We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Boutique Hotel. Great service and Amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #39 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel. Great service and Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Starts in a crowded downtown location which is a bit hard to find. We drove right by it twice. Hint: it's about 3blocks north of the downtown Marriott and just a few block from Michigan shopping. Parking is pricey, but that's true everywhere in that area. The room was modern, attractive and comfortable. The restaurant on grounds is excellent. We heard about their aged steaks on Food Channel and weren't disappointed. Spa services are available and my wife said they were great. The bar tends to get crowded during after work happy hour so go early to stake out your seat. The concierge was excellent. Got us right into two very nice restaurants he'd recommended. Within walking distance of Miracle Mile shopping. I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshman42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelCartagena, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Welshman42256, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We appreciate your kind compliments and are glad to hear that our comfortable rooms, David Burke's Primehouse, and concierge staff all attributed to a great experience with us. We are especially pleased that you would stay with us again and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    798
    202
    79
    46
See reviews for
433
1,178
171
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
simocrates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is so good at courting their guests. They think of so many great details that make this place feel homey and comfortable. Unlike most stuffy hotels where the air is stale and the rooms smell/feel strange, The James does all the right things to make you fall hard.

They leave cookies on your bed, water by your bedside, and a comfortable robe in time of need. The bathroom products are divine, the hallways smell great and you can even open your window for some fresh air.

The lobby is super cozy and they have hot chocolate around the clock when it's cold outside, fresh juice in the summer. They have a great gym with fully functioning machines and TVs. Also, the prices are generally affordable if you book far enough in advance.

If they keep this up, I could certainly develop a lifelong relationship with The James.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear simocrates, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are flattered and truly humbled to hear that our amazing staff and attention to detail won you over. We also very much hope that your experience does develop into a longterm relationship. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the James for our first annual mother-daughter Christmas weekend. We could not have been happier with our choice. The service, their employees, our room and general atmosphere were all 'impeccable'. We couldn't have made a better choice and decided we will keep this place for our next weekend out. This was everything and MORE than I could have ever hoped for. We highly recommend staying at The James, which by the way, is located perfectly for shopping, Kris Kringle Market, Theatre...etc.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early, so that if upgrades are available you DO get them. We got 2 upgrades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Kathy M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago! We are truly honored by your kind compliments of our impeccable staff and that you chose us for your mother/daughter weekend. We are thrilled that you will stay with us again, and I hope that your first annual Christmas weekend becomes a tradition. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butlerville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Every year, we host a corporate Holiday Cocktail Party at Navy Pier. This year we booked a block of rooms at The James Chicago, and all I can say is...we will be back next year! What a fabulous hotel. Every aspect was wonderful; the location, decor, car service, staff, amenities. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and courteous, and the location of the hotel could not have been better for us. I heard nothing but rave reviews from our employees and customers. This is a true gem...can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mindy P, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled that you and your work associates had a wonderful time and that our professional staff made your experience outstanding. We very much appreciate your compliments and especially that you plan on returning again next year. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best part of the James Chicago was by farthe service. The entire staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. I would go back I a heart beat and recommend to anyone based on this alone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jsd33, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at The James Chicago. It is truly humbling to hear that this was the was the best hotel experience you have had thanks to our great staff, which is the best compliment that we can recieve. We appreciate your recommendation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The James is in a perfect location for spending time on the Magnificent Mile. The staff are courteous, attentive, and very helpful. They were willing to engage in conversation which made it feel more homey and friendly. Our room (1704) was modern, minimal in decor, but clean and well stocked with above and beyond amenities. The housekeeping staff did a great job. The room is stocked with a great tea pot and Starbucks coffee plus a bottle of purified water on the bed stand. My only negative observation is that there is no mirror in the main room. When my daughter was in the bathroom I had no mirror to get myself ready. Not a huge thing, but would have been nice. The bathroom is modern and very roomy. The towels, robes, shower curtains etc were all bright white and fluffy. They looked new. I appreciated all the thoughtfulness that went in to the amenities. We didn't use anything from the well stocked snack and wet bar (too expensive) but was impressed at all that they provided if you wanted something. Trader Joe' is just across the street if you choose to buy your own snacks and drinks. The fitness room is packed full (a little too packed) with impressive equipment. They provide towels, fruited water, head phones and even fresh fruit and it's open 24 hours which is awesome.. Major newspapers from around the country are provided at the front desk along with fresh brewed coffee and chai apple cider if you want to relax in the lobby. I would have liked to see some decorating for Christmas in the lobby but it didn't take away from our stay. We visited several other hotels and public events to see all the incredible Christmas displays. I would totally stay at the James again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Ontario Street or the top floor so that you get a nice night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Laurel S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and especially that our friendly staff made you feel like you were at home. We appreciate your honest feedback with the mirror in your room and Christmas decorations; we highly value our guests' opinions to continually improve our services and ensure a positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent two nights at The James, 25-27 October, and could not have been happier. The wife and I arrived on a Thursday evening to smiling faces at the valet drop off (no self-park available....and valet is $52/night...fyi). Checked in with no wait and made our way up to the room. Not sure, but I think we had a deluxe room as we had a sitting area with second TV and a sofa. Really loved the room, although we didn't have a view worth mentioning, everything else was great; modern and clean. Huge tip of the 'ol hat to housekeeping, who took care of my wife's physical manifestation of overdrinking without issue (we cleaned up all we could and left a large tip). If the location of this hotel or the 2 p.m. checkout aren't enough to please, good luck in your search!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear BooCo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your recommendation of us to other travelers and appreciate your compliments of our modern rooms, late check out, and helpful housekeeping staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#15 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#46 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing