We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecction!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Everything was perfect. Check-in and out was efficient, rooms were fantastic, location is situated perfectly to enjoy Chicago. Elevator is fast, free wifi is nice, rooms were very clean and modern. Highly recommended!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suites worth upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Steven L, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at The James Chicago. We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments and that your stay was perfect. We appreciate your recommendation of us to other travelers and hope that you will stay with us the next time you visit Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 3,396 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say. Excellent location in the middle of everything in town. The room was comfortable and stylish with all the amenities you could want with the little touches that make it above and beyond a normal hotel. The shampoos, etc., were really wonderful and I might actually buy them for myself, plus there were nice robes and luxury bedding. To me, the sign of a great hotel is when there is a bucket full of ice waiting for you when you come in for the night. Nothing to do but relax!

We did not try the restaurant, but the J Bar was great. Trendy but relaxed and they bring you fantastic snacks with your drinks.

Finally, the staff was excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerCat350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear GingerCat350, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our hotel and are delighted to hear that the small touches, such as our Intelligent Nutrients bath products and ice at turndown service, made you stay truly special. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not only is the James a beautiful hotel in a great location, the staff is awesome. We only had a short stay, but they definitely go the extra mile to provide great service. The location is just north of the river by many touristy restaurants, but a short walk from all the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmmaurer219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Jmmaurer219, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. We love to hear guest feedback and we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am glad that this is what you experienced. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have nothing but praise. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, there was a great bathroom, very clean and bright, lighting was good in both. The free WiFi speed was just ok. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. I checked in just after the advertised 2pm check in time but the room wasn’t ready. This is probably a function of the 2pm check out time, so I’m not complaining.

The location is excellent, a block west of Michigan Avenue and just 3 or 4 east of the restaurants in the River North area. Parking is an issue though. There’s a structure a couple of blocks west on Ontario that charges around $40/day. The valet is an eye-watering $52, but it does make life easier.

Overall, one of the best Chicago hotels I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear MIfamilyguy, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago. I am glad that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We appreciate your understanding in regards to the delayed check in; it's great to hear that this inconvenience did not deter from your overall positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked on Hotwire and was skeptical because I wasn't familiar with the hotel. From the moment I arrived it was beyond a pleasure. The staff was fantastic and the hotel was very clean. Location was also perfect. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Cam5781, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your compliments of our staff and comfortable beds, all of which attributed to your great experience with us. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have been to this hotel a number of times now. I have gone for both business trips and getaway weekends.
Each visit exceeded my expectations. The staff and facilities are fantastic.
The location can't be beat.
I guarantee if you go you will go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Tim D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your return trip to The James Chicago! We appreciate your wonderful compliments, and especially that our staff continues to exceed your expectations. We are very thankful that you have stayed with us before; we are very appreciative of your continued loyalty to The James. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Firstly let Me start with the location. It is a prime area, Close to absolutely everything. Mag Mile and all the River North Restaurants and bars. We were greeted by wonderfully warm and helpful staff, Julie at the front desk made our check in seamless. Took maybe 2 minutes tops. Wonderful starter pack to give us all the local information. Got a complimentary upgrade and also Choc dipped fruit and champagne delivered to our room for our Anniversary. What a nice touch and wonderful start to our stay. Room was large with great shower. Modern in looks with little things like dimmers,wet bar and many other little extras. Bed was huge, Really comfortable, We had a room on the 6th floor and had no issues with any noise from the street. Nightly turn down service with a little gift from the restaurant downstairs. Just another extra to make the James stand apart. Great concierge in Mina, Very helpful and also very beautiful. Would not hesitate in returning to the James, We are already planning our next visit.Big shout out to Latrice in Reservations for all her help with the booking. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom71_Tina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Tom71_Tina76, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at The James Hotel. We very much appreciate your review and recognition of our truly outstanding staff. We are humbled by your wonderful compliments of our hotel, and are thrilled that our staff made you experience outstanding. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 192 in Chicago
3,892 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,145 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#35 of 192 in Chicago
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $146 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering a seamless way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse and the Primehouse Bar - a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as rotating artwork from local, national and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing