We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The James Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Chicago
Ranked #43 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Me and my wife decided to spend a few days in Chicago to get away (we like 90 min. north in Milwaukee), and couldnt have been more pleased with the James Hotel.

I saw a few negative reviews on this site, and let me be very clear...

This is a great hotel for anyone who enjoys modern/contemporary style. If you are looking for a traditional Ritz Carleton/ Waldorf Astoria style room, with plush and traditional appointments, this isnt the hotel for you. All fo the furniture and decorations are very sleek and hip, and I would describe the room as more "cool" than "warm" (and I am not referring to the temp).

This hotel is extremly commited to its contemporary urban astetic (which me and my wife love). The room, lobby, and bar are all over the top modern and the hotel has paid great attention to all the small details.

Aside from the ambiance/style of the hotel, the service is also excellent. Though it isnt exactly a small hotel, the service was very "boutique" like. All of our questions and requests were answered promptly, and everyone who works at the James is incredably upbeat and pleasant to work with. There always seemed to be plenty of staff in the lobby to give directions, restuarant tips, handle your luggage, or hail you a cab.

I stay at a lot of hotels, most of which aim to be bland enough to appeal to any type of travler. This is my favorite hotel I have ever stayed at, because it has such a strong personality and style. If you enjoy great service, an excellent location, reasonably priced rooms (for downtown Chicago), and most importantly a very hip contemporary setting... this is the place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Nickman44, Thank you so much for such a detailed review - sounds like had a really fun time in Chicago and were able to do so many things. We are glad you shared the secret. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    857
    218
    88
    51
See reviews for
477
1,268
181
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is modern and in a great location. I was doing some shopping on Michigan Avenue. The James is in a perfect location for that, along with dozens of other hotels, but the James is on a side street so it doesn't feel like the entire city is walking by. There's a Trader Joe's across the street if you want to buy some snacks, which I did when I first arrived, not knowing which restaurant to go to.

I used a discount website for my reservation, and the check-in was fast and without problems. I was paranoid about the room's cleanliness, and gave it a thorough check. When I asked the front desk about something I saw in the room that didn't look clean, they gave me an automatic upgrade to a higher floor suite, which was definitely quite clean. The suite was nice, but I really liked my cute regular-sized room. The room featured a kitchenette outfitted with a pitcher of filtered water, an electric kettle, complimentary teas, and Starbucks Via. They replace the filtered water whenever you ask, I believe. The front desk was happy to give me restaurant recommendations and they also held my bags so I could shop explore some more after checking out. I would recommend the James to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a joy it was to stay here. A pleasant corner room with an excellent city view at the corner of Ontario & Rush in Chicago. Just steps away from the magnificence of the Miracle Mile and the nightlife of Rush Street. The James Hotel welcomed us like the best hotels in the world do. Every service request was met with an immediate response and action. The room had upscale coffee, teas, water, and a huge (but city priced) mini bar selection. When there was a minor glitch with extra towels we requested, we received a nice personalized note of apology signed by 5-6 staff members along with fruit, granola and a bottle of sparkling water - all over a couple of late towels; and we had not really complained. The shower & spa soaps were refreshing, towels fluffy and the spa chioces were varied and seemed top notch. The rooms had a European flair to them with large sliding doors separating the bedroom & the main area and the bathroom and bedroom. Sound was not a problem. Room service was prompt, accurate & reasonable. The dining room was excellent - with a David Burke Steakhouse as the main theme. But they also did breakfast & lunch with style. We will definately stay here again - and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Request a corner room if you can get it. Try a spa experience too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will48084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived at the James Hotel at 10:00 AM and expected to be told that we would not be able to check in so early. We were plesantly surprised to hear that not only we could check in but that they had upgraded us. The staff were all pleasant and accomadating. Location is great, right in the heart of Chicago. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSainato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently visited the great city of Chicago for the wedding of a very old and dear friend. Booked the James by chance because it was walking distance from the church and the wedding reception.
What a great place! Everyone, yes, everyone made an effort to make me feel welcome. This is probably an understatement, I felt like a VIP. People kept smiling and greeting me as I entered or left the hotel.
The room itself (a king bed) was comfortably spacious, modern, relaxing! It included a full bar, real glasses for water, real china for coffee. See pictures. Why can't other hotels match this?
The location is very convenient for shopping and dining. There is also a well equipped gym which I used (just once I'm afraid...)
I hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I (we are 30) have stayed in many hotels in Chicago, and The James is my favorite. You can't beat the location, to start. Loved the sushi place across the street, and walked to train, the Pier, and nearby eateries. Gym and spa were excellent. Room was very spacious and sleek, but most importantly, the bed was very comfortable. Expect a certain amount of noise from the busy street, but that's the price you pay for staying downtown. We had a really late flight out of Chicago, and I have to say, the best perk of the hotel was the 2 p.m. check out time. It was so nice to relax in the room for a bit longer than usual.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherrystem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great location; attentive and responsive staff; first class fitness center

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcohen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear smcohen1000, Thank you so much for the compliments regarding your recent stay - we always appreciate the kind words. We can't wait to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago

Property: The James Chicago
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing