We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel in great area of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Ranked #43 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel in great area of Chicago”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great location on the river north side of the city. Only had on eproblem with service which was corrected. We arrived in the city for a convention around 930 am and our room wasnt ready(understandably), but the front desk clerk had a bellman check our luggage in and off we went to work. When we returned around 430pm, our room was ready and the bags were up within 5 minutes.
The room was nice and large for a Chicago hotel. Very nice bar area with sink and fridge. The in-room coffee was not very desirable....hot water kettle and instant coffee( not even Starbucks which this was is good instant coffee). The queen size bed was very soft( we prefer a firmer mattress). The bathroom was nice and modern. Step-in bath/shower combo. The full size shampoo/conditioner/body wash was very nice! The entire hotel was very clean.
The service issue I spoke of earlier in the review was a call I out in for some ice to be delivered. hey dont have ice machines- delivery or at turn down service only. Waited 40 minutes and never received the ice. After calling downstairs again, the ice was delivered within 5 minutes by what looked like a chef.
Loved the art around the hotel-including outside our window on the opposite wall. Still wonder if and what was on our side of the bldg.
Excellent doorman service, housekeeping and front desk clerks.
Would stay here again if I got the same priceline deal.

Room Tip: Explore the hotel to view the art!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzinfagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,055
    885
    221
    90
    51
See reviews for
509
1,295
186
760
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Upon check-in we were upgraded to a "larger room"...great! However, we found that our upgrade was actually a handicapped room. First of all, not being informed or not stating this upon check in is one of my peeves. Some probably like getting a larger room no matter what. Handicapped rooms are arranged differently (rightly so) with wheelchair access into showers (no tub), special bars, no counter space, etc. I mentioned this to the front desk not because I was expecting to move but because I think that customers should be informed or asked if they are ok with a handicapped room upon check-in. The front desk receptionist (Annette I think) was sooo understanding and very professional. She insisted on moving us to a room just down the hall which was one of their loft rooms. She was very customer focused and wanted to make sure that we were happy with our room. The new room was AMAZING. It had a large king bed on platform in one room, a separate living room/sitting area, and a third room with a large square bed/lounging area with projector for watching movies or tv on the wall. My daughter called it a party room. The bathroom was lovely and functional (plenty of counter space). The showers had large mounted bottles of high quality shampoo/products which is a great idea - and less wasteful! There were 3 flat screen televisions and the rooms were stylish and modern. The bed was very comfortable and included different types of pillows for varied tastes or comfort preferences. The sheets were of fine quality and very smooth. I did not get a chance to check out the spa or gym...maybe next time! Last of all, the valet personnel were exceptionally service oriented and friendly. Service, comfort and cleanliness are paramount for hotels and this one certainly provided it with a smile.

Room Tip: We had room 722 (one of the Loft rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The James is a 5 min walk from Michigan Avenue and the nearest underground station. The room was beautiful & luxurious, it had a large bathroom, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We returned from a hard day shopping with achy feet and beyond exhausted, to find our bed turned down, the radio on and the lights dimmed. A lovely welcome back. All the staff we encountered were helpful from reception staff to the doormen however Bill - concierge went above and beyond, advising on restaurants and making reservations on our behalf. He was always the utmost professional, welcoming us with a smile and local knowledge. I can't wait to stay in this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: If a view is important specifically request city facing rooms as the interior rooms do not have a ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great location, lovely staff. I always stay here when in in Chicago

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great gym, delicious breakfast (love the potatoes), good service overall. Stayed in a loft room - fantastic space but my only comment to travellers is consider a basic room as you can then get a view. Loft rooms all face inside and there isn't anything to see but someone else's room across the courtyard. What I particularly liked was that gym which is one of the best I've seen in a hotel, the location can't be matched and very good wifi. Another comment about the loft room - again, love it, but as a business traveller I immediately noted there was no desk or decent workspace. Bed fantastically comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for basic so you don't face inside courtyyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We picked this hotel for it's location and were not at all disappointed. We could walk virtually everywhere we wanted and were only a couple blocks from a metro station. The rooms were nice, although a little small for my taste. Nice King sized bed that seemed a little cramped. Our bathroom was also pretty small and the door didn't work very well. Concierge service was really helpful and nice. This hotel even offers to rent or lend bicycles to take city tours and there is a highly rated steak house downstairs. Overall the hotel is nice, comfortable and in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimchim171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a small, modern boutique hotel located just one block from Chicago's magnificent mile. I couldn't have picked a better location for a quick overnight stay in Chicago. We were upgraded to a suite and it was just perfect.

The staff were wonderful--gracious and courteous. I usually don't consider my experiences with staff when giving a rating but everyone was so exceptional that I feel they deserve some accolades. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhooq19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,641 reviews
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile

Property: The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile
Address: 55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban hub on the Magnificent Mile and one of Chicago's most celebrated boutique hotels, The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile is a sophisticated nod to Windy City culture. It continues to garner buzz and accolades through its casually sophisticated blend of warmly modern design, intuitive service and thoughtful touches such as complimentary Wi-Fi, early check-in and late check-out, local car service and triple-filtered water. Enjoy convenience at your fingertips with The James Hotels Mobile App and in-room tablet powered by KEYPR offering an intuitive way to discover our amenities and services. Experience The James as a culinary destination with signature restaurant, Primehouse - named #1 Steakhouse in Chicago, Primehouse Bar, a perfect spot to enjoy weekly happy hour specials or a full meal, and The Patio, a seasonal alfresco dining spot. Also featured at The James is The Gym, open 24-hours, The Spa by ASHA, 7,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, as well as seasonally rotating artwork from local and international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Chicago Hotel Chicago
James Hotel Chicago
Chicago James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing