We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service, but shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I just stayed at The James Hotel. The service was great, but I found the rooms to be shabby. I was surprised how worn the rooms were based on pictures and reviews. The hotel is supposed to have a clean, sparse, modern look, but the first room I was put in had peeling wallpaper, all the wood surfaces were worn, chipped or water stained. The room was clean, but felt very worn out. I ended up upgrading to a larger room by paying a fee. It was a bit better and brighter, but wood surfaces still worn and chipped. Over the king bed there was one picture off to the side and two holes in the wall where the other picture was suppose to be located.

The bathroom has large mounted bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the shower versus the little bottles. It felt like a gym. Personal preference on my part, but I prefer the little containers to something 100's of people have had their hands on before I got into the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Cathwig,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. After reading your comments, I wanted to reach out in regards to the room issues you mentioned. The conditions you described are not what we expect our guests to experience and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you offline to obtain more information about which room you stayed with us in; I can be reached via email at jameschicagoGM@jameshotels.com. Thank you for writing and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in january 2013. First experience in Chicago. Hotel is small. Rooms are nice with comfortable bed. Friendly staff. We passed through some hotels that would have suited better to us. If you are not fussy this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear jw1988,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at The James Chicago. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient and that our friendly staff made a positive impression. I am disappointed that we were not conducive to your preferences; we always try to uniquely accommodate each guest and assist in making your stay outstanding. If you decide to visit again, our team would be glad to help in advance. Thank you again for writing and I hope to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am not set to arrive at the James Chicago for 5 days but the service I have received so far has been incredible. The managers' responsiveness and attention to detail for my upcoming stay has made me even more confident that I have chosen the best hotel for mine and my husband's anniversary get-away.
Can't wait to arrive. Thank you in advance for providing such exceptional service. It did not go unnoticed. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Lesley W,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your first impressions about The James Chicago. I am pleased to hear that our wonderful team has provided outstanding service in advance of your arrival. Most of all, I am truly grateful that you and your husband have chosen to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. I hope that you will enjoy your upcoming stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you in a few days!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Has a somewhat modern/European look to the rooms. The concierge desk was great help with information but very busy as well. The spa is worth a visit and the gym is well equipped. Oh! And "James" works there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Hwolk,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a massage at Asha Spa onsite, and especially that our concierge team were helpful in assisting your stay. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The James offers excellent value for a city hotel. The room was very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable and the dispensers in the bathroom are very good, no fiddling with those little bottles! The staff were very polite and helpful and happy to give advice and directions no matter how often we asked. Well done,The James.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sohotobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear sohotobrighton,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your compliments of our spacious rooms and are glad that you felt you received a great value. Most of all, I am delighted that our helpful staff attributed to a great overall experience. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent the weekend in this trendy hotel. Great spa and gym! Wonderful facials and massages. Very well designed rooms, compact, clean lines. Excellent location and wonderful service. Choice of pillows, choice of newspapers to be delivered daily. Did not utilize the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Sheila B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our location, stylish rooms, and pillow menu. I am delighted that those factors, as well as our amazing staff, attributed to an overall great experience with us. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed her for a meeting. Meeting space was ok... the divided room for the meeting had a very noisy group next to us that was a distraction.

Room was ok, for a Chicago room, with 2 full size beds (had requested a king size but checked in very late due to travel). The shower curtain rod was loose, they did not replace the towels that I left on the floor (had 2 more towels so was not an issue as I was alone).

The "bar" area is really not a bar but a hotel lobby with wait staff... ok but wish that there was a bar to sit at and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I would like to apologize for any shortcomings your experienced, both with the meeting room noise as well as the issues in your room. It is never our goal to provide an average experience, but an outstanding one, and I am truly sorry that we did not meet our own high expectations. Please note that the current bar arrangement was only temporary as we refreshed the space; we are excited to share the new lobby bar with our guests in the very near future. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 192 in Chicago
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,141 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $147 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse and the Primehouse Bar - a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing