We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 1/2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #52 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night in early January. I do not agree that this is a 4 1/2 star hotel.

The good - The location is fantastic for exploring the River North Mag Mile area. There are lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance and the shopping is, of course, wonderful. It is a short 5-7 minute walk to the river on Michigan Avenue and about a 10-15 walk north to Water Tower Place. The staff is friendly - everyone from check in to cleaning staff seemed to have a genuine smile. The valet parking with in and out privileges was nice, but pricey ($52). We had a room with 2 double beds - comfortable, but a bit too soft for me - comfy pillows - the room was clean. There is a stocked mini fridge and snack cabinet - high prices as you'd expect. My 12 year old asked what the Mile High Intimacy Kit was that was next to the containers of gummy bears and cashew nuts...I successfully skirted the subject. We did have breakfast in the restaurant adjacent to the lobby and thought it was good. I didn't try the room service, but it was available.

The average - As others have said, road noise is a bit of an issue. One problem we noticed was that one of our windows wasn't closed properly at the top, leaving a 1 inch gap with the cold wind coming into the room...and lots of road noise. I was able to fix the window, but they are poorly sealed. It was freezing by the windows. Closing the shade helped some. We were on the 11th floor, and once I set the thermostat to have the fan run constantly, the road noise didn't bother us at all. The rooms are very small, and the sitting area is a tiny padded bench tucked away in a corner. My daughter tried to sit back there for a moment, but it was like she was banished to a closet. While the beds are comfortable, there was nothing in the room that says this is a 4 1/2 star hotel. Ikea type furniture doesn't stand up well to hotel use. And then it was all of the little things that didn't go with the 4 1/2 star rating - cheapest kleenex and toilet paper possible, rough, thin towels & robe, and a large flat screen TV without HD. We rented an in room movie (Avengers - $15) and were thoroughly annoyed at the rainbow colored fuzz that dominated the screen. It was tough to look past it and enjoy the movie. The turndown service was fine. They emptied our garbage which was getting rather full. They re-fluffed our beds, laid out a robe (which I then hung back in the closet), turned on the clock radio (which I then turned off), left fresh ice in the ice bucket, and left one small cookie (which my daughter enjoyed).

Maybe I've gotten too spoiled from staying at other hotels in the city. We go into the city for a night or two about 3 times a year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear IWantAnotherVacation, Thank you for taking the time to share about you time at The James Chicago. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. The issues you reported are not the experience we expect our guests to have, and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, or our own. I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss these issues with you offline, and I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to re-coup your confidence in us the next time you visit Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,365 - 2,371 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our The James vist at Chicago was between December 23 and December 27
Their early check in at 2pm and late check out at 2pm is simply amazing. No need to rush in the mornings.
The room service is great, very very clean. And the added luxury with the turndown service is a great touch.
The concierge service and the room service is fast and very friendly.
I did mention it is great for the kids, becuase they have a wii that you can have while your staying and let me tell you my kids did not even want to go out to the field museum :)
The location is great it is close to everything, we did rent a car though no one wants to walk or bike in the winter especially in the Windy City.
The restaurent is a must especially their breakfast.. Nummy their sirloin, eggs and holidanse sause is just amazing.. Especially the way they present it. And of course there staff are very friendly.
Great relaxing luxurious family vacation with kids :)
Thank you James Chicago looking forward to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Danny M, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago. We truly appreciate your wonderful compliments, and are delighted that our 2:00 PM check out and nightly turndown service made for an overall luxurious experience for you and that our Wii made the trip fun for your children. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the James Chicago three times in the past few months, and each experience was good. The service at the hotel is great, and the rooms are spacious and well decorated. Not to mention its situated 30 seconds off michigan avenue which makes it convenient for food, drinks, sightseeing and shopping too! planning on going back there next month, im sure it will be solid as always.

Room Tip: if you can, ask for rooms closer to the elevator; if you get stuck in a room far away it could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear VD89, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The James Chicago. We thank you for your great compliments of our hotel, and are especially pleased that our staff made your stay a great one. Most of all, we are truly grateful for your continued loyalty to us, and hope that you continue to have an outstanding experience every time. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The James hotel in Chicago from Jan.16 - Jan.18 2012. It has taken my quite a while to post this review, but I felt the need to share my wonderful experience. From the second we stepped foot out of the taxi, the door man was there to kindly greet us on our way while carrying our bags for us. Check-in was a breeze and we were in our rooms in no time. Upon walking into our room we noticed the beautiful artwork displayed all throughout the hotel. It adds a very luxurious feel to your stay. The room was splendid, plenty of space and very open. The bedding was fantastic and we slept like babies our their big plush bed. We did not eat at the restaurant, but from what we heard it was very good for the price.

All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be coming back to The James in our near future. Great job to the staff for making our stay warm and pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manninod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear manninod, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The James Chicago. We appreciate all guest feedback and are truly humbled that we left a lasting great impression, especially being a year after your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments of our staff and art; it is especially great to hear that you plan on visiting us in the near future. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I got this room on SniqueAway for $139, and with an extra $25 credit from them, the total ended up being only $114 for the room. For the location, and the quality of the hotel, this was an Excellent price. The only real drawback was that the valet parking was $52 per night. I knew that going in, but it just seems exorbitant. Oh well.

Check-in was a breeze. They had us in the room within 5 minutes of arrival. The room was a contemporary urban decor with wood tones all around and a crisp white bed. Our 10th floor room overlooked Ontario St. Not much of a view, but ample light, etc. The bed was very comfortable. A small chaise lounge and loveseat with a small table rounded out the room. It appeared that if you were a business traveler, there wasn't necessarily a traditional desk where you might sey up your laptop or be able to write .

By far the best part of this hotel was it's Mag Mile location. You're a block west of Michigan Avenue and the shopping is right at your doorstep. If you were here for a shopping getaway, it would be hard to top the location. Maybe a little farther south than you would like if you wanted to be near Water Tower, but you are still right in the middle of a wide range of shopping options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schererville_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Schererville_Native, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The James Chicago. I am glad to hear that you had a great experience with our front desk and enjoyed your room. We appreciate your recommendation of us and are glad that you especially liked our convenient location in the city. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed the week before Christmas, room 1620. Room was perfect clean,neat smelled great. Really liked the location off this hotel. First time we stayed here and was very impressed. The check in was seamless and smooth and or bell hop was just great and explained everything our room had to offer. We had two great nights starting in the lobby bar with great drinks and even better service. The only complaint was that when we were trying to leave we waited over a hour on a Sunday morning to get our car from the valet, I think they lost or ticket. But they swore they were just real busy? And we even called ahead 20 min before we went down to the lobby area so Idk. But it's a great hotel with clean room and friendly staff. Would like to try the chop house in the hotel next time as the smells were wonderful coming from there!

Room Tip: Our room 1620 looked onto a rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Nathan H, Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at The James Chicago. We appreciate your candid feedback about your stay and are glad that you felt your room was perfect with outstanding service from our team. I would like to apologize for the unfortunate delay with your vehicle; this is not the experience we anticipate any guest to have, and am sorry for the inconvenience this caused. I hope that we will again have the opportunity to see you at The James the next time you visit Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The James, a gift from my adult children, to
celebrate my 60th birthday. As we pulled up, I thought, what a sweet , old hotel.
Then we walked inside. Wow. Completely renovated, modern and fabulous.
The room was even better! Great beds, all the amenities, we were pleasantly
shocked and thrilled! The restaurant was fabulous! The location perfect! We can't
wait to go again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Susan S, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us! We are grateful for your compliments, and are glad that you enjoyed our decor and comfortably modern rooms. On behalf of all of us at The James, we wish you a very Happy Birthday and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#58 of 191 in Chicago
4,049 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $134 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience locally-inspired, seasonal dishes - morning, noon and night at The James Kitchen + Bar. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing