We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel. Great service and Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Starts in a crowded downtown location which is a bit hard to find. We drove right by it twice. Hint: it's about 3blocks north of the downtown Marriott and just a few block from Michigan shopping. Parking is pricey, but that's true everywhere in that area. The room was modern, attractive and comfortable. The restaurant on grounds is excellent. We heard about their aged steaks on Food Channel and weren't disappointed. Spa services are available and my wife said they were great. The bar tends to get crowded during after work happy hour so go early to stake out your seat. The concierge was excellent. Got us right into two very nice restaurants he'd recommended. Within walking distance of Miracle Mile shopping. I'd go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshman42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Welshman42256, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We appreciate your kind compliments and are glad to hear that our comfortable rooms, David Burke's Primehouse, and concierge staff all attributed to a great experience with us. We are especially pleased that you would stay with us again and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,286 - 2,292 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is so good at courting their guests. They think of so many great details that make this place feel homey and comfortable. Unlike most stuffy hotels where the air is stale and the rooms smell/feel strange, The James does all the right things to make you fall hard.

They leave cookies on your bed, water by your bedside, and a comfortable robe in time of need. The bathroom products are divine, the hallways smell great and you can even open your window for some fresh air.

The lobby is super cozy and they have hot chocolate around the clock when it's cold outside, fresh juice in the summer. They have a great gym with fully functioning machines and TVs. Also, the prices are generally affordable if you book far enough in advance.

If they keep this up, I could certainly develop a lifelong relationship with The James.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear simocrates, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are flattered and truly humbled to hear that our amazing staff and attention to detail won you over. We also very much hope that your experience does develop into a longterm relationship. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the James for our first annual mother-daughter Christmas weekend. We could not have been happier with our choice. The service, their employees, our room and general atmosphere were all 'impeccable'. We couldn't have made a better choice and decided we will keep this place for our next weekend out. This was everything and MORE than I could have ever hoped for. We highly recommend staying at The James, which by the way, is located perfectly for shopping, Kris Kringle Market, Theatre...etc.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early, so that if upgrades are available you DO get them. We got 2 upgrades...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Kathy M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago! We are truly honored by your kind compliments of our impeccable staff and that you chose us for your mother/daughter weekend. We are thrilled that you will stay with us again, and I hope that your first annual Christmas weekend becomes a tradition. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Every year, we host a corporate Holiday Cocktail Party at Navy Pier. This year we booked a block of rooms at The James Chicago, and all I can say is...we will be back next year! What a fabulous hotel. Every aspect was wonderful; the location, decor, car service, staff, amenities. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and courteous, and the location of the hotel could not have been better for us. I heard nothing but rave reviews from our employees and customers. This is a true gem...can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Mindy P, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled that you and your work associates had a wonderful time and that our professional staff made your experience outstanding. We very much appreciate your compliments and especially that you plan on returning again next year. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best part of the James Chicago was by farthe service. The entire staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. I would go back I a heart beat and recommend to anyone based on this alone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Jsd33, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at The James Chicago. It is truly humbling to hear that this was the was the best hotel experience you have had thanks to our great staff, which is the best compliment that we can recieve. We appreciate your recommendation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The James is in a perfect location for spending time on the Magnificent Mile. The staff are courteous, attentive, and very helpful. They were willing to engage in conversation which made it feel more homey and friendly. Our room (1704) was modern, minimal in decor, but clean and well stocked with above and beyond amenities. The housekeeping staff did a great job. The room is stocked with a great tea pot and Starbucks coffee plus a bottle of purified water on the bed stand. My only negative observation is that there is no mirror in the main room. When my daughter was in the bathroom I had no mirror to get myself ready. Not a huge thing, but would have been nice. The bathroom is modern and very roomy. The towels, robes, shower curtains etc were all bright white and fluffy. They looked new. I appreciated all the thoughtfulness that went in to the amenities. We didn't use anything from the well stocked snack and wet bar (too expensive) but was impressed at all that they provided if you wanted something. Trader Joe' is just across the street if you choose to buy your own snacks and drinks. The fitness room is packed full (a little too packed) with impressive equipment. They provide towels, fruited water, head phones and even fresh fruit and it's open 24 hours which is awesome.. Major newspapers from around the country are provided at the front desk along with fresh brewed coffee and chai apple cider if you want to relax in the lobby. I would have liked to see some decorating for Christmas in the lobby but it didn't take away from our stay. We visited several other hotels and public events to see all the incredible Christmas displays. I would totally stay at the James again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Ontario Street or the top floor so that you get a nice night view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurelS289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Laurel S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and especially that our friendly staff made you feel like you were at home. We appreciate your honest feedback with the mirror in your room and Christmas decorations; we highly value our guests' opinions to continually improve our services and ensure a positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent two nights at The James, 25-27 October, and could not have been happier. The wife and I arrived on a Thursday evening to smiling faces at the valet drop off (no self-park available....and valet is $52/night...fyi). Checked in with no wait and made our way up to the room. Not sure, but I think we had a deluxe room as we had a sitting area with second TV and a sofa. Really loved the room, although we didn't have a view worth mentioning, everything else was great; modern and clean. Huge tip of the 'ol hat to housekeeping, who took care of my wife's physical manifestation of overdrinking without issue (we cleaned up all we could and left a large tip). If the location of this hotel or the 2 p.m. checkout aren't enough to please, good luck in your search!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear BooCo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your recommendation of us to other travelers and appreciate your compliments of our modern rooms, late check out, and helpful housekeeping staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,659 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $182 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing