We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
$124
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$201
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$123
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$228
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
$170
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$425
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,575)
Filter reviews
3,575 results
Traveler rating
2,209
955
252
101
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,209
955
252
101
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrader joe's across the streetloft suitemedia roomfiltered waterboutique hotelturn down servicebath productsmini barwet barmichigan avenuestreet noisemagnificent milebed was very comfortableriver northmag milethe windy city
Filter
Updating list...
2,393 - 2,398 of 3,575 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When traveling on business, few things are more impressive than the ease and comfort that comes with staying at The James. I was able to check in a bit early (1pm and they had a room available) and the nook within the room makes for the best afternoon work station you can get. The rooms are well appointed with organic bath soaps and they take time to reduce their carbon footprint without expense to a luxurious experience for a weary business traveler. I was pleasantly surprised and the small touches (a modern chair with great ottoman to rest before client meetings) bring this hotel to the top of my list when in Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaphazardGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear HaphazardGourmet,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments of our property and that you found the room to be conducive to your needs while traveling on business. Additionally, we are glad that you appreciate our efforts to be environmentally conscious and enjoyed the Intelligent Nutrient bath products as well. Most of all, we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us again. Thank you again for writing, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The James Hotel. From the beginning, the staff was very friendly. We arrived a few hours before the 2:00 check in time and they were able to accommodate and get us in a room. They had a Valentine Special when we booked our room and chose a one bedroom apartment. The room was very spacious. We left our room to go workout for a few hours and came back to a nice bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberry's. Good thing we worked out! The workout room was large and had everything that we needed. Weights, treadmill, elliptical, stretching mats, foam rollers, and medicine balls.
We also had a credit for the restaurant. We had a great lunch and would highly recommend you eat here. We will definitely be back to The James next time in Chicago!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear KMD1234,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your generous compliments about our gym and especially our friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment suite and hope that you had an enjoyable Valentine's Day experience with us. Thank you again for writing, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The James. The bed is comfortable, the sheets are soft, the service staff is excellent and not invasive and I feel secure there as a woman travelling alone. The towels are large and fluffy. The hotel is spotlessly clean. I can't think of one thing that I didn't like! It was raining hard when I arrived and the doorman was at the door of my cab with a large umbrella. I didn't want to go out that night for dinner and deal with the bad weather, so I asked about the restaurant in the hotel, David Burke's Primehouse, as I didn't have a reservation and I don't eat meat. The hotel concierge procured a table for me and there were plenty of menu choices for non-carnivores as well as their beautiful steaks. I am already looking forward to my next stay at The James!

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the courtyard. I believe it is quieter there than the street side, and I don't care about a view when at The James.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear edyrp,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our clean rooms, thanks to our superb housekeeping team, and that you enjoyed your meal at David Burke's Primehouse. Most of all, it is great to hear that you are a returning guest, as we are truly grateful for your loyalty to us. Thank you again for staying, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I and wife stayed several days at the James. It was a super experience. Never have I experienced such pleasant hospitality. The staff attitudes towards us guests illustrates the fine example for the travel industry set by this hotel. Desk personnel who remember your name. Doormen who warmly greet visitors. Bar attendants quick to solicit an order. Floor and lobby attendants anxious to insure your comfort and provide any information requested. Speedy responses to service requests. What an experience. Yes these are employees but they exude an attitude closer to friends and family. Behind this performance must lie a management and training team more than just a bit competent. Let's try excellent. Add this fine employee performance to the hotel's location in the heart of Chicago within walking distance to many attractions and public transport it made our visit to Chicago a fine event.

Room Tip: The upper floors give a bit more view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear JimM857,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. It is our aim to provide our guests with a luxury liberated experience in all aspects of their stay, and the highest compliment that we can recieve is to hear that our amazing team made your stay outstanding. I am truly humbled by your compliments of us, and sharing your thoughts with both myself and other travelers on Trip Advisor. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

great hotel! minimalist scando style but with all top attention to major and small details from organic products in bathroom to decor to lighting to the in room breakfast service, and all at a great price. staff also extremely friendly and helpful as well as ideal central location. highly highly recommended. wish there were more " James" in the world....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costello1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear costello1973,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We are grateful to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful, and that you enjoyed some of amenities, such as the Intelligent Nutrients bath products. Most of all, we are truly thankful for your gracious recommendation of us to other travelers. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Stephen Blackford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews