenty if availability.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Megan K,

I would like to apologize for the mulitple inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We take guest feedback very seriously, and it is disconcerting to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay. What you described certainly does not meet the standard we set forth, and I am truly sorry that we did not exceed your expectations or our own. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further offline; I can be reached at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you bringing these issues to my attention and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our 1st time in Chicago. We split out stay between the Renaissance & The James. We preferred the James Hotel. The service was excellent, location is a block from the shopping district, a block from Garrett's popcorn store and a lots of restaurants and across the street from Trader Joe's.

The style of the hotel is modern and simple as is the room. A look that I love. Everything looks and feels clean. It has a nice big gym in the basement for all your work out needs. Big bonus for me.

The staff is wonderful and makes everything seamless. Little touches, such as complimentary bike rental and car service is a nice touch even if we didn't end up using those services.

The doormen are always professional and helpful. I would definitely stay here again next time in Chicago

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtlgal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mtlgal2000

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are delighted to be a part of your first trip to Chicago, and glad that you had an enjoyable experience thanks to our amazing staff. We also appreciate your compliments of our gym and modern decor, and glad that our location was convenient to the places you wanted to visit during your stay with us. Thank you again for writing and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#53 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing