We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
$528
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$880
$675
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$324
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$787
$607
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,557)
Filter reviews
3,557 results
Traveler rating
2,203
949
249
99
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,203
949
249
99
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader joe's across the streetmedia roomloft suitegreat locationfiltered waterboutique hotelturn down servicebath productswet barmini barmichigan avenuestreet noisemagnificent milebed was very comfortableriver norththe windy citymag mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,359 - 2,364 of 3,557 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Has a somewhat modern/European look to the rooms. The concierge desk was great help with information but very busy as well. The spa is worth a visit and the gym is well equipped. Oh! And "James" works there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Hwolk,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a massage at Asha Spa onsite, and especially that our concierge team were helpful in assisting your stay. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The James offers excellent value for a city hotel. The room was very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable and the dispensers in the bathroom are very good, no fiddling with those little bottles! The staff were very polite and helpful and happy to give advice and directions no matter how often we asked. Well done,The James.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sohotobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear sohotobrighton,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your compliments of our spacious rooms and are glad that you felt you received a great value. Most of all, I am delighted that our helpful staff attributed to a great overall experience. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent the weekend in this trendy hotel. Great spa and gym! Wonderful facials and massages. Very well designed rooms, compact, clean lines. Excellent location and wonderful service. Choice of pillows, choice of newspapers to be delivered daily. Did not utilize the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Sheila B,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our location, stylish rooms, and pillow menu. I am delighted that those factors, as well as our amazing staff, attributed to an overall great experience with us. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed her for a meeting. Meeting space was ok... the divided room for the meeting had a very noisy group next to us that was a distraction.

Room was ok, for a Chicago room, with 2 full size beds (had requested a king size but checked in very late due to travel). The shower curtain rod was loose, they did not replace the towels that I left on the floor (had 2 more towels so was not an issue as I was alone).

The "bar" area is really not a bar but a hotel lobby with wait staff... ok but wish that there was a bar to sit at and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago. I would like to apologize for any shortcomings your experienced, both with the meeting room noise as well as the issues in your room. It is never our goal to provide an average experience, but an outstanding one, and I am truly sorry that we did not meet our own high expectations. Please note that the current bar arrangement was only temporary as we refreshed the space; we are excited to share the new lobby bar with our guests in the very near future. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at The James close to a half of a dozen times in the past 2 years and it never disappoints. You feel welcome from the second the doorman tips his hat as you arrive. The front desk is always very accommodating to early check-ins and the other various room requests i have had. The rooms are always so comfortable. I especially love the fact that there is FREE bottled water in the rooms. Other hotels charge up to $10 for this and I am always really grateful for this. I have stayed there for both business and pleasure and this team always knocks it out of the park!

Room Tip: They are all good, however I prefer a room on the back side as they tend to be a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannonac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear shannonac79,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at The James Chicago. We are truly grateful for your loyalty to us and that our team here continues to impress on each visit. I am also glad that you enjoy our comfortable rooms and our amenities, such as the triple filtered water, continually make each stay a great one. Thank you again for taking the time to write us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews