We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
$528
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$880
$675
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$505
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$324
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$787
$607
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,557)
Filter reviews
3,557 results
Traveler rating
2,203
949
249
99
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,203
949
249
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader joe's across the streetmedia roomloft suitegreat locationfiltered waterboutique hotelturn down servicebath productswet barmini barmichigan avenuestreet noisemagnificent milebed was very comfortableriver norththe windy citymag mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,213 - 2,218 of 3,557 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I don't usually write traveller reviews, however, the fantastic experience my wife and I had at the James Hotel warranted our comments. When we first arrived, we were welcomed by very courteous doormen and front desk check in staff, although what else do you expect from the fine people of Chicago and surrounding area? We were told that our room was not quite ready yet, but no worries, we were upgraded to a larger available room right away! The room was very clean and bright with modern furniture. The king sized bed was so comfortable, I have a bad feeling that my wife will now want to replace our own bedroom set with something similar! Bathroom was large enough for us and the room came with a fully stocked fridge. The evening turn-down service was a great touch as we were welcomed with bathrobes and little treats at night.

The James Hotel is located right where you want to be, within walking distance to a variety of locations, including Michigan Avenue, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier. You are also within a few blocks of the "L" in case you wish to venture out further. There are also fantastic restaurants in the area, especially ones to get your Chicago style fix. Note, if you are driving, keep in mind that overnight parking in the area will be pricy, which is not specific to this hotel.

At the end of the day, this is an awesome hotel within an awesome city! We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego717171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Diego717171,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James. I am honored that you had such a great experience that you wanted to share it with fellow travelers. Your generous compliments of our beds, turndown service, and especially our staff are much appreciated. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome both you and your wife back again soon the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

overall good hotel in great area.. door guys were great and the complimentary driver was a plus! front desk guy wasn't much help at check in. Bathrooms were a little small but overall wasn't bad and turn down service was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Alex R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your compliments of the service provided by our doormen and driver, and apologize for any inconvenience at the front desk. This is certainly not our standard and I will follow up accordingly so that other guests do not have a similar experience. I am glad that this did not detract from an overall pleasant stay, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The James again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The James is a nice hotel in a great location. The location was great, we were able to valet our car for the time we were there and we walked everywhere. We were also able to take the car service when we needed a ride to Soldier Field for a concert and that was terrific. The service was good also. The room was nice, it was very minimalistic but nice and clean. The only drawback for me was that there was no mirror outside of the bathroom area but other than that there was nothing to complain about. If you are looking for a hotel that provides good service, that is clean, and is really close to everything you have found your place. We found a really good deal on Hotwire so the price was adequate for what you get. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Cincy05,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our convenient location and especially, our notable service. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary car service during your stay as well, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for a week while visiting a friend from Chicago. The location of the hotel is amazing, within walking distance to the L, Michigan Avenue and a few decent bars. The hotel staff was very helpful, and I utilized the concierge staff to help make dinner reservations. I really liked the evening turndown service, and the in-room amenities. The Intelligent Nutrient bath products are a nice touch and in a large enough quantity that you don't need to pack your own. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your compliments of turndown service, Intelligent Nutrient bath products, and convenient location and glad all of these attributed to a great experience with us. Thank you again for writing, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

A cozy place, the location is very convenient. You can go walking to the city centre, to milenium park, to michigan ave. Many restaurants and cafes nearby. The hotel is complete! The gym is great, the room is very comfortable and modern. They offer a bottle of water per day, for free! Great place!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renata r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear renata r,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our comfortable rooms, gym, and that our location was convenient for your visit in the city. I very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back again the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews