We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“20th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #34 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“20th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband & I went here for our 20th anniversary. I read all the reviews & they all held true. We both loved the place. Very clean & the concierge service was great! Great location! This was our first visit to a "big city" & I must say I hope we come back again & stay at The James!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear stephenie p, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are truly honored that you chose us for your first trip to Chicago and especially for such a momentous occasion as your 20th anniversary. Thank you for your kind compliments of our concierge staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    762
    192
    77
    43
See reviews for
417
1,130
167
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The James Hotel is perfectly located to all tourist attractions and public transportations. Coming from O'Hare, the blue line / red line subway brings you right to the hotel ( 1.5 blocks ). The first impression was awesome...friendly bell boy, friendly stuff and a very inviting atmosphere. This is were I want to stay when I travel for business or pleasure. There were several newspapers and magazines available as well as something to drink. The room was very big and very tasteful decorated - quiet, bright and open with a nice bathroom (3 sets of towels were available and a bath robe ) and a big tv. Internet was also for free available. I stayed for only 2 nites but I enjoyed every single minute. Because my flight was leaving very late, I was able to arrange a late check out and later they stored my luggage until I left to the airport. Everybody was very helpful and friendly - job well done!

Room Tip: The higher the better is normally the suggestion when you stay in downtown in a large city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ingo S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, amenities, and most of all, that you felt like you were at home which is the experience we strive to provide to our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our second stay at the James and it was just as perfect this time. We cannot express enough how wonderful the staff are. Everybody is efficient, friendly and thoughtful. They remember our daughters name, remember our plans for the day, offer water at exactly the right moment, predict every last need. Housekeeping is prompt, doormen are spectacular, turndown reliable. I love the little touches like the complimentary hot chocolate with homemade flavored marshmallows.

If you are a foodie, the restaurant is superb, with the best bacon I have ever had. They serve food all throughout the day from a variety of menus. Do not skip their breakfast which is worth every penny. (Yes, it's expensive)

The only thing that I don't care for in the hotel are the bathroom doors. In order to save space, the designers added sliding doors in the bathrooms which limit privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esummerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Esummerfield, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The James Chicago! We are truly appreciative of you for staying with us again, and am glad to hear that you found your second trip to be just as enjoyable as the first. Thank you for your wonderful compliments of David Burke's Primehouse and especially, our great staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently stayed two nights at the James and thought it was good, not great but good. Check-in was easy and quick, we upgraded to a little larger room ($360 per night) which was a good thing because the rooms are not large. View we had looked directly into another building which appeared to be apartments so our shades had to remain closed most of the time. Bed was comfortable, nice robes for each of us and a nice wet bar. The location was great, just off Michigan Ave. and easy walk to Rush Street. SMALL bar downstairs, I think they had 6 seats at the bar and a couple of low couches. Very low-key atmosphere. Ate at David Burke's Primehouse one night and let's just say it was less than stellar!
All in all, the James was not bad but there are just too many great hotels in Chicago for the same money or less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear FitToLive, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The James Chicago. Although we are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of our hotel, we are disappointed that you found your stay to be just above average overall. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests at The James Chicago and apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. I very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back a second time and turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very well located, within walking distance of everything, close to the Magnificent Mile, easy walk to the River. Had a Trader Joe's store across the road, where you can buy lots to make your own sandwiches etc. The only drawback to me was the parking which was valet and offsite and cost over $50/day but a lot of downtown hotels are like that. Staff are friendly and helpful, would stay again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel06, Director of Rooms at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Margaret200, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with prosepective travelers on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind compliments of our helpful staff and are glad that our location was convenient for you to enjoy your trip. On behalf of the entire James team, we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Was close walking distance to shopping and great food! The room is great, cool modern vibe with great furniture! The bathroom the shampoo and conditioner are in bottles in large shower and they smell amazing.

We ordered room service a couple times, desserts were ok. We got the cake pop tree. We also ordered the burger and that was really good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelusa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear itravelusa86, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The James Chicago! We appreciate your generous compliments about our room service and our comfortably modern rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at this perfectly located, clean, friendly boutique hotel in 2010 and now in November, 2012. Just completed my recent stay while attending my conference at McCormick. This place has the right amount "cool" -- a friendly and helpful staff (everywhere), orange infused water and hot chocolate at the front door, free newspapers, a computer kiosk area, and a decent gym. The bar is under the radar and the turn down service with a Primehouse treat is a nice touch. I could always count on housekeeping for a clean room et al. Nice little touches such as filtered water at the bedside were cool, too. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on for a hotel. Oh yeah, if our buddy with the Audi Q7 is available, you can request a ride to somewhere within reason. Bottom line: The James Chicago has a certain "cool factor", and for the $$$, it is well worth the price of admission at Rush & Ontario. We did have our nightly conference rate which I thought was very fair for the Magnificent Mile area. No question, I'll be back in 3 years!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mssking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinByrnes, Front Desk Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear mssking, Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review about your recent stay with us at The James Chicago! We truly appreciate your repeat business and that you found our property and staff to be just as emjoyable the second time around. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#17 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,256 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#40 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,856 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse-named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, the Primehouse Bar-perfect for afterwork cocktails or a full meal, The Patio-a seasonal urban oasis offering alfresco dining by David Burke's Primehouse and JIMMY Chicago, an intimated and unique craft cocktail lounge experience (open seasonally, October-April). Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing