We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay On the Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The James Chicago to your Saves list
The James Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $189
Ranked #35 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsdale, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay On the Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The James is in a perfect location for spending time on the Magnificent Mile. The staff are courteous, attentive, and very helpful. They were willing to engage in conversation which made it feel more homey and friendly. Our room (1704) was modern, minimal in decor, but clean and well stocked with above and beyond amenities. The housekeeping staff did a great job. The room is stocked with a great tea pot and Starbucks coffee plus a bottle of purified water on the bed stand. My only negative observation is that there is no mirror in the main room. When my daughter was in the bathroom I had no mirror to get myself ready. Not a huge thing, but would have been nice. The bathroom is modern and very roomy. The towels, robes, shower curtains etc were all bright white and fluffy. They looked new. I appreciated all the thoughtfulness that went in to the amenities. We didn't use anything from the well stocked snack and wet bar (too expensive) but was impressed at all that they provided if you wanted something. Trader Joe' is just across the street if you choose to buy your own snacks and drinks. The fitness room is packed full (a little too packed) with impressive equipment. They provide towels, fruited water, head phones and even fresh fruit and it's open 24 hours which is awesome.. Major newspapers from around the country are provided at the front desk along with fresh brewed coffee and chai apple cider if you want to relax in the lobby. I would have liked to see some decorating for Christmas in the lobby but it didn't take away from our stay. We visited several other hotels and public events to see all the incredible Christmas displays. I would totally stay at the James again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Ontario Street or the top floor so that you get a nice night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Laurel S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and especially that our friendly staff made you feel like you were at home. We appreciate your honest feedback with the mirror in your room and Christmas decorations; we highly value our guests' opinions to continually improve our services and ensure a positive experience. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    744
    187
    76
    43
See reviews for
400
1,114
165
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent two nights at The James, 25-27 October, and could not have been happier. The wife and I arrived on a Thursday evening to smiling faces at the valet drop off (no self-park available....and valet is $52/night...fyi). Checked in with no wait and made our way up to the room. Not sure, but I think we had a deluxe room as we had a sitting area with second TV and a sofa. Really loved the room, although we didn't have a view worth mentioning, everything else was great; modern and clean. Huge tip of the 'ol hat to housekeeping, who took care of my wife's physical manifestation of overdrinking without issue (we cleaned up all we could and left a large tip). If the location of this hotel or the 2 p.m. checkout aren't enough to please, good luck in your search!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear BooCo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at The James Chicago! We are truly humbled by your recommendation of us to other travelers and appreciate your compliments of our modern rooms, late check out, and helpful housekeeping staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We checked in around 2:45 on a Friday afternoon and were immediately met at the door by several gentlemen offering their assistance. Our room , 1704 on the top floor was in the style of modern minimalist except in the mini bar department. In addition to the small airline bottles in the refrigerator, there were larger size bottles in the bar cabinet along with the requisite snacks and a few other sundry items... including a "mobile intimacy kit" containing items you might need in case you were unprepared for an intimate get together. When my daughter realized she had forgotten her hairspray a call to the desk resulted in a small pump bottle of the hair spray being delivered to our room within 7 minutes.We enjoyed the offered turn down service which included fluffing and Laying out the 2heavy terry cloth bathrobes, and the placement of a chocolate mini brownie on the bed. My daughter was headed out to her office party that night and she asked the doorman for assistance in hailing a cab. However, instead of hailing her a cab, he hailed the house driver who drove her down to Navy Pier where her party was. Other than a tip, it cost her nothing. We had room service the next morning and our order was expected to take 30 minutes but was delivered piping hot in about 20 minutes. Check out at 2 pm was quick and the staff even stored our bags while we ran over to the Drake Hotel for high tea. My only complaint about the hotel was the cheap 1 ply toilet paper in the bathroom.. The image they are trying to portray is inconsistent with the use of such a thing. The towels were huge and thick and fluffy and the bath products were superior as well. Heard very little noise from neighbors. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Californiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear 1Californiatraveller, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us at The James Chicago! We appreciate that you decided to spend your mother/daughter getaway with us and that you had a great experience and enjoyed our amenities, such as turndown service and our house car service. We are especially honored that you would stay with us again; we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocera Umbra, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were touring the USA and choose the James Hotel in Chicago as a special treat so were very disappointed to find it was just an average hotel. We booked a table for dinner in their award winning restaurant but still had to wait in a crowded bar for 15 minutes to be seated while non guests were ushered into the dining room which rather spoilt what was otherwise an excellent meal. Perhaps they should decide whether they are a restaurant or an hotel. The location was ideal for exploring Chicago but really that's all we can recommend the hotel for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear fothcad, Thank you for taking the time write about your recent experience at The James Chicago. I sincerely apologize for the delay you experienced while waiting for your reservation at our restaurant and that it adversely affected your trip with us. Average is not how we expect our guests to feel after their stay, and I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations, and our ours. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again toThe James Chicago so that we may provide you with the level of service that you deserve and re-coup you confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed at The James Hotel in Chicago. It was the perfect hotel - super location for shopping on Michigan Avenue, wonderful room with lots of space and nice decor and furnishings, excellent service, welcoming feeling and overall perfect. The elevators were readily available with no wait time, nice bar in the loby area, and turn down bed service. There is a Trader Joe's across the street for snacks and a Home Goods Store around thre corner, and the Redheaded Parrot Piano Bar one block away. We will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvh7002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear cvh7002, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at The James Chicago. It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and, most of all, that you will stay with us again. Thank you again for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The James was a great hotel for a weekend getaway. The staff was terrific. Our room was not ready when we arrived and Melissa at the front desk provided us with a drink from the bar and then upgraded our room to a suite. The room was a good size with a great shower located at the end of a hallway. My criticisms of the hotel are few. Most significantly was the noise from slamming doors and the fact that I could hear my neighbors conversation through the wall while I sat on the couch in the living area. I spoke to the front desk who offered to ask them to lower their voices but since it was in the middle of the day and it did not seem like they were being particularly loud I declined the offer. I will say that the bedroom area was quiet. Some other minor complaints are: not all of the light switches seemed to work , there were not enough options for hanging up a wet towel to dry (trying to be environmentally friendly) and that the TV was relatively small in the bedroom area. The pluses for the room were the free replenished water in a glass pitcher instead of a pricey plastic bottle, a pillow menu and twice daily turndown service. I would come back to the hotel and stay again, especially since the company offers great promotions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear dtg001, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at The James Chicago! We appreicate your compliments of our turndown service and amenities, and are glad that you enjoyed the upgraded room. I would like to apologize again for the inconveniences you encountered, but I am glad that despite them, you had a positive experience overall. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pros:
- Great location. Mins away from a lot of great shopping.
- Comfortable beds, quite at night.
- Very friendly and knowledgeable staff!!
- Modern look and feel. iPod dock in the room, Large flat screen tv.
- I had to go back to my room because I forgot my sunglasses while the cleaning lady was cleaning the room. She asked me to swipe my room key to make sure I was staying there. Felt good knowing they don't let any random stranger walk into rooms.

Cons:
- Slow elevators.
- Rooms were slightly small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mike Z, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We appreciate your compliments of our modern rooms and amenities, and are delighted that our staff attributed to a great experience for you. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse-named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, the Primehouse Bar-perfect for afterwork cocktails or a full meal, The Patio-a seasonal urban oasis offering alfresco dining by David Burke's Primehouse and JIMMY Chicago, an intimated and unique craft cocktail lounge experience (open seasonally, October-April). Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing