We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Arty contemporary hotel at Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #37 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arty contemporary hotel at Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here just for 2 nights in December 2012 prior to the Christmas rush! Excellent location. All the staff are very friendly. Although we didn't have one, its also dog friendly hotel. We were a bit early for checkin but still accommodated without delay. The check-in / check-out time is 2pm. On our last day we asked for a late checkout and got one for 16:00 which was great as it allowed us to see more of the city with packing up. We used their gym too which was very complete.
The hotel itself is very contemporary and clean looking a well as actually clean. The room was a very decent size with a separate sitting area - you also have control of the heating and ventilation system. They use very Eco friendly products which I loved. Overall a very nice place to stay in an excellent location and very good value (they also have free wifi).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handsoff78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear handsoff78, Thank you for sharing about your stay at The James Chicago; we very much appreciate your feedback about our rooms and amenities. I am glad to hear that our attentive staff was able to assist with your late departure request, enabling you to enjoy Chicago a bit longer. Thank you again for your wonderful compliments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    769
    198
    78
    44
See reviews for
422
1,142
168
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The room is very comfortable, with a fantastic bed, a living room and the toillet is cute. The staff is extremely kind, the location is the best in town! In the middle of michigan ave. And state ave. The price is fair enough! Great option for couples.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank renata r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear renata r, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, but most of all, that our wonderful staff made your stay a special one. We hope that you will visit us again the next time your travel plans return you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very nice room, well stocked snacks and bar (but way over priced). The bed was a dream and the pillows were perfect. Nice shower products and comfy robes. We were on the main street which was busy and a bit noisy but okay. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: upper floors give you a better view of the city but, if voices really carry upwards from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakleckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear kakleckner, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that you were able to relax during your stay, and that our bed and amenities provided you with the luxurious experience you deserve. Most of all, we are glad to hear that you would like to stay again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Everything was perfect. Check-in and out was efficient, rooms were fantastic, location is situated perfectly to enjoy Chicago. Elevator is fast, free wifi is nice, rooms were very clean and modern. Highly recommended!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suites worth upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Steven L, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at The James Chicago. We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments and that your stay was perfect. We appreciate your recommendation of us to other travelers and hope that you will stay with us the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say. Excellent location in the middle of everything in town. The room was comfortable and stylish with all the amenities you could want with the little touches that make it above and beyond a normal hotel. The shampoos, etc., were really wonderful and I might actually buy them for myself, plus there were nice robes and luxury bedding. To me, the sign of a great hotel is when there is a bucket full of ice waiting for you when you come in for the night. Nothing to do but relax!

We did not try the restaurant, but the J Bar was great. Trendy but relaxed and they bring you fantastic snacks with your drinks.

Finally, the staff was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerCat350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear GingerCat350, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our hotel and are delighted to hear that the small touches, such as our Intelligent Nutrients bath products and ice at turndown service, made you stay truly special. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not only is the James a beautiful hotel in a great location, the staff is awesome. We only had a short stay, but they definitely go the extra mile to provide great service. The location is just north of the river by many touristy restaurants, but a short walk from all the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmmaurer219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jmmaurer219, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We love to hear guest feedback and we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am glad that this is what you experienced. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have nothing but praise. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, there was a great bathroom, very clean and bright, lighting was good in both. The free WiFi speed was just ok. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. I checked in just after the advertised 2pm check in time but the room wasn’t ready. This is probably a function of the 2pm check out time, so I’m not complaining.

The location is excellent, a block west of Michigan Avenue and just 3 or 4 east of the restaurants in the River North area. Parking is an issue though. There’s a structure a couple of blocks west on Ontario that charges around $40/day. The valet is an eye-watering $52, but it does make life easier.

Overall, one of the best Chicago hotels I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear MIfamilyguy, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago. I am glad that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We appreciate your understanding in regards to the delayed check in; it's great to hear that this inconvenience did not deter from your overall positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#15 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#40 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing